McCain won this debate. How the

the debate was about Obama making it hard for ppl to say no and feeling comfy with him, which is what he did. again, politics is not brass knuckles and chains as you view.

Again, it solidify his base and attarcted independents, though you know Barack has a more pragmatic approach alot of ppl don't the expectation for him was that of novice and "professorial" but he instead was decisive and celebral.

ask Islandman about the art of politics.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

We have to remember though that a lot of nontangible issues are in play and these campaigns are very scientific in the way they let thier candidates project themselves. They do polls and focus groups non-stop to see what sells well to the voters they are after and what doesn't.

For example, regardless of the issue there is no way Obama could project the angry, aggressive and generally disrespectful attitude that McCain did. As a black man it would simply turn a lot of white voters off, and I am not talking about people you would consider out-and-out racists. I am convinced that Obama is a lot tougher and harder than the image he shows in public and it is very deliberate. Maybe at times he holds back a bit too much but it its probably erring on the side of caution.

Rhatid I never read your post before I made mine, but I think you are right on point.

Are we talking about the art of debating or just the politics?

From a debating point of view McCain won but not overwhelmingly from my point of view.

The politcs, the spin and who have more to gain is a different thing.

The last Election Kerry won all the debates and some overwhelmiingly but it didn't result in big gains for him. For me political debate is just about that and I like the back to watch but rarely you see a candidate come out of it been the president because of it.

also you can win the debate and lose hearts and mind as Al Gore did.

how did Mccain win?
              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Both i guess.

I agree that from a strictly debating perspective McCain may have been slightly ahead but Obama may have decided to resist going after him too hard so as to improve the comfort level people have with him.

The post-debate polls so far mostly have people saying Obama won and that surprised me so maybe that is what is in play here.

hell yuh agree wid the man on almost everything? Him not even question McCain's position on the GI Bill.
                  Yes! ...but Obama gained more. He definitely proved he could be Commander-in-Chief & President. There were questions in the minds if a significant number of the American voters if he had that ability. He answered in the positive!

In terms of atitude as potential leader Mccain wins...but, I am thinking, when the voter considers personal issues...and trust me besides this actual debate, previous perceptions and leanings are a part of the voters decision-making as the debate goes along...Obama crossed a threshold in many minds...convinced many he is 'ready'...sure the voter will say...matters not if consciously or in deep recesses of mind...we know McCain, but he is old hat...this guy Obama is new can do the job and may bring new approaches that I (the voter) need to solve my (the voter) personal problems!

Yup! Obama did himself a world of good! ...the only thing that can change this for McCain are somehow tying Obama to the perception of the 700 billion being a bailout of 'fatt cats to the detriment of the 'little guy' & a strong and exciting (must be exciting...cannot be just competent) showing by Sarah Palin in the VP debate. Yup! - McCain needs these two big things! One would not be enough for him to surpass Obama.

as bias as you are, even you could see the obvious.

Mccain killed his campaign when he brought it into the bailout. if the bill doesn't get republican support it makes him look week and if he does he'll be considered a "socialist". I think they are rushing this bill, the only part i like are the installments and the oversight. Anyway, Sarah "hellawful" Palin is the only person who can save him.

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                      as bias as you are, even you could see the obvious.

Mccain killed his campaign when he brought it into the bailout. if the bill doesn't get republican support it makes him look week and if he does he'll be considered a "socialist". I think they are rushing this bill, the only part i like are the installments and the oversight. Anyway, Sarah "hellawful" Palin is the only person who can save him.
                      No McCain has done his campaign a world of good if he goes the route of rejecting the Bush bailout plan and gets his plan/the Republican marvicks plan passed.

It is simple - He announced he came back to Washington to get a plan for the people approved.

He therefore has to reject Bush's plan...and kill two birds (seperate himself from Bush and win for/fight for the people. The bonus is Obama and the Democrats are one with Bush on this! ) with one stone. Frankly the foregoing is not hard for McCain to do.

