• 65 MPG Ford You Can't Buy

65 MPG Ford You Can't Buy

Ford's Fiesta ECOnetic gets an astonishing 65 mpg, but the carmaker can't afford to sell it in the U.S.

By DAVID KILEY

Ford Fiesta ECOnetic

If ever there was a car made for the times, this would seem to be it: a sporty subcompact that seats five, offers a navigation system, and gets a whopping 65 miles to the gallon. Oh yes, and the car is made by Ford Motor, known widely for lumbering gas hogs.

Ford's 2009 Fiesta ECOnetic goes on sale in November. But here's the catch: Despite the car's potential to transform Ford's image and help it compete with Toyota Motor and Honda Motor in its home market, the company will sell the little fuel sipper only in Europe. "We know it's an awesome vehicle," says Ford America President Mark Fields. "But there are business reasons why we can't sell it in the U.S." The main one: The Fiesta ECOnetic runs on diesel.

Automakers such as Volkswagen and Mercedes-Benz have predicted for years that a technology called "clean diesel" would overcome many Americans' antipathy to a fuel still often thought of as the smelly stuff that powers tractor trailers. Diesel vehicles now hitting the market with pollution-fighting technology are as clean or cleaner than gasoline and at least 30% more fuel-efficient.

Yet while half of all cars sold in Europe last year ran on diesel, the U.S. market remains relatively unfriendly to the fuel. Taxes aimed at commercial trucks mean diesel costs anywhere from 40 cents to $1 more per gallon than gasoline. Add to this the success of the Toyota Prius, and you can see why only 3% of cars in the U.S. use diesel. "Americans see hybrids as the darling," says Global Insight auto analyst Philip Gott, "and diesel as old-tech."

None of this is stopping European and Japanese automakers, which are betting they can jump-start the U.S. market with new diesel models. Mercedes-Benz by next year will have three cars it markets as "BlueTec." Even Nissan and Honda, which long opposed building diesel cars in Europe, plan to introduce them in the U.S. in 2010. But Ford, whose Fiesta ECOnetic compares favorably with European diesels, can't make a business case for bringing the car to the U.S.

Too Pricey To Import
    First of all, the engines are built in Britain, so labor costs are high. Plus the pound remains stronger than the greenback. At prevailing exchange rates, the Fiesta ECOnetic would sell for about $25,700 in the U.S. By contrast, the Prius typically goes for about $24,000. A $1,300 tax deduction available to buyers of new diesel cars could bring the price of the Fiesta to around $24,400. But Ford doesn't believe it could charge enough to make money on an imported ECOnetic.

Ford plans to make a gas-powered version of the Fiesta in Mexico for the U.S. So why not manufacture diesel engines there, too? Building a plant would cost at least $350 million at a time when Ford has been burning through more than $1 billion a month in cash reserves. Besides, the automaker would have to produce at least 350,000 engines a year to make such a venture profitable. "We just don't think North and South America would buy that many diesel cars," says Fields.

The question, of course, is whether the U.S. ever will embrace diesel fuel and allow automakers to achieve sufficient scale to make money on such vehicles. California certified VW and Mercedes diesel cars earlier this year, after a four-year ban. James N. Hall, of auto researcher 293 Analysts, says that bellwether state and the Northeast remain "hostile to diesel." But the risk to Ford is that the fuel takes off, and the carmaker finds itself playing catch-up—despite having a serious diesel contender in its arsenal.

Fools!

Send one for me....idiot budget...PM increase premium gas....TT$50B budget...plus huge tax on engine sizes...in the land of oil and gas....what a ting? Anyhow $7B for education and $5b National Security....for surety....I will check for a link....see it yah:

