Eddie the Plumber??

• Eddie the Plumber??

Just saw a snippet of a Sarah Palin speech on the Colbert Report.

Palin said words to the effect: If Barak Obama becomes president he will be coming to take away what you have.... that's what socialists do.

That gem took me right back to 1979..... it's straight from Eddie Seaga's playbook.

Good to laugh about such idiocy now!!

Ignorance and fear....that's what the conservatives do best.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Ignorance and fear....that's what the conservatives do best.
      yuh seet!!

it goes to show that you also involve inna the he said she said.
        Anyway what you expect from them? Them a politician and them not going picture them opponents in a favorite light.

I am sure many so called "socialist" at the time had some names for Seaga as well.

Obama is not a socialist in any classic sense but he definately has some views of the role govt should play in society which is way to the left by American standards. No question about that.

You think it matter to the Right Wing? Even McCain and Palin agree that Obama is not a socialist, yet it is slogan that is working for them so they going to keep on using it.

Well, that is politics, I guess them figure "liberal" don't work anymore so them need something stronger.

To me though, one of Obamas greatest strength as a politician is that he is able to sell himself as a center-left candidate so well, when his record suggests he really is way over to the left.

Its the main thing about him policy-wise that bothers me a bit, because thats more or less what Manley did leading up to his 72 victory. He was a populist but no strong leftist ideology, and then in 74 he declared himself a socialist.

Thats why if he wins I am really hoping the Dems don't get too many more seats in the House and Senate . People like Barney Frank and Pelosi seem to be drooling from the mouth already at what they will be able to do without any resistance.

Well, that is politics, I guess them figure "liberal" don't work anymore so them need something stronger.

To me though, one of Obamas greatest strength as a politician is that he is able to sell himself as a center-left candidate so well, when his record suggests he really is way over to the left.
                yuh mean im lie..bad?

But Karl, Obama doesn't remind you of a young Manley in many ways? Not just his ability to move a crowd but his way of making his opponents look like the devil while he is the saint, the way he really wants to fundamentally change the society he lives in?

Both are also very intelligent and educated men who decided to give up personal financial rewards to work in the trenches (labour union,community organizer) and used that to help launch thier political careers.

So the follow-up question is, how can you love Manley so much and think so little of Obama?

Obama doesn't bother me that much as he normally try to be in the mainstream and even change positions when he has to.

I am a democrat but I am worried what these new found democrats and the old liberals are going to do with this new found power, is it the same as what Newt and the republicans did to their party? Thinking the people has given them "political capital to spend?". I can only pray they will be responsible.

The democrats have no been making policies to stop the Bush Whitehouse from destroying us and have gone with all of the Bush spending policies, so it going to be the same or worst?

it goes to show that you also involve inna the he said she said.
                      Anyway what you expect from them? Them a politician and them not going picture them opponents in a favorite light.

I am sure many so called "socialist" at the time had some names for Seaga as well.

mi woulda laff too

But Karl, Obama doesn't remind you of a young Manley in many ways? Not just his ability to move a crowd but his way of making his opponents look like the devil while he is the saint, the way he really wants to fundamentally change the society he lives in?

Both are also very intelligent and educated men who decided to give up personal financial rewards to work in the trenches (labour union,community organizer) and used that to help launch thier political careers.

So the follow-up question is, how can you love Manley so much and think so little of Obama?
                          Obama = Manley??

Now that's a stretch.

mi woulda laff too
                            just recovered from my seizure due to laughing.

Ok.. I did the she said part but where's the he said??

It takes the two of them to tango.

nobody nah fi tangle with Palin, it come like you nah watch the news.