For the Marijuana Posse

• For the Marijuana Posse

For the marijuana posse, something to think about! (Are we cursed with our seemingly non-ending series of utterly useless, no-backbone governments in Jamaica?)

The following paragraphs have been copied from Mark Wignall's "Wild Accusations and Olint," in today's Sunday Observer.

One reader saw us as fooling ourselves that we will ever solve our crime problems. She suggested that we market it.

"I worked in the tourism industry for over a decade and became aware that many people visit Jamaica to be able to smoke a 'spliff' on the beach with the wind in their hair and reggae music in their ears. It's a powerful combination. And in light of the fact that our morals have been pitched over the precipice, why can't we just embrace the fact that we are outlaws and begin to capitalise on the outlaw status? Why is Amsterdam not a pariah nation with their coffee shops and legal funhouses?

"If we legalise marijuana and allow the US to patrol our waters to ensure it doesn't get out, so many more tourists would come just to enjoy a week of lawlessness. I'm serious. No government is interested in curbing crime. None. So why not just sell who we are and stop the pretence."

"Every time I travel to the Pacific Rim, I marvel at the airport signs in Taipei, Jakarta and on my single trip into Singapore, how they proclaim drug trafficking to be punishable by death. And they are SERIOUS. We are just caressing the problem and it makes people laugh at us. We should just make some money off the damn thing. Sell it for local consumption and the government control the sales."

Minister MacMillan, the state of the JLP government's public relations is 'dead'. More and more of the public is buying less and less of the little that oozes out through the increasing miasma that has fallen over the administration.

And this becomes increasingly unfair to hard- working Cabinet members like Education Minister Andrew Holness who will be forced to carry much of the deadweight of the JLP when next it faces the polls.

In the face of dead public relations, Minister MacMillan, I will be looking from you much more of that great foil of 'dead' PR. Performance which can be seen, felt, embraced and celebrated.

The writer equates ganja to lawlessness and outlaws in Jamaica but in Amerstdam its an industry to be marketed in coffe shops and fun houses.

So if we legalise ganja our crime problem would be solved like Amerstdam is that what the idiot is saying ?

The only link with crime and ganja in Jamaica is that we choose to criminalise it, not that smoking it turns individulas into lawless outlaws.

Our problem with criminals or lawless outlaws is bigger than the ganja problem.

If tourist go to Jamaica to smoke it , do they return to thier destinations as lawless , outlaws wrecking havoc on thier respective society?

I know the writer is trying to make a point and I agree with him if he isnt being sarcastic like you are.

We should market who we are , make a profit and reinvest in the real crime problem , health care , education and jobs.What we do in our nation is no ones business as long as we dont violate another nations laws.

Brothels are legal in Nevada and I dont believe it should be legal in Jamaica because it cuts across out moral hypocritical grain and I dont believe it would solve the crime problem.
    Last edited by Sir X; November 2, 2008, 09:25 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X, sometimes you amazes me with your insightfull posts. And no I am not being sarcastic. I agree with you 100% regarding weed, and I couldn't have said it better. I disagree with you however, on legalizing brothels in Jamaica. The Jamaican society is such a hypocritical one and having legal brothels will not drag our morality down any further than where it is now. Some of the wanton nastiness I hear is taking place right now in the strip clubs down there need to be eradicated......and controlled and repackaged. I have said it many times before: the Jamaican government should pass the necessary legislations that allows for the establishment of legal brothels in a designated section of the island. I strongly believe that they should be located in a section that is economically poor and contributes the least to the national coffers such as St. Thomas. The sex trade will never die, so why criminalise it? Think about the number of job creations that will emerge from legalising both the sex trade and marijuana; and I am not just talking about increasing the number of prostitues.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I knew you would come wit dat..lol, breds we agree to disagree on that one.

When we reach the standard of living of Nevada and Amersterdam , then I would entertain legalising brothels.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

So if we legalise ganja our crime problem would be solved like Amerstdam is that what the idiot is saying ?

The only link with crime and ganja in Jamaica is that we choose to criminalise it, not that smoking it turns individulas into lawless outlaws.

Our problem with criminals or lawless outlaws is bigger than the ganja problem.

