• Obama for president

Obama for president

October 14, 2008
    COME JANUARY, a new president will take charge of a nation diminished, an America that is far shakier economically, less secure militarily, and less respected internationally than it was eight years before. The nation needs a chief executive who has the temperament and the nerves to shepherd Americans through what promises to be a grueling period - and who has the vision to restore this country to its place of leadership in the world.
    Such a leader is at hand. With great enthusiasm, the Globe endorses Senator Barack Obama for president. The charismatic Democrat from Illinois has the ability to channel Americans' hopes and rally the public together, at a time when the winds are picking up and the clouds keep on darkening.

Unlike many of his rivals this year of either party, Obama isn't refighting the political or cultural battles of the 1960s. Instead, he is asking Americans to take responsibility for the nation's problems now; no one else will take care of them, and the consequences of years of disunity and profligacy should not be visited upon future generations.
    Obama shows great faith in the possibility of persuasion overseas and in the ingenuity of the American economy. While intransigent rogue states can't be finger-wagged into giving up on nuclear weapons, perhaps they can be talked back from the brink. As fossil fuels become scarcer, and the ecological damage more evident, Americans can put up windmills and solar panels and drive more efficient cars.

Encouragingly, Obama has assembled an impressive economic team that understands both the power of the market and the need to discourage recklessness and promote social equity. He would broaden access to health insurance, using a mechanism akin to this state's Commonwealth Connector. And he offers a tax plan that, in offering modest cuts to most taxpayers and taking back some past cuts for the highest earners, acknowledges the widening gap between the wealthiest Americans and everyone else.

The question, of course, is whether Obama can make good on his promises under the circumstances. For George W. Bush will leave a woeful legacy. The Iraq war, which was sold to Congress and the public on false pretenses, continues to consume billions upon billions of dollars, even as many of the plotters of Sept. 11 are still at large. In his efforts to cultivate democracy abroad, Bush has hacked away at its roots here: due process, the separation of powers, the conviction that there are some things that government must not do. Waterboarding and secret prisons abroad, warrantless wiretapping at home - these acts belie America's image of forthrightness, the nation's greatest asset in world affairs.
    Meanwhile, as the planet gets warmer, its top energy consumer has no plan to wean itself from fossil fuels. Healthcare costs are strangling businesses. Real wages have declined for the average worker, even as the cost of food and fuel has skyrocketed. Vague unease about the economy has turned into outright fear as the financial system sank into quicksand and 500-point-plus plunges on the stock market have become a near-daily occurrence. Obama's opponent, Senator John McCain, would try to solve all these problems by going back to the same Republican set of tools: tough talk abroad, tax cuts for the richest at home.

In contrast, Obama's presidency would benefit from the Illinois senator's formidable political gifts. A graduate of Harvard Law School and a former community organizer on Chicago's South Side, Obama debuted on the national political scene with a dazzling speech at the Democratic National Convention four years ago. Since then, every word of his books and his speeches has been closely parsed. Evident from all that scrutiny is a nimble mind, an ever more impressive grasp of policy detail, and an ability to listen to contradictory viewpoints. Obama is clearly a liberal. But when he led the Harvard Law Review, he won praise from conservative thinkers because he genuinely wanted to hear what they had to say.
    Obama is hardly immune to political calculation. Though he has positioned himself as a supporter of campaign finance reform, he backed out of the public financing system after his ability to raise jaw-dropping sums over the Internet became apparent. In the general election campaign, he has been slow to admit how much the financial crisis would limit his policy options come January.

Even so, the way Obama has run his campaign has been a marvel of sound management: He laid down principles, put the right people in positions of authority, and spent money strategically. And he has shown a remarkable steadiness. Whether he was far behind Hillary Clinton before the Iowa caucuses or on the verge of locking up the Democratic nomination, whether he was leading or trailing McCain in the general election contest, Obama made the same forward-looking appeal to voters' best instincts.
    As the first black major-party presidential nominee, Obama has strived to make voters comfortable with a "skinny kid with a funny name." And yet the historical significance of his bid is impossible to ignore. Voters can make no more powerful statement about America's commitment to inclusion and opportunity than to put forward this man - Barack Hussein Obama, son of a father from Kenya and a mother from Kansas - as the nation's representative to the world.

An early Obama campaign slogan declared, "We are the ones we've been waiting for." His critics deemed such rhetoric too ethereal. Now it seems prescient, as the nation confronts a financial crisis of historic proportions, as well as all the other policy failures and debt-fueled excesses of the last eight years. The United States has to dig itself out. Barack Obama is the one to lead the way.

http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/ed...sident?mode=PF

seetyah...

the way Obama has run his campaign has been a marvel of sound management: He laid down principles, put the right people in positions of authority, and spent money strategically. And he has shown a remarkable steadiness. Whether he was far behind Hillary Clinton before the Iowa caucuses or on the verge of locking up the Democratic nomination, whether he was leading or trailing McCain in the general election contest, Obama made the same forward-looking appeal to voters' best instincts.

seetyah...

Whether he was far behind Hillary Clinton before the Iowa caucuses or on the verge of locking up the Democratic nomination, whether he was leading or trailing McCain in the general election contest, Obama made the same forward-looking appeal to voters' best instincts.
      Hillary Clinton's surrogates said he is intimidating our people in the caucuses and there is this phenomenal voter registration drive by his people. (Or words to that effect.)

You have to look to how Senator Obama won his first election. Ruthless actions were taken. Drove his main competition off the ballot.

Yesterday Todd Spivak of HoustonPress.com reminded us how Obama won his first Illinois election:

He was just 35 when in 1996 he won his first bid for
      political office. Even many of his staunchest supporters, such as
      Black, still resent the strong-arm tactics Obama employed to win his
      seat in the Illinois Legislature.