BRAKE ON CARS
      Premium gas up by $1 a litre
      Ria Taitt Political Editor
      Tuesday, September 23rd 2008
      WELL DONE: Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira receives a congratulatory kiss from Public Administration Minister Kennedy Swaratsingh after presenting the 2008/2009 Budget at yesterday's sitting of Parliament. -PhotoEXTER PHILIPMotorists yesterday took a beating at the hands of Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira, whose first budget brought higher gas and car prices. However, in typical PNM style, she came to the aid of the poor, aged, disabled, lower-income home-owner and the bright student.
      The theme of the $49.4 billion budget, which was based on a US$70 oil price, was "Shaping our future together". She had promised a shorter budget but it went for three hours and ten minutes in the House of Representatives.
      The good news included the increases in the disability grant, public assistance grant, senior citizens grant, as well as the increase in the minimum pension payable to retired public servants. But for many retired public servants getting a pension above $1,950, there was no relief.
      There was also the promise of much-needed pension reform for existing public sector workers. Government also eliminated stamp duty for people buying properties up to a ceiling of $850,000. And for post-graduate students, there was more financial assistance on the condition that they return to the country to serve for the duration of their post-graduate assistance.
      But for the country's drivers, it was a double-whammy. "For high-end users", Government raised the price of premium gas prices from $3 per litre to $4. The Minister emphasised that super unleaded and diesel remained unchanged and therefore there was no justification for increases in taxi fare. For those who use premium, it would result in a substantial increase of about $35 more for the average tank of gas.

Furthermore, for anyone wanting to buy an imported car, motor vehicle taxes, starting today, will go up considerably on a graduated scale. For most vehicles, the taxes would be doubled. In justifying the measure, the Minister cited the "astronomical" growth in the country's vehicle fleet and the consequential traffic congestion, road rage and stress as well as the fact that Government believed public transportation "was now reliable and efficient". See Pages 4, 5, 10 and 12.
      For those employed in the gaming industry, she reiterated that the five-year moratorium would not be changed and urged them to prepare for the demise of the industry. In this regard, Nunez-Tesheira said State-owned National Lotteries Control Board would be eliminating all its "games of chance within the short term" and would have a new mandate. It can be used to accommodate the sale of bus and ferry tickets as well as tickets for the soon-to-be-introduced water taxi service, she said.
      But when Nunez-Tesheira said "phase one of the water taxi service between Port of Spain and San Fernando was at an advanced stage", many in the chamber exploded with laughter. Her promise that it would become operational "before the end of December" failed to convince the sceptics.
      "No budget is the same without a water taxi promise," Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal quipped.
      Indeed, for many listeners, much of this PNM presentation contained a lot of old wine in a new bottle, as Nunez-Tesheira repeated many of the things which successive budgets have consistently espoused and advocated, but Government did not deliver.
      Many of the projects cited by Nunez-Tesheira have spread over many budget cycles. Subhas Panday made much fun of this fact, as he walked with a copy of last year's budget and kept shouting out on which page in last year's budget each measure she announced was contained.
      When she announced irrigation measures and the Mamoral Dam, he shouted: "Page 39, last year's budget." When she talked about rapid rail, he railed: "Madam, every year we hearing that."
      It was the same when she talked about food prices and the mega-farms. But Nunez-Tesheira pointed out that the Tucker Valley mega-farm was in operation and the first harvesting was expected "in the last quarter of 2008". She added that work was "well underway" on the PCS Nitrogen Farm.
      When Nunez-Tesheira trumpeted that the PNM Government had given Tobago "virtually everything they asked for in this budget", the Opposition taunt was, "You still can't deal with Rowley."
      Of the total expenditure of $49.4 billion, education and training will receive the lion's share ($7.1 billion), followed by infrastructure ($6.5 billion), health ($4.3 billion), national security ($4.7 billion), agriculture ($2.1 billion) and housing ($1.6 billion).

Exile and PeterR, what is it like to live in TnT?

I would love to hear from you 2 transplants.

She pretty eh? So what if she nuh undastan nutten bout finance?!

Peter is a transplant....damn wrenk!Heh, heh...

Suh what if I've been transplanted twice? btw Exile I don't know if my jalopy can mek it up dat hill whe yu livin now...

Willi, Exile have life sweet yu see! Him is a Don at him work place...

seriously, all the talk 'bout friction between Trini and Yardies hardly exists...Trinis love Jamaicans... truss mi and if you don't believe me ask Exile.