You need to read the post again. Nowhere does it say that legalising ganja would solve our crime problem. I said that we are outlaws and should embrace that outlaw status which is the polar opposite from what you took from the post. Did you miss this part:
          "No government is interested in curbing crime. None. So why not just sell who we are and stop the pretence."
          Last edited by Bricktop; November 2, 2008, 10:26 AM.

Understood it quite well , coming from the source whom posted it , i wondered if it was meant to be sarcastic which I clearly stated , even the writer could be questioned about being sarcastic saying "I am serious"

He doesnt have to say it , but insinuations go along way .Writing about being lawless and outlaws and then throwing ganja into to it.Isnt too far from implying that a man is a terrorist or shares terrorist ideology by palling around with them.

Understood it quite well , coming from the source whom posted it , i wondered if it was meant to be sarcastic which I clearly stated , even the writer could be questioned about being sarcastic saying "I am serious"

He doesnt have to say it , but insinuations go along way .Writing about being lawless and outlaws and then throwing ganja into to it.Isnt too far from implying that a man is a terrorist or shares terrorist ideology by palling around with them.
              So where does the "embracing our outlaw status" comment fit in then? Looks like your bias has clouded your reasoning. And who is this "he" you refer to? The writer is a "he" but was quoting a "she" in his article but since you understood the article quite well I am sure you already knew that
              Last edited by Bricktop; November 2, 2008, 11:04 AM.

Stop yuh crap Brick.

"I worked in the tourism industry for over a decade and became aware that many people visit Jamaica to be able to smoke a 'spliff' on the beach with the wind in their hair and reggae music in their ears. It's a powerful combination. And in light of the fact that our morals have been pitched over the precipice, why can't we just embrace the fact that we are outlaws and begin to capitalise on the outlaw status? Why is Amsterdam not a pariah nation with their coffee shops and legal funhouses?

You tell me whats the insinuation with the word combination and morals being " pitched over the precipice, and then to say in the same sentence why can't we just embrace the fact that we are outlaws and begin to capitalise on the outlaw status? Why is Amsterdam not a pariah nation with their coffee shops and legal funhouses?

What is going to let us capitalise on our outlaw status ?

Cut the crap Brick.

What is going to let us capitalise on our outlaw status ?

Cut the crap Brick.
                  I am not arguing for or against what she said. I am arguing that you have misread the article. Nowhere did she say/imply/insinuate that by legalising Ganja our crime rate would fall. She said that we should embrace our outlaw status and market it

And reach Amersterdam status with coffe shops and fun houses , I get you no insinuation there , no implication also.

Thanks boss lata..barber shop awaits me.

And reach Amersterdam status with coffe shops and fun houses , I get you no insinuation there , no implication also.
                      "Why is Amsterdam not a pariah nation with their coffee shops and legal funhouses?"...what implication did you get from that in relation to crime rate? In fact Amsterdam has the highest homeless population in Europe and as an extension their fair share of crime. The author simply stated that Amsterdam with their cofee shops and legal prostitution is not treated as a pariah

One of the problems is that the entire weed industry is outside the law; its cultivation, distribution and consumption. I'm not clear how the first two would be treated if we embraced the consumption which she clearly backs.

In a de-criminalised environment, the entire industry could be a boon to many in jamaica at all levels...and consumption not restricted to smoking/eating/drinking ganja but could see the rise of other industries like clothing etc. The Jamaica brand could be very competitive.

I haven't thought this through fully but the JA govt should seek to de-criminalise weed, certainly possession of small amounts, in the first instance, if it isn't alrady so.

One of the problems is that the entire weed industry is outside the law; its cultivation, distribution and consumption. I'm not clear how the first two would be treated if we embraced the consumption which she clearly backs.

In a de-criminalised environment, the entire industry could be a boon to many in jamaica at all levels...and consumption not restricted to smoking/eating/drinking ganja but could see the rise of other industries like clothing etc. The Jamaica brand could be very competitive.

I haven't thought this through fully but the JA govt should seek to de-criminalise weed, certainly possession of small amounts, in the first instance, if it isn't alrady so.
                          Ironically The Netherlands allows possession and retail sales of cannabis, but not it's cultivation or wholesale

a man wid a likkle spliff, just tekking a whiff

should not be sent to any jail, when hardened criminal and gun toting people walking the streets, committing crime and moving from parish to parish!