Politics has failed Jamaica

• Politics has failed Jamaica

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Politics has failed Jamaica</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Henley Morgan
    Thursday, November 02, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=88 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Henley Morgan</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>As someone who shares his opinion through the print and electronic media, and who in doing so will from time to time challenge the status quo, I am often asked whether I would consider entering representational politics. I accept the question as a sort of compliment but understand that more than anything else it is a symptom of deep dissatisfaction with party politics as practised in this country.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I grew up in a political family. Daddy Morgan was a preacher who did more than dabble in politics. He served as member of the House of Representatives (MHR), as it was then referred to, for South East St James representing the PNP. A few things have stuck in my mind since those days.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I remember how much longer it took us than anybody else to make the 16-mile journey from Montego Bay to where we lived high in the hills of St James, with daddy having to stop every few chains to dole out money he complained government never gave to him. Also indelibly etched in my memory is the harrowing experience of a campaign meeting being stoned at a place called Tangle River, forcing a hasty retreat to the safety of the Baptist manse at Maldon. There are good memories too, such as the many benefits daddy was able to bring to the constituents - water, electricity, roads, health centre, schools - although in the end politics would prove to be the most thankless of callings.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Despite the almost genetic tendency to want to follow in the footsteps of one's father, I have determined for myself that entering representational politics is not one of his decisions I will seek to emulate. The reasons have nothing to do with my boyhood recollection of the hardness of life growing up in a political family. It has everything to do with my very adult observation and conclusion that politics has failed Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>How is it that in a country known for the many outstanding accomplishments of its sons and daughters in various fields of endeavour, there remains this one area of national life at which we do not excel? It's because the rules that govern our politics have not evolved beyond the primaeval antecedents found in European and American political philosophy and experience. Let us examine a few of the hold-overs from the past that characterise local politics.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In the 19th century, the concept of the political machine (or party) gained ascendancy. Although enjoying some advantages over revolutionary methods of changing governments, the motive of such organisations remains an inherent and debilitating weakness. The primary objective plain and simple is to keep themselves and their members in power rather than to provide good government.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The political machine is usually headed by a single boss of unbridled power who surrounds himself (herself) with people of his (her) choosing. The first commitment of people so chosen is to the leader to whom loyalty of occultist proportion is paid and to the party; not the country or the people they have come to represent through the electoral process.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Organisers who finance the machine and garner the votes are rewarded with patronage jobs for which they are not often qualified. The political machine may accept donations or kickbacks from businesses in return for su

RE: Politics has failed Jamaica

Foolish heading and article.

How can politics fail Jamaica? Politicians are the ones who failed Jamaica. If we were communist(which is still a political system) do you think we would have succeed.

People like Morgan just stick to one side of the isle and refuse to put blame on the politicans who have failed Jamaica from either party. In generalising he tries to escapenot putting blame on his party, because when he has a grouse again the other side he let it out loud and clear.

What does Henley Morgan really know about politics in the US? My 16+ years of experience tells me that as far as corruption is concerned,the US differs from Jamaica only because the corrupt in Jamaicause methods that are crude as opposed to the ability of the US politicians to most often'remain below the radar'.

Favours, kickbacks, bribes andother criminal activities are done in and at awider scaleand grander scale in the US...but, the overriding 'guidelines' run the gamut of using intermediaries including relativesand 'sham companies', etc. The US corrupt have almost perfected the art. Generally speaking, the Jamaica corrupt persons are in the 'learning process'.

In the US the mantra is as "do as you wish..but, do not get caught"!

the difference in the US is people go a PRISON, and corruption on both side is exposed and punished.

...the politicians who have failed Jamaica from either party

You are right, but, it goes further than that. The entire society is corrupt. In fact, we are drawn into the corrupt practises without even being aware of it.

I may self in my early 20s got my PPV open drivers license just by knowing someone who knew someone.That action was corrupt andhelped fuel the corrupt system. At the time it was just following what a very many of my peers were doing. No big thing! Long after I realised it was big thing. I then found out it was rampant throughout Jamaica. I moved around a lot as a salesman (1st Field Officer for the JTA Credit Union, med. ref., - Parke-Davis &amp; Abbott Labs, Football Referee, Grace, Kennedy employee...and, 'clowned around' with many persons in various sectors of the society...you would be surprised at the very many 'upright'...upright citizens ...andtheir prominent companies that are involved in corrupt practises.

The truth is I do not know of one company that does not engage in some type of corrupt practise.

Corrupt practises range from making loans topersons who do not meet strict guidelines of financial houses - going through the connected -someone who knows someone- from cash sales where all taxes are notpaid, to buying products off the streets - closing eyes on possible source of the goods, importing products using'informal commercial importers' who use means to circumvent paying of at least some taxes...to the carrying of unlicensed firearms, to paying for firearms licenses, ...and, on and on and on...

