Unapproved deal - Shaw blasts Davies over salary agreement .

• Unapproved deal - Shaw blasts Davies over salary agreement .

Unapproved deal - Shaw blasts Davies over salary agreement with JTA - Says Cabinet did not endorse plan for increase

[COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important][/COLOR][/COLOR]

Finance and Public Service Minister Audley Shaw has accused his predecessor of signing an "open-ended agreement" with the Jamaica Teachers' Association (JTA) in 2006, without Cabinet endorsement.

Shaw charged yesterday that Dr Omar Davies unilaterally gave approval for a company to conduct a study to bring teachers salaries up to 80 per cent of those in the private sector.
    He said there was no Cabinet approval, noting that the only evidence of authorisation he had seen was Davies' "flashy signature".
    Budgetary implications
    Shaw also suggested that Davies approved the agreement without any reference to the budgetary implications.
    "We are going to have to hug up another $15 billion above and beyond what is being paid to the teachers now over the next two years, and this is retroactive from April 2007," he said yesterday, at the launch of Cuna Mutual Group's new product - the Payment Protector Rider.
    It was launched at the Hilton Kingston hotel.
    No obligation
    The finance minister later told The Gleaner that Davies' decision to ink the agreement without Cabinet's approval revealed gross inadequacies in terms of the decision-making process of the previous administration.
    "It is saying we agree to this company doing this study, and whatever are the recommendations of this study we are going to accept it," Shaw added.
    Focal Point Consulting Limited was contracted by the previous administration to undertake a study to compare the salaries of public school teachers to those in the private sector.
    Several attempts up to last night to reach the former minister for comment were unsuccessful.
    Pressed to comment on the authenticity of the agreement, Shaw said the administration had an obligation to carry out agreements that had been signed by the previous Government.
    Last week, the Government made a new offer to teachers, following weeks of tough negotiations between JTA officials and their counterparts at the Ministry of Finance.
    Teachers are expected to vote on the offer at a special delegates conference on Saturday, October 25.
    The Gleaner has been reliably informed that the deal, which will see teachers' salaries being increased to 80 per cent of their private sector counterparts, has been widely accepted by 22,000-strong membership of the JTA. As part of the deal, teachers will receive retroactive payments in three tranches beginning in December and ending in June 2009.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead1.html

this maybe true...but shaw should mek smaddy else fight this battle.....cock mout' out fi kill cock!

Smady like who? Shaw is currently being interviewed ... dem need fi mek we know what a gwaan. Nuh wait pon the poppyshows fi have press conference bout grading gov't den leggo dis.

Mosiah, whey Omar deh? From yessiday various media house a try reach him.

smaddy like his junior minister...i say this based on his promise to the teachers.......

All mi a say, dis govt. need to start acting like the govt. and not the opposition. Think before yuh galang bad!

They have not learnt from the RIU hotel fiasco where the Newsletter told a bag of lies on behalf of the govt. only for the PM himself to basically okay everything, while racing up his ministers. Yes, I warned about that 4 storey deal and aircraft flight path crap, but unnu woulden lissen. Who end up wid egg pon dem face?

Then they squealed about the sewage entering the sea and accused RIU of being the culprit. Turns out that it was an NWC sewer plant and Sandals itself who were the ones causing the problem! Of course, you'd never have read about that in the Newsletter.

Then there is the 500 truckloads of sand that were stolen from some beach. The govt. huffed and puffed and then fell eerily silent as news came out as to who had done it. It's taking forever for the police to release the names of the brothers with JLP affiliations. I wonder why!??

So, yes, maybe Omar screwed up or maybe the govt. is once again squealing without checking the facts.

I'll wait and see.

smaddy like his junior minister...i say this based on his promise to the teachers.......
            He doesn't have any Junior Minister. Who made promise to the teachers?

At least some things a come to light.

The PNP need fi get a fresh head fi opposition spokesman. Omar have too much baggage. Him need a new post.

All mi a say, dis govt. need to start acting like the govt. and not the opposition. Think before yuh galang bad!

They have not learnt from the RIU hotel fiasco where the Newsletter told a bag of lies on behalf of the govt. only for the PM himself to basically okay everything, while racing up his ministers. Yes, I warned about that 4 storey deal and aircraft flight path crap, but unnu woulden lissen. Who end up wid egg pon dem face?

