Question for the political junkies

• Question for the political junkies

You are an elected offical and a very controversial vote like this bailout bill comes to the floor. The voters in your district are clearly against it but in your heart you are for it.

What is the "right" thing to do, represent your voters views regardless of what your personal views are, or make the judgement that you know better than them what is good for them and vote accordingly?

The result is also going to affect my nest egg ... therefore ... voting for what I think is right.

wasn't majority of americans for the war and patriot act?

it was about leadership, and they failed!

anyway, you vote nay.
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

I would vote for it, even if my constituents do not support it. These congressmen need to lead, and put the interest of the country first.

when it comes down to that, i have to trust my judgment.

part of being a leader is the courage and responsibility to go beyond the thoughts or wishes of the consensus and make tough decisions. This is not an easy decision to make in the back drop of true capitalism and for a party that hates anything with socialist undertones but it is a necessary evil.. You have to vote for the best solution which may not be the best case scenario..

I would call for an ambulance and let them take me to the emergency room and then let them keep me there until every imaginable test can be run on me.

Everybody a go say vote them belief but many a the politicians believe they are the best for the country so they will elect to stay.

I was listening to NPR, they had a congressman on it and he said voting for the bill might cause him to lose his seat but he is voting yes cause it was the right thing to do. Same time the voting done and the annoncer tell him the vote fail, You shoulda hear the long pause on the radio.

Thati why mi say mi rather be the community activist cause mi free fi vote for what I believe, I don't have to account to mi party, minority leader or majority leader.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                  part of being a leader is the courage and responsibility to go beyond the thoughts or wishes of the consensus and make tough decisions. This is not an easy decision to make in the back drop of true capitalism and for a party that hates anything with socialist undertones but it is a necessary evil.. You have to vote for the best solution which may not be the best case scenario..
                  The Reps have been practising corporate socialism for a loooong time.

You are an elected offical and a very controversial vote like this bailout bill comes to the floor. The voters in your district are clearly against it but in your heart you are for it.

What is the "right" thing to do, represent your voters views regardless of what your personal views are, or make the judgement that you know better than them what is good for them and vote accordingly?
                    Do we not wish for politicians that will always "do right"?

That is why only one term politicians can really set things right. ...that does nto say some would do as much pocket lining as they possible can in their one term. Fi dem deh? Prison!

Thats a very good point Sas. Very difficult call to make if you are a career politician, and the 30 days before election make it even harder.

This is one of those problems that democracy is probably not the best system to use to resolve it.

Mek some of them talk crap and nuh act in the best interest of the massives, and see if after election dem sitting in any Congress or Senate!

When people start lose jobs, left, right and center, can't get any credit fi run dem business, see how many will go to the poll.