• Jamaica going nuclear?

Govt panel to investigate potential

Ross Sheil, Online Co-ordinator rsheil@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, September 26, 2008

The Jamaican government is establishing a panel to determine the feasibility of building small-scale nuclear power plants to help solve the energy crisis.

Making the announcement yesterday, Energy Minister Clive Mullings said that the new panel would be headed by veteran Jamaican scientist Professor Gerald Lalor, director general of the International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Sciences (ICENS) at the University of the West Indies (UWI) Mona. Other members of the five-person panel will be named shortly, said Mullings.

Speaking Wednesday at the opening ceremony for the Jamaica Institute of Engineers (JIE) Engineers' Week 2008 held at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston, the Minister said that he had been influenced by the example of the South African Government, which is developing pebble bed-type reactors and from whom he would be seeking technical co-operation.

Mulling said that the nuclear option was one of several being explored by Government but that it would not provide an immediate solution.
    "I want us to look at the issue of alternatives not just in renewables. We have to look at our energy security beyond the next five, 10 to 20 years. I believe that we must look at the next 30 to 40 years," said Mullings.

"We already have a slowpoke reactor at the UWI and it is now time for us to enhance the links that we already have."

The ICENS small-scale slowpoke reactor at UWI does not generate electricity but is used solely in environmental and health research to analyse the elemental structure of rocks, soil, sediments, air particulates, plant, animal and human tissue.

"Putting in a nuclear reactor, is not a simple piece of work; there are plenty of snags along the way not least persuading the public that it is not risky and with pebble beds it's hard to imagine a scenario where anything can go wrong," Lalor told Caribbean Business Report.

"There is no talk of designing a reactor, our talk is about buying a reactor so our responsibility would be to understand it and provide the necessary training."

ICENS has previously studied the feasibility of nuclear energy for Jamaica with pebble beds heading a list of 10 types of reactors under consideration, said Charles Grant chief reactor operator at the centre.

They said that the technology has an inherent safety mechanism, which would shut down the reactor before an uncrontrolled reaction could occur - similar to that of their slowpoke reactor, which has reported no accidents during its 24 years of operation.

Pebble bed technology would provide for plants with a capacity of up to 150 megawatts, which would make them feasible for Jamaica, unlike traditionally larger plants, said Grant. He said that despite such a plant being more expensive to construct it would produce cheaper electricity than a fossil fuel equivalent.

"With today's crisis we've been looking at alternatives but we have to bear in mind that prices of these other fossil fuels might also go the same way as oil, so you have to keep in mind more than one solution.

Renewable solutions are great but you have to look at baseload capacity which is what nuclear can provide - although renewables have to be an important part of that mix," he said.

Research work previously conducted by ICENS, including collaboration with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) would help advance the introduction of nuclear energy to Jamaica, he added.

Jamaica remains 95 per cent dependent on imported oil for use as fuel in the electricity generation sector making the country vulnerable to unstable and rising prices on the world market.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...G_NUCLEAR_.asp
    Last edited by Karl; September 26, 2008, 10:08 AM.

apparently that is a good way to get foreign aid.....

We should really look into this energy from water thing (HHO), from what I have been reading technology has been around for more than 30 years, there are even small scale manufacturers of devices that run on water, it is a fairly simple technology but has not been given its due as the inventor was looked upon as a crackpot

the thing about that is that in recent times jamaica has suffered from really bad droughts (water restrictions and all) and there are still MANY MANY places in jamaica without running water.....

it is an alternative but would perhaps have to be combined with a a desal plant or something.

Where would they put it?
          ...arrangement for disposal of waste?

I have a son who studied that 'nuclear energy generation' thing from an operating engineer angle (I hope I got that right?) ...and is working at a nuclear plant run by FPL...and he tells me there are serious dangers associated with that 'safe operation'!

Message to self - Try to learn more.

btw - What I observed on driving by the nuclear power plant is tremendous volume of water pumped into the facility and emptying into the sea. When I say tremendous boiling (that water must be hot as hell) and swirling activity I mean tremendous!

Speculating -Would that mean our plant would have to be on the coast? Sea water needed?

Have not a clue how those things i.e. nuclear plants, operate.

the concept works with any type of water sea water , gully water , oily water, any water from H2o is present

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
              We should really look into this energy from water thing (HHO), from what I have been reading technology has been around for more than 30 years, there are even small scale manufacturers of devices that run on water, it is a fairly simple technology but has not been given its due as the inventor was looked upon as a crackpot
              I am in agreement here.

Dam up the Bog Walk gorge and create a massive hydro electric reservoir that can foster better irrigation as well.

Why dont they build a bypass now now now?

No bredrin I mean this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3V6SJWfJBl8

Very interesting!

Why no big announcement since 2006?

Nuff of them get bumped off too, if they dont sell out to the Majors.

Check out the site www.infinite-energy.com

theoretically bin around since turn of 2oth century, practically done by an inventor in the 70's he was killed by semi automatic fire , 2 weeks after he started working for nasa, many young inventors exploring this technology, not officialy recognized by scientific community, although many patents exists

The last comment on the video from 3 weeks ago said the inventor is dead.

This makes no sense. A country that does a poor job maintaining basic infrastructure should go no where near anything that requires such sophisticated operations and maintenance. It makes a whole lot more sense to go to hydropower. Hydropower could be done in many places across the island and also give the spinoff of reliable potable water and irrigation. This could also put a lot of people to work. Nuclear power on the other hand would be more likely to rely on large foreign contractors, foreign operators and foreign maintainers.

Regarding the Rio Cobre, its tributaries and the Bog Walk Gorge, I have the following. It is a damn joke that a series of small damns have not been built all along the river course. The flooding could be avoided, irrigation provided to one of the most cultivated areas of the country, and maybe a lttle hydro-power provided. The old hydro plant and set up is not the kind of model that would do much hydro wise. But it could do a little. The money we have spent on repairing the road through the gorge could have provided a series of damns and very reliable supply by now.

Flat Bridge is a joke and should have been replaced a long time ago. The road through the gorge is vital to many communities and should remain, regardless of the bypass and express road. It is an eternal pork barrell project. The fact the French company can do it for free makes me wonder whether they have nade too much, have had unfair sole source votes, and that they might be seeking special consideration for future advantage.

The Harbour View Bridge problem is due to a lack of very basic bridge maintenance and gully course management. There are many rivers such as the Hope River, Yallahs, etc, that go from having too much water to having too little. Spend the same amount of pork barrell money, a little at a time, and in 30 years we could have a real good series of viable small hydro operations, more reliable potable water supply and good irrigation for small farmers. Not to mention a rescue of the food chain that has been dying off in many of our fresh water rivers and streams. In the same upstream areas of those watersheds, the same winds that bring relief rain could power wind turbines.

Foreign power companies are not going to spend the time to develop such a comprehensive policy. This takes local visioning and stakeholder input. There would be a lot of local buy in too. Try getting the buy in for a nuclear plant and you get no where.

Cho, let me get off the soap box.

Dam up the whole thing and make a MASSIVE dam that can power the whole island and irrigate the farms.

Time to think big. I heard of such a plan when I was a boy and even then I heard it was considered in the 1950s.

Nuclear power would just make us dependent on OTHER suppliers and Uranium/plutonium supplies are scarce and prices have zoomed up. This could easily be driven up by speculators in the future, just like petro prices were. Canada had issues a few years back and almost had to shut down reactors! Now that nuclear power has gotten fashionable again, look for prices to zoom.

Jamaica must put HIGHEST priority on NATIVE indigenous sources of power, especially RENEWABLE sources.

Westman, I agree with you.

always appreciate your post on these items