Obama hired fellow Harvard Law alum and election law expert Thomas
      Johnson to challenge the nominating petitions of four other candidates,
      including the popular incumbent, Alice Palmer, a liberal activist who
      had held the seat for several years, according to an April 2007 Chicago
      Tribune report.

Obama found enough flaws in the petition sheets -- to appear on the
      ballot, candidates needed 757 signatures from registered voters living
      within the district -- to knock off all the other Democratic
      contenders. He won the seat unopposed.

"A close examination of Obama's first campaign clouds the image he
      has cultivated throughout his political career," wrote Tribune
      political reporters David Jackson and Ray Long. "The man now running
      for president on a message of giving a voice to the voiceless first
      entered public office not by leveling the playing field, but by
      clearing it."
      In his run to become the democratic nominee he won 90+% of the caucuses. He got sit-ins and fill the venues and keep person who would have voted for Hillary...who wanted to vote for Hillary out until the caucuses were closed.

What is happening now?
      ACORN! ...an organisation Senator Obama helped train.

Look at the article written by the Boston Globbe stating what it claims is McCain's set of plans for the country?

A clear case of lying through what it presents as McCain's plans and lying by the omission of elements of McCain's real plan! ...but that is par for following Leader Obama - Lying is his game! Lying is his great! ...and lying promises of being ready adn willing to give 'gifts'! Perhaps, tonight he shall promise us 'saltfish'?!

The man is a charlatan! He is a blackman who has appealed to the guilty conscience of whites and and the rabid deep seated 'reverse racism' of blacks. The blacks see him as a tool to stick it to White America with no thought for their own economic self-interest.

What happens when he wins and either turns for most of his promises or turn to the people's pockets for the wherewithal to pay for all the 'gifts'? What happens when we blacks see that the path for us to advance economically is blocked as more and more of what we earn is consumed by making payments for Obama's gifts...or increased taxation?

What is it Obama has accused John McCain's much more limited and measure plans are offering? "John McCain" he screams, "gives with one hand and takes with the other"! ...Well Obama gives and gives with the one hand. Is there no paying for his innumerable gifts?

The man is a charlatan!

..but love him or dispair at his 'two card tricks' he certainly can mesmerise masses! ...another Michael without the gift to have the people step forth and take their destiny in their own hands. Michael turned around the thinking of the average voters...got us to challenge more of the status quo by using our brains...got us to 'kick down doors' and move into the commanding heights of the Jamaican private sector in droves...re-awakened our resolve to scale any and all heights both at home and as we moved across the world...be it in spheres of the economy, academia, the arts or sports...Obama has the 'gift of gab' as did Michael...but that is where it ends. ...unlike Michael, Obama suggests that the government will provide all things. Nutten nuh guh suh!

Obama is ruthlessness in the cause of self...put out great 'sweet talk' to whip the masses in a frenzy...'sweet' empty rhetoric. All show and no substance! Who would have thought it after Geroge Bush a greater comedian!

Karl ... its time you get over your bitteness. Didn't Obama's opponent withdraw from that election due to his own doing? Then again .. a you name Karl.

I wonder if you know of another case? "...his doing?"

...and I made an error in my earlier post - Obama dove ALL his opponents off the ballot and out of the race!

I wonder if you know of another case? "...his doing?"

...and I made an error in my earlier post - Obama dove ALL his opponents off the ballot and out of the race!
            Yuh sounding like Sarah Palin now. Get over yuh bitterness KArl. Hillary and Bill have move on .. what the hell is wrong with you. If yuh want to vote for McCain ... thats your choice ... (then again, you've always made the wrong choice when it comes to politics) .. but some mek up stories.

So you NOT voing for him?

Karl quick fi draw quotes. I wonder if him know that the right wing is promoting a new book about Obama ... selling it for 99 cents? Chances are thats where him grabbing quotes from a come post. We soon see him a post bout Obama being a Muslim and an Arab!

Karl ... yuh need fi get one a dis ....

it is official...obama is the anti christ spoken about in the book of revelations!

So you NOT voing for him?
                    I shall be voting for him! How many times must I say that!

So your brother is do you kick him out of the house? ...do you stop supporting him? I would wish my brother to turn his life around!
                    ...what about you if it were your brother?

dunno...drive a get away car for him?! hold a murder weapon for him?!

btw -Willi: No comments on the spending plans of both candidates and its implication for the country and its voters.

Aside:
                        Yuh dun kno I am for "social spending" to revitalise infrastructure and also to jump start the economy...but it must be in moderation/carefully targeted...as there shall be the subsequent inflation!

Just so you know I have not decided to throw my long held belief under the bus! ...so it is for JA...so it must be for the good ole USA!

dunno...drive a get away car for him?! hold a murder weapon for him?!
                          That is what you ar doing for Obama! ...or is it for yourself!
                          Can't admit the faults of the man...even as you support? Coward's way it appears to me! ...but then you "devil" parallel to what I said...shows your Freudian slip "coming of the Lord" view of Obama!

I am a bit worried about the extent of social spending with a Dem President, House and Senate. They may get carried away with the power that they will have.

I say abandon any further tax cuts until spending is brought under control. The tax rates are not particularly high in the US right now.

And BTW Obama is playing politics by pretending that his tax credits to low income earners are tax cuts. They are govt benefits but he doesn't want to put a liberal label on it. You can't get a tax cut if you didn't pay any income taxes to begin with!

dat is all to technical fi mi....if mi plant sinvinson (st vinvent) yam...mi cya'an expect fi dig yellow yam