Gov’t coffers need US$200mil

• Gov’t coffers need US$200mil

There are growing fears that the government's plan to raise more than US$200 million on the international capital market is in jeopardy.
    The money is needed to finance the 2008/2009 Budget.
    With no end in sight to the global economic crisis, local financial observers say the Golding administration will definitely be hard-pressed to meet this target.

Lissant Mitchell, Senior Vice President at Scotia DBG says the United States financial meltdown poses more than one challenge.
    He said the recent spate of buy-outs and mergers has reduced the list of US financial firms which normally helped Jamaica to raise low-cost funds overseas.

"Some of the big name firms who would have been on the shortlist that the government would have used or try and put deals together have all gone ... that would be a little concerning as to how the government is going to raise that US$200 million and if they raise that in the local market, what implications would you have for local interest rates," said Mr. Mitchell.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/11973/52/

Ooooooooooooh it's printing time again....

I don't understand you. The subprime mess is affecting the US and all over and you are acting as if this is not an emergency case especially for little Jamaica after your government put us in so much debt over the last 18 years.

What you expect a magic wand?

Run to the Chinese!

you nuh think Chan, and all the Chiney man them can find nuh on dem way to China already

We're all in dis together

The chiney dem have dem problem too

As the song seh "the more we are together the happier we shall be' only in this case the MISERABLEST we've been

In that case get rid of Bush faaast.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                The chiney dem have dem problem too

As the song seh "the more we are together the happier we shall be' only in this case the MISERABLEST we've been
                Their big problem is that the hold too many US dallaz!

This is what our Govt is seeking, so...

The Chinese would be better off lending Jamaica than buying even MORE T'Bills. Especially if its tied to juicy assets like the Port of Kingston!!!!