• MoBay fed up!

MoBay fed up!
    Lloyd B Smith
    Tuesday, October 28, 2008

In the aftermath of the September 3, 2007 general election, the Jamaica Labour Party won three out of the four seats in St James. Dr Horace Chang won handsomely in North West St James beating off a spirited challenge from political new kid on the block Henry McCurdy; Edmund Bartlett whipped a perceived lightweight Donald Colomathi in East Central St James; while over in West Central St James, relative newcomer Clive Mullings ended the illustrious parliamentary career of Francis Tulloch, a seasoned campaigner, by comfortably edging him out at the finish line.

In the wake of this bludgeoning of the PNP by the JLP, the people of St James who had become disenchanted with the PJ Patterson and Portia Simpson Miller administrations began to have great expectations. And these great expectations were even further heightened when JLP leader and prime minister, Bruce Golding, appointed a number of prominent Montegonians to influential national posts. Among his dream team are Winston Dear, the presumed czar of MoBay, Godfrey Dyer, Mark Hart, George Johnson, Homer Davis, Don Smith, George Thomas, Mark Kerr-Jarrett, Robert Russell, and Noel Donaldson.
    No doubt Mr Golding was anxious to reward a number of these men (the Western 11) for having stood by him in the lean years when he broke away from the Edward Seaga-led JLP and formed the National Democratic Movement. Indeed, it is no secret that Mr Golding found much succour and comfort in the western city during those trying years, so much so that a certain entertainment spot in the western city has been seen as the "Camp David" of the prime minister where he often comes to cool out, unwind, get advice and strategise. In this vein, many Montegonians, including this writer, became excited over the prospect of the Bay getting much attention. Of course, the icing on the cake was the naming of the three MPs as ministers of government - Tourism (Bartlett), Mining, Energy and Telecomnications (Mullings), Water and Housing (Chang). Alas, after a year in office, the euphoria has gradually changed to exasperation.
    Just look at the Montego Bay socio-economic landscape and there is enough valid evidence to substantiate why so many citizens (among them supporters of the Golding administration) have become fed up, frustrated and disappointed. For some time now, St James has been dubbed the murder capital of Jamaica which in turn has been named the murder capital of the world! Remarkably, this rash of homicides has not yet infiltrated the already most vulnerable tourist industry, but if the current trend continues, it will only be a matter of time before it happens. Then what?
    Against this background, many players in the tourism sector are quietly fuming, but do not want to come out publicly and expose their fears and concerns as they still have a great deal of respect for the Golding team. Look at what has been happening on Gloucester Avenue which has been hyped as the Hip Strip. On any given day or night, there is total disorder, visitors are being harassed and robbed and there is a general sense of lawlessness.
    Just recently, an English tourist was walking along the Hip Strip when he was surrounded by five prostitutes who all offered to give him the time of his life. One of them even started to strip in order to heighten his interest. He relented and was subsequently physically attacked, receiving a nasty knife cut. Bleeding profusely, he ran into a well-known shop where the proprietor hastily arranged for him to be rushed to the Cornwall Regional Hospital for emergency treatment.
    Just down the road, at an area known as Dump Up Beach, on one night alone, three women were dragged off the street and raped. Gladly, the police were able to accost three of these miscreants. Reportedly, one was shot dead while two escaped. The frightening news is that all three men were said to be HIV positive. In the meantime, one of the problems plaguing that area where men and women are held up and robbed, raped and violently assaulted is the lack of proper lighting. And guess what, the lights have been acquired and paid for, but are yet to be installed because of the usual bureaucratic bungling involving the St James Parish Council and the Jamaica Public Service Company. Meanwhile, the vexing question is, why is it taking so long to improve and develop the Hip Strip? The stakeholders came up with a plan and it is understood that the TPDCo is pursuing a similar path, but what gives?
    By the way, that mobile surveillance unit that cost taxpayers millions of dollars that was supposed to monitor the Hip Strip and downtown the city has become a sick joke. The consensus is it serves no useful purpose.
    Then there is the old hospital site that has been earmarked for a major upgrading which would see it being transformed into a beautiful park. The money has been identified and all is said to be in place, yet so far the Urban Development Corporation which is supposed to implement the project has been dragging its feet. No wonder the prime minister had to fire that board!
    But this is only the tip of the iceberg! The dualisation of the Bogue Road which continues to be a daily nightmare to commuters and motorists was supposed to have started in October. Now we are almost at the end of the month and there has been a deafening silence as to the future of this project. Coupled with this untenable situation is the fact that the western city is desperately in need of a proper traffic management system which again we have been told has been approved and is to be installed, but when? Downtown Montego Bay is one big traffic snarl morning, noon and night, with very little sustained police presence. Isn't it time our city fathers wake up and deal with this vexing problem?
    MoBay is experiencing a long delay in the repairing and upgrading of both the Harbour Street and Old Fort craft markets; the announced beautification and maintenance of Alice Eldemire Drive and Howard Cooke Boulevard (whatever happened to Spruce Up Jamaica, Minister Bartlett?); dealing with the volatile street vending scenario as the Christmas season draws near; the proliferation of street garages et al.
    In the meantime, there needs to be meaningful social intervention, especially in the crime-infested communities where hundreds of young men and women remain untrained, unemployed and directionless.
    There have been many complaints by Golding-ites that it is the bureaucrats and technocrats who are holding up the process, thus stymieing the best intentions of the government. Some have even suggested sabotage. Well, when you are in government, you govern.
    Full stop. The buck has to stop somewhere. In any event, to whom much is given, much is expected. Suffice it to say that the people of St James in general, and Montego Bay in particular, are fed up, having put so much faith and trust in the JLP by way of votes. The three MPs are being seen as "missing persons" for the most part, and the St James Parish Council is embarrassingly ineffective, with the "dream team" seeming to be standing in the shadows waiting for the heartbreaks to come. Time to crack the whip, Mr Golding. Action, we are tired of the "bag-o-mouth"!
    lloydbsmith@hotmail.com

