Jobs for gangs

• Jobs for gangs

10,000 unskilled youths to be trained over next four yearsLUKE DOUGLAS, Observer writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, October 23, 2008

CHARLES... if you are being invited into a gang and you don't want to go into it, come and see me
    Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles yesterday invited all unattached youths, including gang members, to apply for training and jobs under a new programme he hoped would help curb Jamaica's rampant crime.
    Charles appeared to join his colleague, the national security minister, Senator Trevor MacMillan in seeking out of the box solutions to long-standing social problems besetting the island.
    "We're calling on those in gangs who want to get out of the gangs to call the ministry; if you are being invited into a gang and you don't want to go into it, come and see me," Charles beckoned at the launch of the Special Youth Employment and Training Project (SYEAT), which aims to train and employ 10,000 unskilled youths over the next four years.
    He said another, designed to train and employ existing and potential gang members, would be announced shortly.
    Charles' statement comes weeks after a controversial suggestion that dons should be allowed to appear before a committee of Parliament examining the bills to reduce crime.
    That suggestion was supported by National Security Minister Colonel Trevor MacMillan, but condemned by opposition members including K D Knight and A J Nicholson.
    Yesterday, the labour minister also defended his government's performance after one year in office, but admitted that some of the promises made in last year's general election campaign could not be met, as they were based on inaccurate information on the seriousness of the country's problems.
    "I said to my colleagues, if I knew then what I know now, I would not have told all of those lies when I was campaigning, that in two years we could make things better," Charles told the gathering in Kingston.
    "Among the problems of which the government was not aware were that billions of dollars spent were not recorded on the budget; and that more than 60 per cent of first-time job seekers were illiterate," the minister said.
    In a response to the opposition People's National Party's (PNP) claim that the government had failed after one year in power, Charles called on some politicians to stop their criticism of the administration.
    "Stop this rubbish about you can do this and you can do that," he said. "No other PNP or JLP government in the past has been able to do what this government has done in one year. None!"
    Campaign promises fulfilled by the government so far, Charles said, included the provision of free health care in hospitals and public health centres, the removal of tuition fees in secondary schools, and the inclusion of an additional 38,000 persons on the Programme for the Advancement of Health and Education.
    The SYEAT programme targets young people ages 18 to 25 years to be screened and assessed by the HEART Trust/National Training Agency, following which they will receive training in basic numeracy and literacy skills from the Jamaica Foundation for Lifelong Learning.
    Some 25 private sector companies have committed to the programme so far.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._FOR_GANGS.asp

"and that more than 60 per cent of first-time job seekers were illiterate,"

Again, some people should simply keep quiet. They did an "excellent" job of focking up ... suh now dem fi just guh hold dem corna!

Imagine dat!!!!

500 welders were needed to be sent to Canada.
      4,000 people turned up for the 500 jobs.
      Of the 4,000 only 150 could read.

LOGON TO PROGRESS!!!!!

Some want to make patios the official language as if it would solve the literacy problem,if you cannot read english then how in the world can you read your native tongue.

Make it official all you want but please educate my people to be literate.

Kiss teeth.
        Last edited by Sir X; October 23, 2008, 09:39 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

High-school dropouts to get second chance at employment
          published: Thursday | October 23, 2008

Athaliah Reynolds, Staff Reporter
          Over the next four years, some 10,000 unemployed Jamaican youths, many of whom are high-school dropouts, will be given a second chance at establishing a career.
          Twenty-five-year-old Carletta Green, a resident of Orange district in St James, is one of them.
          Green and her colleagues are being given a second chance through the Ministry of Labour and Social Security's Special Youth Employment and Training Project.
          Green was unable to complete high school because her parents did not have the money.
          With just a fourth-form education, no academic qualifications or vocational training, she found it difficult to find steady employment.
          Grateful for opportunity
          Green is now grateful that she has another opportunity to attain a significant milestone.
          "I am really happy for a second chance to make something of myself," she told The Gleaner.
          Speaking yesterday, during the launch of the programme at the Hilton Kingston hotel in New Kingston, Labour Minister Pearnel Charles said the project was developed as a short-term labour market intervention to promote youth employment, skills training and development.
          Until 2012, the programme will target some 2,500 young people between the age of 18 and 25 years each year.
          They will benefit from on-the-job training, as well as training from several vocational institutions, including HEART Trust/NTA and the Jamaica Foundation for Lifelong Learning.
          Restoring hope
          At least 25 corporate bodies have already signed on to the project. These entities will employ and train the youths for a period of one year.
          Charles said the programme was geared towards ensuring that Jamaican youths had a future in the productive sector, and restoring hope for many despondent youths.
          "One of the main factors which contribute to youth unemployment is the lack of the requisite competence and skills to function effectively in the labour market," said Charles. "Many young Jamaican workers are untrained, unskilled and, therefore, unemployable."
          According to data contained in the 2007 Labour Force Survey, 56.5 per cent of all unemployed first-time job seekers have no formal educational qualifications. Additionally, 74 per cent of unemployed youths have not benefited from formal training.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead2.html

