$30 might be pushing it but $50 certainly seems possible. Today OPEC decided to cut supplies to prop up the price and it still fell to $63 a barrell. Those $100+/barrell prices clearly had little to do with real supply and demand, pure speculation.
Even at $30 the Saudis make decent profit. Currently at those prices many of the alternative energy sources find it harder to compete. That will change as the technology gets better though.
From CNN.com
Sources: U.S. Govt. CERA, Rand, EnCana
Here's what the price of a barrel of oil needs to be for different sources of petroleum to be profitably extracted:
boss yuh nuh see what a gwaan? We soon can't buy ile.
Kidos to Golding for this one. Him set a date and them a pressure him, and him say a so the ting set. They have been talking about this for too long and nothing haven't been done.
Wha happen to the Brazillian them? Them nuh want the sugar factories again?
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
In hindsight wouldn't it have been wise for Bush to let go some out a the reserves as Clinton did and mash up the speculators?
The Republicans in my book mash us up bad bad, a boom or bust them deal wid, no moderation.
Greenspan left the interest rate too low even inna the best of times and it come back fi haunt us along with the free for all policies.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
The Tar sands guys in Canada lowered ther cost of production to $18 a barrel years ago.
A good friend of mine who works in the industry, Masters in Petro Engineering and MBA, told me 5 years ago that even at $10 a barrell, his firm made money, at $12 its a party.
Again I remind you guys that the Saudi OIL cost less than a buck a barrell, hence why gas cheaper than water there. The Sudis are getting $3-5 a barrel for the oil as they have long term contracts (3-5 years) that are only being rolled over now. Perhaps another good reason for the sharp price fall no?
The $147 peak price was one of the biggest financial rapes in the history of the planet. This is NOT an exaggeration! The Hedge funds and their masters really did a number on us. Now its the turn of the bankers...
Give credit where it is due. Nuff people was talking crap, just like free education and healthcare. How we nuh ready and how big problems was going to occur.