But you guy fail to see that it is just one incident after another after Golding took over. The world is falling apart, Jamaica could have been a lot worse. No devaluation. Unnu blame him for rise in price but when a reduction there is no credit.
While there is no great achievement yet there is hope. One that we will actually have ethonal and hopefully made in Ja to reduce oil bill. Hopefully we will get cheaper loans. The big disappointment is crime right now.
Even if Golding promised investment and it was going to come, who you think is going to invest in this climate now?
Easy yuhself Sass!!! People gonna claim yuh mekking excuses. When other Caribbean countries averaged 5% growth, poppyshows was creating excitment bout progess when we had 1.4%. Now all of a sudden dem a gwaan like !!!
How yuh fi tek dem serious?
What's stunning is that this flip flopper Wignall actually seems to have believed the JLP pre election propaganda of Jamaica soaring in the Golding era.
like some on this board i guess
He was also head over heels in love with Sister P ...before he flipped. Wonder who is going to be his next great love? Could it be Peter Philips?
But you guy fail to see that it is just one incident after another after Golding took over. The world is falling apart, Jamaica could have been a lot worse. No devaluation. Unnu blame him for rise in price but when a reduction there is no credit.
While there is no great achievement yet there is hope. One that we will actually have ethonal and hopefully made in Ja to reduce oil bill. Hopefully we will get cheaper loans. The big disappointment is crime right now.
Even if Golding promised investment and it was going to come, who you think is going to invest in this climate now?
Aaaah bwoy.
You are so thin skinned as well as somewhat misinformed.
All I said is that I don't buy into politician's propaganda and promises of nirvana... so while I am disappointed at the lack of progress... unlike those more gullible... I am not surprised.
I have not assigned any blame (except for the worsening crime) to this administration for the country's continued failures.... because this is just about what I expected especially in a difficult global environment. I never bought into their promises of big positives under the JLP leadership... maybe you and others did.
However failure is failure however you spin it.... and the JLP is in charge and responsible for the country.
Interesting that your "hope" for the country is ethanol and cheaper loans... get real.
Sorry to inform you that while ethanol is a good thing... and the JLP wisely continued the previous govt's policy ....it will have a very limited impact on oil imports.
We use maybe 25% of imported oil in the transportation sector... and the plan is to replace 10% of that with ethanol = about 2.5% impact. Don't look for any big benefits (as you seem to be) other than a glimmer of hope for the cane industry. Small... but a good start nonetheless.
Perhaps you could benefit from researching policy issues before projecting fanciful results.
Merely reading news articles and especially... consuming statements by politicians is not sufficient to have an understanding of the impact of policy decisions... drill down a little deeper.
Cheaper loans?? That's laughable and not even worthy of my time to comment on.
Also.. a word to the wise...no need to be so defensive... really.
You are so thin skinned as well as somewhat misinformed.
All I said is that I don't buy into politician's propaganda and promises of nirvana... so while I am disappointed at the lack of progress... unlike those more gullible... I am not surprised.
I have not assigned any blame (except for the worsening crime) to this administration for the country's continued failures.... because this is just about what I expected especially in a difficult global environment. I never bought into their promises of big positives under the JLP leadership... maybe you and others did.
However failure is failure however you spin it.... and the JLP is in charge and responsible for the country.
Interesting that your "hope" for the country is ethanol and cheaper loans... get real.
Sorry to inform you that while ethanol is a good thing... and the JLP wisely continued the previous govt's policy ....it will have a very limited impact on oil imports.
We use maybe 25% of imported oil in the transportation sector... and the plan is to replace 10% of that with ethanol = about 2.5% impact. Don't look for any big benefits (as you seem to be) other than a glimmer of hope for the cane industry. Small... but a good start nonetheless.
Perhaps you could benefit from researching policy issues before projecting fanciful results.
Merely reading news articles and especially... consuming statements by politicians is not sufficient to have an understanding of the impact of policy decisions... drill down a little deeper.
Cheaper loans?? That's laughable and not even worthy of my time to comment on.
Also.. a word to the wise...no need to be so defensive... really.
I'm curious, how many things you people expected to be implemented within the first year? I recall Willi pointing to the poppyshow Brigade that these plans were over a 5 year period. Up to the other the other day the PM had to point out to the jokers that these plans are to be implemented over 5 years.
"Cheaper loans?? That's laughable and not even worthy of my time to comment on."
Or is it yuh know not?
It is fair to knock them for the crime situation, but when y'all run off unuh beak bout promises of nirvana it just show that you're another KArl on the forum. One of these days when you stop acting like you know all and get informed .. mek we know.
The fact is some of the policies of the PNP was not that bad but the lack of control and mismanagement was glaring but you fail to see that or mention it.
Did you expect in one year all these policies to be changed?
Cheaper loan is vital as it help to lessen the amount of interest Jamaica pay on the loans so you can laugh all you want.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
As I said I am very disappointed with that. That is my major concern as they have achieved nothing in that area and it continue to go south.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
But don't be fooled about the economic numbers, Sass. But if I were Man a Yard I would realise I have the perfect scapegoat for my local failures.
Fooled with what Mosiah? The Tourism Ministry has revised their projections, the Finance Ministry is coming with a Supplimentary Budget. How could such moves fool anybody? well ... except maybe Don1.
The fact is some of the policies of the PNP was not that bad but the lack of control and mismanagement was glaring but you fail to see that or mention it.
My post does not address PNP stewardship.. so your point is immaterial.
Did you expect in one year all these policies to be changed?
No.. this is a reason why I'm not hyper critical of JLP failures... it's early days still and I'm willing to extend the benefit of time for them to improve .
Cheaper loan is vital as it help to lessen the amount of interest Jamaica pay on the loans so you can laugh all you want.
That's true.. however you posit this cheaper loans thing as one of your 2 big "hopes" for the country. Even if we get your "cheaper loans" for budget expenditure this will not materially affect the well being of Jamaicans... the impact will be slight since most of the carrying cost of our debt is on our exsisting portfolio. If Jamaica was able to refinance a large portion of EXISTING debt at low rates... that would have an impact... however that is neither contemplated nor possible. So much for your big "hope" for the country.
I'm curious, how many things you people expected to be implemented within the first year? I recall Willi pointing to the poppyshow Brigade that these plans were over a 5 year period. Up to the other the other day the PM had to point out to the jokers that these plans are to be implemented over 5 years.
"Cheaper loans?? That's laughable and not even worthy of my time to comment on."
Or is it yuh know not?
It is fair to knock them for the crime situation, but when y'all run off unuh beak bout promises of nirvana it just show that you're another KArl on the forum. One of these days when you stop acting like you know all and get informed .. mek we know.
I see you still have difficulty in comprehending my post.
Again.. what I have seen from the JLP admin is just about what I expected.. since my expectations were low and unaffected by the electoral posturing.
They have time to improve and for the country's sake I hope they will... I just don't expect a great improvement unfortunately.
Sell cheaper loans helps anyway you take it as repaying them starts starts in a short time. Yes refinancing them would be great but it is good that we are actually thinking about cheaper sources. You think we were just going to go from 8 and 10 % loan to totally refinancing our loans in one year?
Some steps are been taken and it will be whether the JLP actually follow through and take advantage or squander it. First thing has to be shown is that they are financially responsible government. and where did I describe it as "Big hope" you are playing with words.
It is not the whole reason but don't tell me 140 a barrell oil, and the credit crunch, along with Gustav have no effect on the economy.