• Jamaica nice fi true.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>

<SPAN class=TopStory>How many visitors really validate what Jamaica is all about.</SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>This is my island in the sun</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Wednesday, November 01, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Editor,<P class=StoryText align=justify>I have been visiting Jamaica continuously for almost 18 years, at an average of three to five times each year. I have already made two visits to Jamaica this year and instead of going back, I decided to visit other islands in the region.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After visiting them, I realised that several are not ready for tourism. Their airports are not in anyway capable of handling tourism on any substantial scale. The hotels or some of the so-called hotels are horrible. Some workers in the hospitality industry are unfriendly and most of the native people are not warm. There was a natural tendency of unfriendliness and disorganisation within the hospitality industry in some islands. I was in total shock from the moment I arrived until I left the last island I visited.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In one country, I stood outside the airport building waiting to be picked up and was scanning some pictures I had taken while in the plane flying over the island. A woman in some type of uniform walked up to me. Speaking with a hard-to-understand dialect, she curtly tried to tell me that I could not take pictures. I wasn't taking pictures!

Elsewhere, I walked into a gift shop and the person working in the shop did not say a word. I walked by her several times, just trying to ensure that she knew that I was in the shop. After noticing her attitude, I decided not to buy anything.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Hence, I want to let Jamaica know that I am sorry for not continuing my visits. So right now, dear Miss Jamaica, I am sorry I booked that flight to the other islands. They have nothing to offer like you. Their infrastructure does not seem ready for tourism. Miss Jamaica, if I had walked into a gift shop in Montego Bay, Negril or Ocho Rios, let me tell you this - that "man a yard" ( I know lots of Jamaican words) in the shop would not stop "sweet-mouthing" me until I bought the entire store. That's how Jamaicans are friendly and know how to do business.<P class=StoryText align=justify>So, Miss Jamaica, I want to let you know that as far as tourism hospitality is concerned and the way you treat visitors, you have a good thing going for you. Keep that good thing going and never lose track.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Several years ago, I heard a song by one of your singers, Ras Karbi, Jamaica I will never leave you again, so, on that line, I will never visit another one of those islands. I also say, Day oh, day oh, day deh light and mi want to go home - Harry Belafonte. So Jamaican people, "One love" - Bob Marley.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mike O'Sullivan
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    USA
    pboata@hotmail.com

RE: Jamaica nice fi true.

True dat, they can't help it but to be nice. Even

the customs and immigration workers ar nice to me. I can't wait for tourism to boom in Mobay once more so everyone can have a decent pay. I know it's hard there but they still find time to be nice to you. I love joking and talking with the females at the airport

Joking and talking with the females -- you mean outright FLIRT wid dem! Ah King Jawge I've figured you out:P

Yeah but it's still fun talking to them. I tell you

this: July when I was there, I went into the market to buy this huge frying pan (biggest laugh among my family on my return) anyway after buying the frying pan and grater (do nuh laugh) I went over to another lady to buy mangoes. The lady that sold me the frying pan said an yuh know mi could ah sell yuh fruits to. I said mi luv all unnuh mek smaddy else live to. Mi like chatting up wid di locals dem ah yaad an yes flirting wid workers at the airport. Mi an mi cousin had a ball at Devon house in 04. Mi vex more time fi see di violence an ray, ray in di nice beautiful place.