Will these crowds turn into votes for

• Will these crowds turn into votes for

Obama? On Rachel Maddow's show last night, she gave some numbers ...

New Mexico
    McCain 1,400
    Obama 45,000

Denver
    McCain 4,000
    Obama 100,000

Lets hope people not just turning up to hear a good speech.

I would think it must have some significance, but two things two remember is that Palins crowds are a lot more than McCains and Obamas supporters are by younger and more fired up than McCains, so more likely to go to these rallys.

BTW Lazie, I dont know how old you are but one of the few things I remember as a child from the 1980 election in Jamaica was the PNP meeting in Sam Sharp square that supposedly drew 150,000. It might still be a record for a public meeting in Jamaica. Manley was sure that he had the third term in the bag.

I have never heard a good explanation for this very poor indicator of how the election turned out. The one I heard most often was that Manley had promised to announce the election date and there were doubts as to wether he would change his mind and say there would be no elections (ie follow what Castro had done in Cuba) so people went to see if that would happen.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...R_THE_PNP_.asp
    Last edited by Islandman; October 28, 2008, 11:05 AM.

The City Of Milwaukee reported a record number of early and absentee ballots cast. Over 12,000 absentee ballots have been cast, and an estimated 2,000 voters showed up at the municipal office building on Saturday to cast their vote.

The City Of Milwaukee is heavily Democratic.

I would think it must have some significance, but two things two remember is that Palins crowds are a lot more than McCains and Obamas supporters are by younger and more fired up than McCains, so more likely to go to these rallys.

BTW Lazie, I dont know how old you are but one of the few things I remember as a child from the 1980 election in Jamaica was the PNP meeting in Sam Sharp square that supposedly drew 150,000. It might still be a record for a public meeting in Jamaica. Manley was sure that he had the third term in the bag.

I have never heard a good explanation for this very poor indicator of how the election turned out. The one I heard most often was that Manley had promised to announce the election date and there were doubts as to wether he would change his mind and say there would be no elections (ie follow what Castro had done in Cuba) so people went to see if that would happen.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...R_THE_PNP_.asp

There was even a PNP ad - 150 thousand can't be wrong! ...was the...turned out to be punchline!

Like a Barnum & Bailey travelling circus - that is the only way you can explain the excitement over a Palin rally. People need to see the a s sh ole that McCain actually chose, and it wasn't even April 1.

Crowds flocked to see the Elephant Man too (the original one!). He was as bizarre physically as Palin is mentally.

Yes but she is filled with the Holy Spirit and Obama is a Muslim who does not wear a flag pin.

Unno backward voters in Jamaica have no concept about voting on the issues!

LOL!!!

Filled with the Holy Spirit - "habaka yeshima bakulala obama!"

LOL!