Then they squealed about the sewage entering the sea and accused RIU of being the culprit. Turns out that it was an NWC sewer plant and Sandals itself who were the ones causing the problem! Of course, you'd never have read about that in the Newsletter.

Then there is the 500 truckloads of sand that were stolen from some beach. The govt. huffed and puffed and then fell eerily silent as news came out as to who had done it. It's taking forever for the police to release the names of the brothers with JLP affiliations. I wonder why!??

So, yes, maybe Omar screwed up or maybe the govt. is once again squealing without checking the facts.

I'll wait and see.
                Oh ... suh making the public aware of what is taking place is an indication of them acting like opposition? Did you actually say that with a straight face? During the PC this week, Omar, Portia and the rest of the poppyshows were making claims that the gov't not doing anything. How many of you pointed out that they left a mess to be addressed?

Didn't Mark Shields say that they were still investigating the sand saga? Yuh acting like John McCain now .... yuh a throw up all kinds a smoke screen. Address the fact that almost 200 billion worth of debt has to be added to the debt thanks to the genius of Omar.

then what bout him senior minister?

Oh ... suh making the public aware of what is taking place is an indication of them acting like opposition? Did you actually say that with a straight face? During the PC this week, Omar, Portia and the rest of the poppyshows were making claims that the gov't not doing anything. How many of you pointed out that they left a mess to be addressed?

Didn't Mark Shields say that they were still investigating the sand saga? Yuh acting like John McCain now .... yuh a throw up all kinds a smoke screen. Address the fact that almost 200 billion worth of debt has to be added to the debt thanks to the genius of Omar.
                    The point is Governments that want to be taken seriously... especially more than a year since taking office... need to stop harping on what went on in the past however bad it may have been.

This govt needs to take ownership of all the country's issues.... good and bad...not just those which are positive.

It's time to lead us through the current crisis... not time for recriminations about the past. The JLP is going to need the PNP's (tacit at least) support if their policies are to be successful... that's my belief anyway. Recriminations about the past will guarantee only further tensions.... we can't afford that crap.

The only people who take this dredged up stuff from years ago are misguided partisans.

Oh ... suh making the public aware of what is taking place is an indication of them acting like opposition?
                      Did you read my post? Did you understand it? If you did you would not make this idiotic statement.

Making the public aware is one thing, but when yuh just start squeal widout knowing di facts, dat is someting quite different!

Let's hope Man A Yard is right on this one.

"The only people who take this dredged up stuff from years ago are misguided partisans."

Not years ago, one year ago to be exact. The fact is the PNP left us in a hole, they are just as guilty as the JLP if not more, so how they want to stand on pulprit and don't mention that they have to take some blame for the current crisis?

The point is Governments that want to be taken seriously... especially more than a year since taking office... need to stop harping on what went on in the past however bad it may have been.

This govt needs to take ownership of all the country's issues.... good and bad...not just those which are positive.

It's time to lead us through the current crisis... not time for recriminations about the past. The JLP is going to need the PNP's (tacit at least) support if their policies are to be successful... that's my belief anyway. Recriminations about the past will guarantee only further tensions.... we can't afford that crap.

The only people who take this dredged up stuff from years ago are misguided partisans.
                          Foolishness Don1. The mismanagement of the previous gov't is a major hurdle to what the current gov't can do. Fi years Air J owe the IRS money, and they didn't know of it until dem tek office ... and now the IRS out fi get bad pon dem? Man lock in alumina price until 2012, now the price of alumina has doubled plus the cost of producing it is more that the locked in price. Who yuh think gonna have to cover that?

Those who see the PNP as God's gift to Jamaica nuh waan know the truth ... unuh can stay.

If unuh waan knock the gov't fi how dem going about things fine ... but man up and knock those that put us where we are. Then again ....

Did you read my post? Did you understand it? If you did you would not make this idiotic statement.

Making the public aware is one thing, but when yuh just start squeal widout knowing di facts, dat is someting quite different!

Let's hope Man A Yard is right on this one.
                            Squel without facts? Sounds like another emotional outburst. Right on this one? Was he wrong about Bunting and him sweethear deal?

nah...it cannot gwa'an just so they need to advise the people of what has happened ..... and how they will deal with it.

pnp gave them a mess when it causes an issue, it ought to be put front and centre and dealt with THAT is what separates them...