and how are the 2 mutally exclusive?! anyway while i get what you are trying to say and agree for the most part .... there is embedded in your statement a fatal defect in reasoning.

Its all about priorities , the hoopla in making it official requires investing money in that purpose , I am sure you would agree that it would be better spent educating the illiterate.

Patwa not going nuh -whey.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

THAT would be educating the illiterate....duh!

in college/university/grad school .... i learned perhaps just as much about concepts as i did how to learn. one can learn concepts and then stick to them without deviation, one can also learn how to learn and therein i give the socratic method the thumbs up when compared to the tutorial method.

learning how to learn.....if people LEARN how to learn the tide in the battle certainly changes to the benefit of the former illiterates!

...continue twisting yu-seff into 'notts. You may be unable to untie yu-sefff.

Take care of the very high illiteracy rate in Jamaica FIRST--and add other non- productive things (...like teachin' patois later).

It is strange how this is one a the method certain formites suggest to get rid of crime and poverty and they have no comment about it.

If the JLP is serious good start. As mi say not all people inna gangs are bad people and I hope Charles work on it.

try this standard english for size .... fu$k off!!!!

It is strange how this is one a the method certain formites suggest to get rid of crime and poverty and they have no comment about it.

If the JLP is serious good start. As mi say not all people inna gangs are bad people and I hope Charles work on it.
                          Yuh never play dominoes? Yuh nuh know how fi read di game? It look like you expect fi see the suh set in the east.

If Minister Charles intends to succeed...

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles has caught our attention and, we suspect, a good chunk of Jamaica, with a splendid idea.
                            Last year when this newspaper reported the story of how Jamaican-born businessman, Baxter Sinclair helped bring down the crime statistics of Los Angeles by providing gainful employment to some 32 members of that American city's most notorious gangs, we expressed the hope that such a scheme could be replicated here.
                            At the time, we pointed out that it was unrealistic to suppose that Jamaica's hideous crime problem could be solved without addressing in a comprehensive way the myriad problems - from poor parenting and nasty living conditions to joblessness and despair - being faced by disadvantaged youth.
                            It would appear, from the lead story in yesterday's edition of this newspaper, that Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles is about to bring life and reality to our hopes through the new programme he announced at Thursday's launch of the Special Youth Employment and Training Project (SYEAT).
                            SYEAT, we read, aims to train and employ 10,000 unskilled youth over the next four years. Said youth are to be screened and assessed by the HEART Trust/National Training Agency and then trained in basic numeracy and literacy skills by the Jamaican Foundation For Life-long Learning.
                            This, Minister Charles hopes, will curb Jamaica's rampant crime problem, which has been wreaking no ends of havoc in the lives of the citizenry.
                            It's a good idea that couldn't have come at a better time and we wish it every success.
                            No doubt, Mr Charles is trying to think outside the proverbial box, to find solutions to one of our very intractable problems and we embrace that. We are certainly not going to get different results from doing the same things the same way all the time.
                            However, we would advise the minister to consult with Mr Sinclair whose efforts in LA met with great success in the seventies. For if this programme is to work, it is going to need much more than token-type resources, as when faced with a choice between sparse compensation for back-breaking hard work and the bounty of criminal activity, gangsters and potential gangsters are likely to choose the latter.
                            Additionally, as Mr Sinclair will testify, the matter of presenting this programme as an attractive alternative to criminal activity is no easy feat. For in addition to the financial resources, the programme is going to require appropriate presentation from a psychological perspective. Otherwise it runs the risk of coming across as something that none but the most down-and-out will care to be associated with.
                            In this regard, we think Mr Charles should widen his appeal to the private sector, as government alone is unlikely to be able to manage such an ambitious project.
                            Sustainability is also a feature which we would wish to be a critical element of this programme which must, in the long run, be able to turn out graduates who can hold their own and compete in the global marketplace.
                            Anything less will simply represent one more ineffective plaster on the sore that is crime in Jamaica.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...UCCEED____.asp

Good out of the box thinking!