Gov’t clueless on economic struggles ahead – Davies

• Gov’t clueless on economic struggles ahead – Davies

The Bruce Golding administration has been warned to brace for more heat from the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) over its handling of the economy.

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }The PNP says it is not moved by a recent statement from the Prime Minister that the Jamaican economy can withstand the economic melt-down in the United States.

Dr. Omar Davies, who retains the Finance portfolio in Portia Simpson-Miller's new council of spokespersons, says the government has demonstrated a lack of understanding of the global economic crunch.

He says while the Opposition is not seeking to undermine the government, it will be presenting a comprehensive analysis to the country soon.

"The government should demonstrate to the population a basic understanding of the actual problem ... that has been missing and the Opposition will provide that comprehension analysis of the situation and way to move forward," said Dr. Davies.

Who's at the helm?

According to the Former Finance Minister, who was speaking at PNP headquarters on Monday, there is evidence of eroding confidence in the local economy.

Dr. Davies said the Opposition will be pressuring the government to present the Supplementary Estimates soon in order to give a true picture of the state of the economy.

"The Minister Without Portfolio in the Ministry of Finance has said that if you present a Supplementary Estimate, it indicates that you don't know what you're doing ... (Audley) Shaw (Finance Minister) will be presenting a Supplementary Estimate, so draw you're own conclusions," he said.

Dr. Davies is calling on either Prime Minister Bruce Golding or the Finance Minister to take the helm in the country's financial management.

"But the Supplementary Estimates should come sooner rather than later," added Dr. Davies.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/12013/26/

"The Minister Without Portfolio in the Ministry of Finance has said that if you present a Supplementary Estimate, it indicates that you don't know what you're doing ... (Audley) Shaw (Finance Minister) will be presenting a Supplementary Estimate, so draw you're own conclusions," he said.

CAPE results come out? How did Audley do?

The amusing part is Omar calling others clueless. I figured you would jump on that. What you need to do is find what Wehby said. Then again, is not everyone interested in the truth.

I remember clearly what Wehby said. Thanks for the link though! Confirmation of what I thought he said!

I remember clearly what Wehby said.
          Really? Well ... tell Omar nuh.

right now nobody knows what is ahead with the bail out crisis.

What Omar is saying he could have done a better job?

In good times he couldn't even manage a 1% growth and huge deficits.

If we didn't have these deficits we would have a chance.

"it indicates that you don't know what you're doing" vs. "he believes displays improper fiscal management" - which one yuh raadah?

Do you really see a difference between the two?

Don't believe the hype, Sass. The govt. was also "failing" before the hurricane and before this crisis. That is FACT!

Indeed, given our short term or selective memories, these developments can be used to their advantage. A spin opportunity has arisen.

"it indicates that you don't know what you're doing" vs. "he believes displays improper fiscal management" - which one yuh raadah?

Do you really see a difference between the two?
                  Don't try defend Omar's utter stupidity. Did the Minister say S.E. would be gone this year? If people want to constructively make criticism .. by all means ... but follow Omar the inventor of Duppy Economics not showing you in a good light.

...putt bak de pnp dem in powah...cause them can put jamaica on solid financial growth.

das what mosiah is sayin'. duh!!!!

Or Paulson!

yes...or Paulson!

(what the fu....... )

dual citizen

Mind mi sick Portia pon yuh! LoL

Did you see the video??

Yes, I did. Di man was born a comrade!