• Anyone see a problem with this.. think deeply

THUGS ENFORCE CURFEW ON KIDS

For once the thugs in two downtown [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Kingston[/COLOR][/COLOR] communities are using their 'powers' for good.
    Thugs from Denham Town and Tivoli [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Gardens[/COLOR][/COLOR], west Kingston, have found a unique way to encourage [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]students[/COLOR][/COLOR] from their communities to do well.
    'Orders' have been given that children are not to be seen on the streets any time after 8 p.m. If they are seen and are not able to give a 'valid' excuse, a beating is imposed.
    THE WEEKEND STAR learnt about the development while visiting Denham Town earlier this week. A resident, Carol Allen, was heard questioning the whereabouts of her six-year-old daughter. "A afta eight now. Mi naw go look fi har eno. A want di man dem si har an drop some lick pon har yu si," Allen said.
    Subsequent checks revealed that information about the 'curfew' was relayed to residents sometime last week just before the start of the new [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]school[/COLOR][/COLOR] year. Since its inception parents have stated that they have no problem with it and are complying.
    "... Not a ting nuh wrong, as long as dem nuh beat dem fi mash dem up too bad ... . It help more than anything else cause di school pickney dem kno' seh dem fi stay off a road when a school time an do some schoolwork," said Marvin Shepherd, a resident of Tivoli Gardens and a father of two [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]high [COLOR=blue! important]school[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] students.
    Pickaxe stick
    So far, the residents say that there have been no cases of children being beaten as the curfew is being adhered to.
    "When dem man yah set order a nuh joke ting so di kids affi tek it serious and dem know... Nobody nuh get 'regulate' yet ... cause di man seh is a pick axe stick dem ago use pon anybody who violate," Shepherd explained.
    Embrace the move
    One of the thugs chosen to help enforce the curfew also testified about its effectiveness.
    "Wi done send out di word, so any pickney who think seh dem too big fi follow it or feel seh dem uncle or big bredda or whoever a thug suh wi naw go trouble dem, mek a sad mistake ... If dem cyaa gi wi nuh proper talk as to why dem deh pon di road late, lick ago drop inna dem skin," he said.
    The police say they are aware of the curfew activities and have even heard of it in Sunlight Street, in the Maxfield area.
    Head of operations for the Kingston Western Division, Deputy Superintendent Aurthur Brown, told the WEEKEND STAR that the police have embraced the move.
    "I've heard of it and it's something we don't mind as we don't want the kids on the streets after certain hours," DSP Brown said.
    A corporal at the Denham Town Police Station noted, however, that the instructions might not only serve to motivate the children to do well in school, but also to protect them as the community is involved in a conflict. "We have heard of the encouragement part of it, but there is also a current war between men from Denham Town and men from Rema, so we think it also serves to protect them," the corporal said.

This is no different from a protection racket.

As long as you dont violate you wont get regulate. a just so de ting set. And man have de audacity fi question di fact dat there's no crime in Tivoli. Cho.

Totally against this. First the state abandons these communities, now the parents abandon their responsibility for their children.

Madness!

Please! They quickly make the distinction that Denham Town is not Tivoli. Tivoli, of course, has the lowest crime rate in the country.

Totally against this. First the state abandons these communities, now the parents abandon their responsibility for their children.

Madness!
            But wait you a go gainst de orda. You no hear whe de man say we no care who you daddy or you uncle be? Or if you uncle drive escalade LOL. How tings on the rock boss?

Mi deh yah, depressed.

And dem go postpone di NPL again.

aaah bwoy!

Depressed - what wrang wid Mo

Mi deh yah, depressed.

aaah bwoy!
                Drive ova to Boston - eat some jerk, then go swim by Frenchman's Cove and KOOL out ; If that fails to cheer you up - I would still think that there are 5 flights a day to M I A M I!!

Mi deh yah, depressed.

aaah bwoy!
                  Depression is being the only Jamaican in a Spanish bar and having to explain what the pfu ck is going on with us and our program. Big up to the bredda from Peru who felt sorry for me and bought a few heinekins for the night. One thing about them they are objective as long as their country not playing. I still maintain that with all his supposed defensive liabilities Hue wouldve made a difference on this squad. Simoes' selection was nothing short of perplexing. But the man never had an offensive mind to begin with.

Again, Andy does not play better defence than Maestro. And he certainly does not play better offence either!

unnuh figget? ...it takes a VILLAGE to raise a child!!

Mah baad!

Originally posted by OJ View Post

"I've heard of it and it's something we don't mind as we don't want the kids on the streets after certain hours," DSP Brown said.
                          Friggin shame!

thats the point mo.. the police support this when this is the responsible of the parents or if so deserve a general youth curfew by the state. They continually give the permission to these thugs and then wonder why they are not relevant.

You wonder what next will be approved by the police.