• Gov’t paying $1bil monthly for Alcoa deal

Fresh details about Jamaica

's financial obligations under the controversial agreement for the forward sale of alumina have revealed that the country will face far more losses than initially reported.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding disclosed during Tuesday’s sitting of Parliament that the Government is saddled with a debt of $1 billion a month to satisfy conditions of the agreement which was negotiated three years ago by the previous administration.
    He said the figure is far greater than the one presented by the Finance Minister a week ago.

It was during the lengthy question and answer session that Prime Minister Golding disclosed the mound of debt his Government has been tackling as a result of the Alcoa deal.
    The Prime Minister was livid as he backed up claims by Finance Minister Audley Shaw that the Government has to contend with debt obligations including that of the Alcoa forward sale agreement were not disclosed by the previous administration.

Mr. Golding said Jamaica's debt stock is continuing its unrelenting climb casting light on what he characterised as unplanned fiscal pressures after signing a new wage deal with public school teachers which will cost $15 billion.
    “… nor did we plan for the losses that we’re incurring at Clarendon Alumina Products which are now between US$16 and US$25 million per month, per month … we’re losing $1 billion per month,” he said.

Bi-partisan support needed for Supplementary Estimates
    As members of the Opposition maintained a stony silence in chambers, Mr. Golding stated that the obligations which guarantee a fixed price for alumina are costing the Government more that the monthly debt accumulated by Air Jamaica .
    According to the Prime Minister, chipping away at the mountain of debt brought on by the forward sale deal will require bipartisan support when the Supplementary Estimates of Expenditure is tabled before year end.
    “When the minister unburdens himself of these issues when he brings the Supplementary Estimates, let everybody on both sides of the house understand that we have to help him carry that burden,” said Mr. Golding.

Oh boy .... yet when Shaw talk the nuts on the wall form fool.

The previous administration should be a case study for complete mismanagement, poor organizational culture and weak internal controls.

So many surprises for this admin. Where were they during the opposition days ?

If Omar can't explain where money went under his watch, I don't really expect the opposition to know half of the shady business that was going on with our govt.

simplistic

Omar say nothing was hidden.
              Yet these facts were never presented in any budget and they were expenses that re-occur every year.

Simplistic. Actually quite complex were the efforts to remove any trails of the foolishness that use to take place. Once them genius who was on the board of every entity in Jamaica stepped down, everything start buss out big.

Mi nuh understand. Whenever the Finance Minister talk the jokers on the forum try to mock him. As Mass Mosiah said last week, he will wait for the facts to come out.

Mosiah .... the facts are out. Sey something nuh? Mi notice Don1 gone missing.

I don't jump when you say jump.

Yuh need fi backup yuh talk. The other day in an attempt to talk a swipe at Shaw you boldly said, "maybe the govt. is once again squealing without checking the facts. I'll wait and see."

Facts drop .... suh yuh need fi tek back yuh talk bout squealing without facts. What? Unuh nuh have the balls fi call a spade a spade when it comes to the beloved?

is ongly gyal mi waann.....

Mi nuh understand. Whenever the Finance Minister talk the jokers on the forum try to mock him. As Mass Mosiah said last week, he will wait for the facts to come out.

Mosiah .... the facts are out. Sey something nuh? Mi notice Don1 gone missing.
                        ...... kall kall up mi name!!

since yu nuh wear skirt....Lef mi nuh!!!

...... kall kall up mi name!!

since yu nuh wear skirt....Lef mi nuh!!!
                          If yuh waan live out yuh fantasy .. yuh deh pon the wrong forum. You should know there is a difference between call up name and calling yuh out.

But ... we understand ... unuh get corner ... suh the next best thing is fi guh inna hiding.

If yuh waan live out yuh fantasy .. yuh deh pon the wrong forum. You should know there is a difference between call up name and calling yuh out.

But ... we understand ... unuh get corner ... suh the next best thing is fi guh inna hiding.
                            Oh... didn't know you valued my opinion that much!!

I'm really honoured and will henceforth try to respond to as many of your legion of posts as possible!!

BTW.. are you paid on a per post basis? ... you would do quite well!

Need to know just a little bit more. What is the nature of this undertaking? What were the objectives? The contractural arrangements? Outcome thus far i.e. current status? Expected long term benefits?