Want to bet that some players make the national squads because of who they know or which club they play for...leaving more deserving players behind?

Great sectors ofboth societies, US' and Jamaica's, from top to bottom is corrupt...some just takeit to levels that bring revulsion....if and when found out.Most of us are cowards and dismiss our corrupt actions from conscious thought...banish it from our minds or claim it is just a small thing...everybody does it...but, face facts...little corrupt things may start some persons on the path to greater corrupt things.

I would love to see the hands of those who have never taken something we should have gone through the proper channels to receive? I bet the firstreaction would be something like ...cho man dat a nuh nutten! with a ?

Ever moved to the topof the line at the tax office? ...in the bank? ...had a loan expedited because of knowing someone? ...and or received a loan at a favourable rate? ...imported an item/walked through customs without paying duty on something? ...child given preferential treatment? ...etc., etc.? Is the practise corrupt...or, it is cho man...? ...fair practise?

I bet some here 'will run away from selves'...and, say Karl is a mad man? Hey...that is easy!

Assasin (11/2/2006)the difference in the US is people go a PRISON, and corruption on both side is exposed and punished.
            Some people go to prison some of the time - both in Jamaica and the US! Jamaica is just smaller and the large cases of corruption is thusalways within 'touching distance'.

Karl the fact of the matter is if we don't punish the people in leadership who get away with blatant waste and corruption, how are expecting better from society? That is part of what leadership is about.

Look and you will see the same activists who were wanted in the 1980, after coming back to Jamaica are still be been pursued by the police in more than one cases and if we can't convict them, they will only lead a new generation down the same path.

Too many people with proven dirty hands are in our political system and if we as PNP and JLP continue to always support these people and point them out then we will be doomed. Mr. Morgan as a big PNP supporter and a pastor have a very important role to play instead of just generalising like that and blame "politics".

how many corrupted Jamaican politicians you know go to prison?

We all know of corrupted ones.

Under a republican administration many republicians have gone to prision and under a democratic president they impeached clinton so your facts don't bare out.

Assasin (11/2/2006)Karl the fact of the matter is if we don't punish the people in leadership who get away with blatant waste and corruption, how are expecting better from society? That is part of what leadership is about.

Look and you will see the same activists who were wanted in the 1980, after coming back to Jamaica are still be been pursued by the police in more than one cases and if we can't convict them, they will only lead a new generation down the same path.

Too many people with proven dirty hands are in our political system and if we as PNP and JLP continue to always support these people and point them out then we will be doomed. Mr. Morgan as a big PNP supporter and a pastor have a very important role to play instead of just generalising like that and blame "politics".
                  I agree with you!

..but, just an additionalthought - Could corrupt politicians engage in the corrupt practises if every other person was not corrupt? I wonder who those corrupt politicians would have to carry out/work with them on...the corrupt practises? ---&gt; Not the people around them! Then...????

Good question sass! In Jamaica corrupt politicians DO NOT go to Jail. It would appear that they are lauded for their deeds.

leadership comes from top, not bottom.

Many people thought New York couldn't be turned around but ala.

many people think China would always remain poor.

Leadership can change things. it can prove to the people what effective clean government can do.

Assasin (11/2/2006)leadership comes from top, not bottom.

Many people thought New York couldn't be turned around but ala.

many people think China would always remain poor.

Leadership can change things. it can prove to the people what effective clean government can do.
                        Ofcourse leadership can do wonders...but, corruption in New York and China is rampant!

just imagine it was 5 times as bad with John Gotti, and all the mobsters etc. You will not be able to totally get rid of it but you can minimize it. Jamaica is at a stage where it is crippling the country and its economy, and there is no excuse for it.

It is blatant as daylight and not punished at all.

Karl, by your definition, the whole world is corrupt! And everyone in it! So, your point is lost!

Mosiah (11/2/2006)Karl, by your definition, the whole world is corrupt! And everyone in it! So, your point is lost!
                              Could itbe whatI am saying it is the matter of keeping a lid on the level of corruption? ...keeping it to manageable levels? ...keeping it to acceptable levels? ...and, as individuals and as a society getting a handle on what can lead to unacceptable levels of corruption, taking responsibility for our part in creating the problem and trying our dampest to curtail levels of corruption?

...and, to be specific to your the whole world is corrupt! And everyone in it! So, your point is lost!

Firstly - Isn't it?

Secondly - Why would the point be lost if the whole world is corrupt?

The point is we know that to be true, face it/face that fact - do not run from it...and, consciously work to limit the levels to which corruption can/could rise! Do...each of us...our damnest to limit our involvement in corrupt activities...and thus contribute tothe limiting ofopportunities for corruption and therefore limit actual corruption.

...the above does not say anything about not punishing those caught in corrupt acts.