1. He got Obama to follow his lead and go to Washington. ...in appearance he led, Obama followed.

2. Substituting his plan for Bush's gives the appearance he is for the 'little man'. What is he asking/what changes is he demanding - a measure that prevents a 100% Fed bailout...but an asking that the "fat cat" firms guarantee repayments and assume debt. That is a cannot lose situation as that is the mood of the country - 100% opposed to "bailout'.

3. The democrats have held numerous press conferences saying they are for the Bush plan and they are anti-McCain and the House Republicans plans.

e.g. http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/...iref=polticker

4. The Democratic leaders appear to have been reaping great big sums from the 'fat cats'.

5. Obama and his team is so comfortable with his lead in the polls they are rooted to not saying or doing anything to lead on this. They do not want to do anything to rock the boat. They are rooted in inaction. McCain is acting - He is hear there everywhere in Washington consulting with and appears to be leading.

6. McCain is back in Washington 'fighting for the 'little man'. Obama is on the road fighting to be president.

McCain has all the cards stacked in his favour to come out looking like the only candidate acting on behalf of the voters. The man who does not only talk but walks the walk!

Butter political move ting dis!
                      Last edited by Karl; September 27, 2008, 12:21 PM.

What the hell yuh talking bout KArl? It was President Bush that invited both to the White House, thats how Obama ended up in Washington. Stop talking like Tucker Bounds.

Didn't members of the house make changes to the Bush plan? Didn't both dems and repugs come out and said there was an agreement, then out of the blue gop members started disputing the deal? It was clear it was a move to make McCain look good.

just as i thought you were losing your bias.

did you read the "Republican maverick plan"

it calls for less regulation and no taxes for co-operations and the wealthy. so to fix a problem that was the result of lack of oversight we further diminish oversight and charge companies no taxes? so who's going to end of shouldering the expenses that the company revenue normally contribute to? Karl you are a gut reactive low info voter.

No McCain has done his campaign a world of good if he goes the route of rejecting the Bush bailout plan and gets his plan/the Republican marvicks plan passed.

It is simple - He announced he came back to Washington to get a plan for the people approved.

He therefore has to reject Bush's plan...and kill two birds (seperate himself from Bush and win for/fight for the people. The bonus is Obama and the Democrats are one with Bush on this! ) with one stone. Frankly the foregoing is not hard for McCain to do.

1. He got Obama to follow his lead and go to Washington. ...in appearance he led, Obama followed.

2. Substituting his plan for Bush's gives the appearance he is for the 'little man'. What is he asking/what changes is he demanding - a measure that prevents a 100% Fed bailout...but an asking that the "fat cat" firms guarantee repayments and assume debt. That is a cannot lose situation as that is the mood of the country - 100% opposed to "bailout'.

3. The democrats have held numerous press conferences saying they are for the Bush plan and they are anti-McCain and the House Republicans plans.

4. The Democratic leaders appear to have been reaping great big sums from the 'fat cats'.

5. Obama and his team is so comfortable with his lead in the polls they are rooted to not saying or doing anything to lead on this. They do not want to do anything to rock the boat. They are rooted in inaction. McCain is acting - He is hear there everywhere in Washington consulting with and appears to be leading.

6. McCain is back in Washington 'fighting for the 'little man'. Obama is on the road fighting to be president.

McCain has all the cards stacked in his favour to come out looking like the only candidate acting on behalf of the voters. The man who does not only talk but walks the walk!

Butter political move ting dis!
                            Democrats drowning in Freddie, Fannie funds

http://www.thenextright.com/soren-da...housing-crisis

Barney Franks, etc. drowning in Freddie, Fannie gifts

http://citizenwells.wordpress.com/20...cain-reformer/

Obama

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-_Hl...contributions/
                            Last edited by Karl; September 27, 2008, 12:38 PM.

is this as reliable as your "Obama is a undercover brotha who takes cocaine link"?

that is how i see it too yuttie.... long term strategy vs being impulsive