• Tourism Sector Experiencing Growth Despite World Economic Ch

Tourism Sector Experiencing Growth Despite World Economic Challenges

Minister of Tourism, Edmund Bartlett, has reported that the sector is experiencing growth and improved performance despite the economic downturn of its major markets.
    He noted that figures indicate that as at the end of August, there were approximately two million visitors to the island, generating more than US$1.47 billion in revenues.
    Minister Bartlett pointed out that the revenue earned so far, is in line with the US$2 billion that is projected for the year, representing a four per cent increase over last year when the earning was US$1.93 billion.
    Speaking at a press briefing on Wednesday (October 22) at the Ministry's offices in New Kingston, he further outlined that of the two million visitor arrival figure, there were 1,267,266 stopover passengers, representing a 5.7 per cent increase over the corresponding period in 2007.
    Mr. Bartlett revealed that there was, however, an eight per cent decrease in cruise passenger arrivals due primarily to the "re-deployment of vessels out of the Caribbean to the Mediterranean."
    Giving details on individual market performances, the Minister pointed out that the United States market had a 3.7 per cent increase in arrivals while the European market had the same 195,000 visitor arrival figure as in the 2007 period.
    Special mention was made of Latin America and Canada, who gave tremendous performances with 42 and 24 per cent increases respectively. There was also a 12 per cent increase in arrivals out of the Caribbean.
    The Tourism Minister revealed that preliminary figures for the months of September and October indicate small growths of 2.2 and 1.7 per cent, respectively.
    "The fact is that the performance of tourism in Jamaica today supersedes all other destinations in the Caribbean except for Cuba," the Minister asserted, while giving the assurance that "there is not going to be a collapse or a dramatic downturn in tourism arrivals to the end of the year."
    He affirmed that reports from the tourism markets and partners have indicated that "there will be a flattening and possibly a slight downturn but definitely not a devastating fall in the arrivals." In terms of expansion and development of the product, Minister Bartlett noted that since the start of the year, the hotel room stock has increased from 27,000 to 30,000. He added that construction of new rooms is steadily growing and that by 2012, the number of rooms should increase to 45,000.
    He noted that the sector is dedicated to "market harder, do better, achieve good results, so as to mitigate the impact of the downturn in the economies of the world. Tourism has its role to play in ensuring that Jamaica's economic fortune does not falter seriously as a result of this global downturn," Minister Bartlett stressed.

http://www.jis.gov.jm/indus_tourism/...CHALLENGES.asp

That's great and I hope it continues!

What you need is good marketing strategy saying to these country saying we know you are hurting and we can provide inexpensive and safe vaction. That means many of the hotels etc. would have to give some discount to keep the ball a rolling.

2009 figures are unknowable. It depends on the global Econ fallout.

Further, I think it will take a while to see a drop in tourism because those people travelling this year may have already booked their trips, the large majority of them.

The govt. must stop acting as if we will not feel the effects of this crisis.

Further, I think it will take a while to see a drop in tourism because those people travelling this year may have already booked their trips, the large majority of them.

The govt. must stop acting as if we will not feel the effects of this crisis.
            Stop Mosiah, because thats simply NOT TRUE!

Really?

Man A Yard say everyting arite, only for Drivah to say there will be an impact. Yuh nuh memba dat?

Really?

Man A Yard say everyting arite, only for Drivah to say there will be an impact. Yuh nuh memba dat?
                Didn't the Tourism Ministry revised their projection figures? How many emergency meetings have they held to address the issue? Or yuh nuh aware of that?

Shaw's statement, right or wrong, was clearly not to cause a panic in the local markets. Local financial experts accepted that ... those with an axe to grind choose to see it from a different angle.

"The govt. must stop acting as if we will not feel the effects of this crisis."

of course you realise that the above

"Man A Yard say everyting arite, only for Drivah to say there will be an impact."

But since then, there have been other statements of, wi criss!

Shaw's statement, right or wrong, was clearly not to cause a panic in the local markets. Local financial experts accepted that ... those with an axe to grind choose to see it from a different angle.
                      Nuff said!

I guess the other world leaders are the dumb ones, spreading panic and doomsday across the globe!

Nuff said!

I guess the other world leaders are the dumb ones, spreading panic and doomsday across the globe!
                        If yuh talkin the likes Portia and Omar .... that goes without saying. We nuh have the luxury that other countries have. When they were growing at 3-5% unuh did a jump up bout progress when Omar grew the economy 1.5%.

For some of you no matter what Shaw says unuh will find fault. If he talks the truth, he is criticized for not being more confidential, if he plays it safe, you, Portia and Omar find fault.

Why are you all over the place?!? Stick to the discussion at hand!

That's if, of course, you have some worthwhile rebuttal.

Why are you all over the place?!? Stick to the discussion at hand!

That's if, of course, you have some worthwhile rebuttal.
                            Earth to Mosiah ... you haven't said anything thats woth rebutting. You're simply being petty.

Mosiah do you expect the government to come out and say we will be baldy affected? how will will that fo for confidence?

The day before and after Fannie Mae crisis Bush was saying "the economy is strong, so too was McCain. Before last week Europe and England was saying they are not going to be affected that bad only to find out them inna recession.

What the government have to do is buckle down and try make other arrangements. If they are resourceful it may not affect us that badly. They say they will get cheap money from lending agencies, if they do they don't have to go to the capital market. If they can get the tourists who normally go to far places like Africa, India, China, Middle East and South America to take vacation in Ja at discounted rate it may work out for them. If they can use ethonal and make oil price even lower, more power to them as it will cut the need for a few billions well.

Remmittance going to be a problem but let us see how that work out. Construction is another problem area. This is going to be a big judgement how effective this government is. If they can survive then they will be in a good position to capitalize on growth when there is a turn around.