<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>This is my island in the sun</SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
Wednesday, November 01, 2006
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Editor,<P class=StoryText align=justify>I have been visiting Jamaica continuously for almost 18 years, at an average of three to five times each year. I have already made two visits to Jamaica this year and instead of going back, I decided to visit other islands in the region.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After visiting them, I realised that several are not ready for tourism. Their airports are not in anyway capable of handling tourism on any substantial scale. The hotels or some of the so-called hotels are horrible. Some workers in the hospitality industry are unfriendly and most of the native people are not warm. There was a natural tendency of unfriendliness and disorganisation within the hospitality industry in some islands. I was in total shock from the moment I arrived until I left the last island I visited.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In one country, I stood outside the airport building waiting to be picked up and was scanning some pictures I had taken while in the plane flying over the island. A woman in some type of uniform walked up to me. Speaking with a hard-to-understand dialect, she curtly tried to tell me that I could not take pictures. I wasn't taking pictures!
Elsewhere, I walked into a gift shop and the person working in the shop did not say a word. I walked by her several times, just trying to ensure that she knew that I was in the shop. After noticing her attitude, I decided not to buy anything.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Hence, I want to let Jamaica know that I am sorry for not continuing my visits. So right now, dear Miss Jamaica, I am sorry I booked that flight to the other islands. They have nothing to offer like you. Their infrastructure does not seem ready for tourism. Miss Jamaica, if I had walked into a gift shop in Montego Bay, Negril or Ocho Rios, let me tell you this - that "man a yard" ( I know lots of Jamaican words) in the shop would not stop "sweet-mouthing" me until I bought the entire store. That's how Jamaicans are friendly and know how to do business.<P class=StoryText align=justify>So, Miss Jamaica, I want to let you know that as far as tourism hospitality is concerned and the way you treat visitors, you have a good thing going for you. Keep that good thing going and never lose track.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Several years ago, I heard a song by one of your singers, Ras Karbi, Jamaica I will never leave you again, so, on that line, I will never visit another one of those islands. I also say, Day oh, day oh, day deh light and mi want to go home - Harry Belafonte. So Jamaican people, "One love" - Bob Marley.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mike O'Sullivan
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
USA
pboata@hotmail.com
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
Wednesday, November 01, 2006
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Editor,<P class=StoryText align=justify>I have been visiting Jamaica continuously for almost 18 years, at an average of three to five times each year. I have already made two visits to Jamaica this year and instead of going back, I decided to visit other islands in the region.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After visiting them, I realised that several are not ready for tourism. Their airports are not in anyway capable of handling tourism on any substantial scale. The hotels or some of the so-called hotels are horrible. Some workers in the hospitality industry are unfriendly and most of the native people are not warm. There was a natural tendency of unfriendliness and disorganisation within the hospitality industry in some islands. I was in total shock from the moment I arrived until I left the last island I visited.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In one country, I stood outside the airport building waiting to be picked up and was scanning some pictures I had taken while in the plane flying over the island. A woman in some type of uniform walked up to me. Speaking with a hard-to-understand dialect, she curtly tried to tell me that I could not take pictures. I wasn't taking pictures!
Elsewhere, I walked into a gift shop and the person working in the shop did not say a word. I walked by her several times, just trying to ensure that she knew that I was in the shop. After noticing her attitude, I decided not to buy anything.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Hence, I want to let Jamaica know that I am sorry for not continuing my visits. So right now, dear Miss Jamaica, I am sorry I booked that flight to the other islands. They have nothing to offer like you. Their infrastructure does not seem ready for tourism. Miss Jamaica, if I had walked into a gift shop in Montego Bay, Negril or Ocho Rios, let me tell you this - that "man a yard" ( I know lots of Jamaican words) in the shop would not stop "sweet-mouthing" me until I bought the entire store. That's how Jamaicans are friendly and know how to do business.<P class=StoryText align=justify>So, Miss Jamaica, I want to let you know that as far as tourism hospitality is concerned and the way you treat visitors, you have a good thing going for you. Keep that good thing going and never lose track.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Several years ago, I heard a song by one of your singers, Ras Karbi, Jamaica I will never leave you again, so, on that line, I will never visit another one of those islands. I also say, Day oh, day oh, day deh light and mi want to go home - Harry Belafonte. So Jamaican people, "One love" - Bob Marley.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mike O'Sullivan
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
USA
pboata@hotmail.com