• 'No danger'

'No danger'
    Shaw says financial system sound as Wall St rally lifts global markets

Balford Henry, Observer writer
    balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Finance Minister Audley Shaw yesterday reassured Parliament that Jamaica's financial system is not endangered by the financial crisis in the United States.

"Depositors, policyholders and pensioners can rest assured that our financial system remains well capitalised, well supervised and has the strong backing of the central bank and the Government," Shaw said in a statement in the House of Representatives.

Complete Story ...

Big brokers disclose their foreign risk - FSC says $720b sec

Big brokers disclose their foreign risk - FSC says $720b securities industry sound, defends JMMB's strength

Regulators yesterday gave unequivocal endorsement to the strength of Jamaica Money Market Brokers (JMMB) as part of a broader, robust defence of the health of the island's securities firms in face of fears among investors of contagion from America's...

Ah just chat dat...to calm the sheeple.

Big potential danger ahead for all.

This and crime are 2 issues where the Govt and Opposition MUST call a truce and work together like in civilized countries.

We are facing perillous times of biblical proportions.

Dat is rum chat

And him betta memba seh Remittance Flow is going to drop substantially!!

"Govt and Opposition MUST call a truce and work together like in civilized countries."

unnu nuh easy, them can't even call a truce inna them own party.

Them man keep saying they don't have much exposure, but for some reason I remember then pushing US equity investment products. I guess technically that is the client's exposure and not theirs.

Earlier this year, one of them recommend Morgan Stanley and Merrill as the value play . LOL

And any fallout from the US crisis will be on top of the Cash Plus/Olint crash. That could be catastrophic!

can't see how it cannot help but to affect us.....expecting the first wave of illegal immigrants from the us any time now!!!

We are facing perillous times of biblical proportions.
                  Biblical proportions? Come now Willi isn't that a bit extreme?

Some middle class people might lose them retirement and pension and have to work until them can't work no more (like most people in the world by the way) but you make it sound like western civilization is about to end.

Let me ask you this, what is the worst case scenario you see coming out of this?

Don1?

'No danger'
                    Shaw says financial system sound as Wall St rally lifts global markets

Balford Henry, Observer writer
                    balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
                    Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Finance Minister Audley Shaw yesterday reassured Parliament that Jamaica's financial system is not endangered by the financial crisis in the United States.

"Depositors, policyholders and pensioners can rest assured that our financial system remains well capitalised, well supervised and has the strong backing of the central bank and the Government," Shaw said in a statement in the House of Representatives.

Complete Story ...

weh Don1 deh?