Mento and calypso music lazie

• Mento and calypso music lazie

Ok ah having ah argument here with a poster trying to say JA culture is a spinn off ours and that mento come from calypso . Which i know is not true as each has its own orgin but lord ah trying and getting no where ....

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/in...?topic=21910.0

RE: Mento and calypso music lazie

Yuh handling yourself well. I see you producing articles to support your argement. Its the same with my fellow countrymen, no matter the evidence, they still hang on to their fantasies.

Thanks for posting the Calypso/ Mento topic.

I don't think we should spend time separating ourselves aboutwho originated--and who is responsible for what and where...

The fact is: I just spent about 2 hours listening to the various links you(and others) have posted containing calypso and mento.. I listened to both Trinidad and Jamaican contributions. It was a refreshing experiencing. I remembered my parents used to danceto most of those songs. All the songs became new again. I am still smiling. Thanks!!

Jamaican music have so many influence. If you notice reggae, despite the heavy jump and bass it has different influences. You have the festival type music which is higly influenced from the mento and calypso feel, you have the R&B and Jazzy field in lovers rock and some reggae, you have the one drop and in some of our music you can hear the spanish influence. Our musicians also come from different background from classical, to Calypso to Mento.

This is one of the reason why reggae is so unique and even Paris Hylton can sing it. but it also allows for a lot of creativity. The caribbean is full of people who blend music so while JA may have some Trini influence in its music it didn't derived from Trinidad and Passa Passa is no carnival as it originated from Jamaican street dances that has been going for a long time. I use to go a street dance and listen to some of the best entertainers for free in their early stage. People like Sister Nancy, Junior Demus, Lady Saw etc.