Father Accidentaly Shoots IMCH Head Girl

• Father Accidentaly Shoots IMCH Head Girl

Father accidentally shoots and kills daughter, Head Girl of Immaculate High Sunday, 02 November 2008 The head girl of the Immaculate Conception High School, Pia Phillips, died tragically in hospital on Sunday.

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }The 18-year old was accidentally shot by her father during a hold-up at their Riverside Drive home in Havendale, Kingston Saturday night.

The police report that about 7:30, Pia and other family members arrived home and were about to enter the house when a red car pulled up.

Two men armed with guns got out of the car and demanded that the family come towards them.

Instead, they screamed and ran.

Pia's father, who is a licensed firearm holder, pulled his gun and rushed to his family's aid but reportedly slipped and fell.

The gun went off, hitting Pia.

The gunmen sped away.

The injured teenager was taken to hospital where she was admitted in serious condition.

She later died.

Pia was returning home from her eighteenth birthday celebrations when the incident occurred.

Tragic - Holness & Waite

Meanwhile, Education Minister Andrew Holness and his Opposition counterpart, Basil Waite have both expressed their regret over Pia Phillips' death.

Both men spoke to RJR News while attending the National Parents' Month Church Service in St. Catherine Sunday morning.

"I have very limited knowledge of the matter but the limited information that I have will lead me to say that it's a tragic incident and I grieve with the family ... both Pia's family and the Immaculate Conception High family," said Mr. Holness.

Losing our future - Waite

"I just think it's a tragedy ... I am heartbroken for the parents, for the family and for the school community ... she's obviously an outstanding student and had a very bright future ... it speaks to the plague of violence in our society ... we're losing our young people, the future of our country," said Opposition Spokesman on Education, Basil Waite.

So sad!
    Ban the guns! Disarm the society..excepting the security forces!
    One person killed accidentally and or inadvertently is one too many!
    DISARM NOW!

After DISARMENT - Those with guns...then illegal guns -BUD!

That is so sad. The story brought tears to my eyes. As a father I can understand the father's anguish. God be with the family.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl, nuh use this as an excuse to ban guns, since criminals will always have guns!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Karl, nuh use this as an excuse to ban guns, since criminals will always have guns!
          ...and it must be some criminals will seek guns!

Even you must realise that a ban of guns excepting in the hands of the security forces...will mean less guns available for criminals?

Even you must realise that less guns out there reduces the %age chance of accidental or inadvertent shootings?

Even you must realise that banning guns and having illegal holders of firearms more easily identified...more easily apprehended or shot?

Even you should realise that banning guns would increase to the criminals risk of travelling with those illegal guns?

Even you should realise that that increased risk would lead to lowering of the carrying of the illegal guns by those who would otherwise travel around "strapped"...and thus lower shootings?

....and on and on and on...trending shootings downwards?!
          Right?

Even you must realise that a ban of guns excepting in the hands of the security forces...will mean less guns available for criminals?
            How you come to this conclusion? Are you saying that the guns in the hands of criminals have been procured from licenced firearm holders?
            Last edited by Bricktop; November 3, 2008, 10:40 AM.

That family is going to need a whole lot of prayers and

support in order to heal. It's a rough time for them, especially the dad.

As a matter of fact, guns should be more widely available for decent law abiding citizens. No government law has been effective to remove guns off the street in Jamaica. Criminals will ALWAYS have guns, no matter the best intentions of law enforcement officers.

How you come to this conclusion? Are you saying that the guns in the hands of criminals have been procured from licenced firearm holders?
                  Too many! Remove those and that source goes! ...it goes at the importation point of entry (ships, ports, customs of those aimed at/for the would be private legal user...it goes at the home and on the person and in vehicle of the would be private legal user...etc., etc.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    As a matter of fact, guns should be more widely available for decent law abiding citizens. No government law has been effective to remove guns off the street in Jamaica. Criminals will ALWAYS have guns, no matter the best intentions of law enforcement officers.
                    It is only some criminals who 'go for guns''! Get that in your head! It is those criminals we want to keep guns away from.

Ridiculous!
                    ...so some criminals will always have sticks of dynamite and or bombs...therefore we should arm the population with sticks of dynamite and bombs?
                    Ridiculous!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                      support in order to heal. It's a rough time for them, especially the dad.
                      Too early to say if the father in rage did not want his daughter dead...as relationship...time the daughter came in...etc...has been verified!

However, if the astory as reported is correct...or no...it is a crying shame for the young lady to lose her life!

whey yuh a confuse mi post fah

Too early to say if the father in rage did not want his daughter dead...as relationship...time the daughter came in...etc...has been verified!

However, if the astory as reported is correct...or no...it is a crying shame for the young lady to lose her life!

Too many! Remove those and that source goes! ...it goes at the importation point of entry (ships, ports, customs of those aimed at/for the would be private legal user...it goes at the home and on the person and in vehicle of the would be private legal user...etc., etc.
                          Did you answer the question? Are you saying that gunmen are getting their guns from licenced fiream holders or not? If you aren't then why should these licended firearm holders be stripped of their right to bear arms? This time in clear, concise english please

Ban them in the US first KArl...

Did you answer the question? Are you saying that gunmen are getting their guns from licenced fiream holders or not? If you aren't then why should these licended firearm holders be stripped of their right to bear arms? This time in clear, concise english please

Hard to understand -

Too many are getting guns from licensed firearm holders...