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...AY_FED_UP_.asp

Well anytime we can take the
    blinders off our eyes and stop calling people intellect because they
    went to college and stop talking about middle class when there is none, we will be on our way. The world is changing and Ja is being left behind. We do not have a system to take advantage of our human capital ( we cannot even distinguish an educated person from an intelligent person).

The casual observer may say oh stop blaming slavery or the system, or policies. Hey what if we had sad the same of apartheid? When a system is in place that hampers progress one has to dismantle it in order to be progressive.

We will just continue to moan and wail until we embrace our Cousins (Somalia and Haiti)

ummm .... after wasting 18 years with a bunch of idiots in charge, you just realize we nuh have a system to take advantage of our human capitial? Yuh nuh hear say Canada wanted 500 welders, 4000 people turned up and of the lot only 150 coulda read?

Yuh right ... yuh need fi tek off the blinkers.

Before I engage you : Let me
        see if you are worthy. I posted an article and Brasil's attempt to educate its populace in science and technology. Please give me your thoughts on the article (one with arguments of pros and cons) Thanks.

Before I engage you : Let me
          see if you are worthy. I posted an article and Brasil's attempt to educate its populace in science and technology. Please give me your thoughts on the article (one with arguments of pros and cons) Thanks.
          Engage? I see yuh still take yuhself serious.

Nice, now prove me wrong
            and give some constructive arguments on the article. Thanks.

Nice, now prove me wrong
              and give some constructive arguments on the article. Thanks.
              ... and if I don't read it what then?

I rest my case.

cut and run i see...nuh yuh start this thread raise these issues....now yuh a "fled di scene" wid subterfuge and smoke and mirrors...

And according to published reports, our literacy rate is 88%. It might be closer to 50%.

when and how did this happen? Was it always that low?

Boss, what I am hearing from educators is that a lot of kids enrolling in Hartford schools from Jamaica can barely read. Granted there are some who are high achievers and mash up everything in the classroom, but there are many in their teenage years who are functionally illiterate.

There was once a time years ago when teachers would love to have a new yute from Jamaica in their classrooms. These days they hold their breaths when dem get a newcomer from Jamaica.

I believe we have neglected our educational system over the years, and it has come back to haunt us.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          Boss, what I am hearing from educators is that a lot of kids enrolling in Hartford schools from Jamaica can barely read. Granted there are some who are high achievers and mash up everything in the classroom, but there are many in their teenage years who are functionally illiterate.

There was once a time years ago when teachers would love to have a new yute from Jamaica in their classrooms. These days they hold their breaths when dem get a newcomer from Jamaica.

I believe we have neglected our educational system over the years, and it has come back to haunt us.
                          True, a I recall talking with one of our professor that was a teacher in NY. When she found out I'm a Jamaican she asked what is it we're doing in the Jamaican education system because whenever a new JA kid comes in her class that child was ahead of the others.

Many were always illiterate. Is just that nowadays a lot more of illiterate getting pushed through the system and then a lot more getting to go farin.