music lovers

• music lovers

just listened to "Let 'Em In" by Billy Paul and the excerptsfrom speeches fromMalcolm X and MLK ..... it gave me goosebumps!

As for me ... currently listening to the best tune ever done by Tanya Stephens .... "These Streets!"

Got that CD by Billy Paul.

That song 'let them in' make you see how musicians during that time were visionaries. That song is a classic!!

Billy Paul has another album (don't recall the names ) but with cuts: 'Let the dollar Circulate"... "I was Married"... and other songs. Brilliant!!

just listened to "Let 'Em In" by Billy Paul and the excerptsfrom speeches fromMalcolm X and MLK ..... it gave me goosebumps!
        That was a classic by Billy Paul. It was nowhere nearly as big a hit as "Me And Mrs. Jones" (VH1 classifies Billy Paul as a one-hit wonder), but I love the recording you mentioned, Gamma. And that laidback disco-type beat is captivating.

Got that CD by Billy Paul.

That song 'let them in' make you see how musicians during that time were visionaries. That song is a classic!!

Billy Paul has another album (don't recall the names ) but with cuts: 'Let the dollar Circulate"... "I was Married"... and other songs. Brilliant!!
          I agree with you on all points here, HL.

Thanks to people like Billy Paul and so many others, the sounds of the 1970's is something to be forever cherished!

specifically TSOP for which Thom Bell (a jamaican) was so instrumental!

far from it....he also had "let's make a baby" which was a hit...not a cross over hit like me & mrs jones ...

what the hell is happening? HL and Gamma agreeing more often than they disagree these days?

bolt win an' asafa come second!

mi glad a nuh 1,1 cause mi couldn't tek it.

Mrs. Jones was a classic! Even had a 'friend' called that by others. Ah well....those were the days.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        Mrs. Jones was a classic! Even had a 'friend' called that by others. Ah well....those were the days.
                        Those were the days indeed !

My favourite Billy Paul recordings are, in order of preference:

1. Me and Mrs. Jones
                        2. Let Em In
                        3. Thanks For Saving My Life
                        4. Only the Strong Survive

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          3. Thanks For Saving My Life
                          Wow! Thanks for reminding me about that great song. Haven't heard that from maybe the early 80s!

Mosiah , The title of the post is 'music lovers'

It did not say 'dance-hall lovers'...............

Oops!

Don't Brigadier Jerry have a chune by dat same name? Ah coulda swear!