Trojan revisits Holt's 'Volts' (can't wait for this)

• Trojan revisits Holt's 'Volts' (can't wait for this)

Trojan revisits Holt's 'Volts'
    published: Tuesday | September 9, 2008

SINGER John Holt's groundbreaking 1974 [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]album[/COLOR][/COLOR], 1,000 Volts of Holt, will be reissued before year end by Trojan Records. The company made the announcement in a statement on its website.

According to the statement, the new-look set will feature eight Jamaican mixes of the 18 original tracks which were produced by Tony Ashfield.
    Released by Trojan in late 1974, 1,000 Volts of Holt hears the former lead singer of The Paragons covering 18 pop standards including Sammy Davis Jr's Mr Bojangles, The Chi Lites' Stoned Out of My Mind, The Isley Brothers' For The Love of You and Baby I'm A Want You which was originally done by American blue-eyed soul group Bread.

Strong seller Ashfield's lush string arrangements complemented Holt's laid-back vocals and helped make 1,000 Volts of Holt a strong seller in Britain. It continues to do well there sales wise; in 2000 and 2002, Holt performed tracks from the album alongside the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, in London.

My singer dis from me a youth, I dont know why but when this guy sings its like a lullabye.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJWSE...3878012/youtub

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If you don't already have, you should get a copy of the DVD with him and the London Philharmonic Orchestra in London, wid Lloyd Parkes band & mi fren Willi Brackenridge on trumpet. Freddy McGregor was also part of the line up. Beautiful!

where did you get it ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

where did you get it ?

I bought my copy on line from overstock.com. You could try www.jr.com

I have the ORIGINAL LP...in my basement...better go pull it out.

yuh have anything fi play it pon?

Gave away my direct drive t/table year ago BUT I am going to buy a new T/T. Went to b/day party recently and the DJ had a t/table the music was soo goood...even with scratches..