heard of DJ Kool Herc? The man said to be the originator of hip hop music?
How many of you here have ever
He is pretty well known as the father of hip hop music. Became famous through his parties in the Bronx , using some of the DJ techniques he remembered in the early dancehalls in Jamaica.
I guess he is the reason a lot of people like to say hip-hop music originated from dancehall music, but dancehall music was not fully evolved when he started doing his thing. Its probably more accurate to say they have the same musical origins."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostSound like him jus waan get paid"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Hip hop is more the overall culture, including the dress, dance, graffiti, etc of which rap music is a part.
But yes I would agree that aside from thier original ties through hip-hop/sound system beats, a lot of modern rap also has origins in Jamaican DJ music."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
it funny cause a nuff a them nuh make nothing. Sugar Hill gang was one.
I hear that a former NY great just playing in basement in Atlanta area, at one stage he was on the radio all over NY.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.