• Palin speech fires up....the Dems

A Great Speech, For Both Bases

#fullpost {display:none;} St. Paul delegates are giddy with Sarah Palin’s speech. The mood is buoyant, enlivened, energized. It’s a party. There are revelers. The faces shine with joy and pleasure at a convention finally fully underway. Their VP nominee did it – she hit it out of the park. There is joy in Mudville, here on the ground.

And it worked wonders – for the Dems.

In the past several hours, Dems I’ve spoken with and who’ve flooded my inbox are energized. A woman friend and Democrat who had not worked for Obama’s campaign: “I am volunteering tomorrow.” An Obama organizer who was operating on fumes five months ago: “They are not getting away with this. 10 hours of call time tomorrow.” A shorter read of the mood: “Let’s get it on.”

The mockery went too far. They played the “Obama doesn’t love America, just himself” card, over and over and over. For people already inclined to believe that (i.e., the hardcore Republican base), the speech was a smashing success. Maybe they will work a little harder, volunteer a few more hours, dig a little deeper into their pockets. But so will partisan Dems, who are far more plugged into watching the election coverage.

So my reaction: St. Paul loved this speech… and so did Chicago. Palin swung for the fences, mocking the very notion of community organizing. So did Giuliani. This was the day after “Service” was the theme, and Republicans fell all over themselves praising their party’s commitment to give back to the community. Jarring.

Fire up both bases equally, it’s not even close. Obama wins going away. In 2008, there are so many more Democrats, numerically.

So, everyone on both partisan sides has reason to celebrate tonight. Republicans can celebrate a true champion in the VP role. Dems can celebrate because the numbers don’t lie, and no energy occurs in a vacuum. Republicans can’t tie this year.
    There's More...
    ADVERTISEMENT
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

To me the election is over , I didnt even watch the political suicide of a speech by Palin, Macain did a good job of handing all to Obama.

Anyone who believes the hypocritical far right will turn out for this ticket has to be joking , they will stay home before they vote for that joke ticket.I dont see white male rednecks and women voting for an airhead , as ignorant as they are , it stops at voting for a __________ you fill in the blanks.

let the republicans paint it however they want it ,its over!
    Last edited by Sir X; September 4, 2008, 08:03 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

HL must be proud! A vibrant, cheerleading, substance-free speech was delivered to a rabid, rousing crowd.

And not a soul got shot!

To me the election is over , I didnt even watch the political suicide of a speech by Palin, Macain did a good job of handing all to Obama.

Anyone who believes the hypocritical far right will turn out for this ticket has to be joking , they will stay home before they vote for that joke ticket.I dont see white male rednecks and women voting for an airhead , as ignorant as they are , it stops at voting for a __________ you fill in the blanks.

let the republicans paint it however they want it ,its over!
        Yuh joking .. right? Man ... Obama got b!tchslapped left .. right and center last night. Give credit where its due. Palin and Gulliani went after Obama last night .. as they should.

The Dems played around during their convention acting as if they're afraid to go after McCain ... now see it deh. Obama made a mistake when he distanced himself from General Wesley Clarke's point that being a POW doesn't make one a good leader. Now every speech at the GOP convention reminded us that he was a POW and as a result he should be president.

Now, lets see how the dems respond.

HL must be proud! A vibrant, cheerleading, substance-free speech was delivered to a rabid, rousing crowd.
          True ... but you have to be honest ... the speech was effective.

Lazie one thing is for sure , yuh frighten easy , or let me say you are no politician.

When yuh desperate expect the kitchen sink to come flying,you think the democrats expect them to go silently in the night ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The media and the democrats set the bar too low for this woman.

All she really had to do is show up but she gave a good speech.

It will be interesting to see her debate with Biden. I know he is an attack dog but he can't come off as a woman hater, and she can throw blows at him without that fear.

Good eye Lazie. Palin and even Rudy were extremely effective last night!

The democrats have a habit of hitting with the gloves on. Obama I think have learned from the last election--and comes back strong hitting with the gloves off.

There are lots of republican fodder for the dems to ruminate on....

One of issue I would like to see addresed --is the baby-father of palin's daughter...being tossed into the political lime-light.
                Last edited by HL; September 4, 2008, 09:25 AM.

Lazie, what I realise is that X posts situations that he wants to be true rather than reality. He also said that Palin would be replaced by weekend. If the neo-conservatives had thier way after last night the only replacement would be Palin for President instead of VP!

Regarding the McCain/POW issue, the Dems seem to start with a pre-existing political handicap when it comes to military service because of the demographic that is thier base. How else can you explain why the Republicans were able to use John Kerrys service in the military, including actual combat, AGAINST him and make him look like a traitor, while the Dems are always fearful that if they touch McCain in that area at all it will probably blow up in thier face?

The other thing I notice and I see it on this forum a lot too , is that just like the Republicans tend to have this attitude of a higher moral standard, the Dems tend to have this attitude of a higher level of sophistication and intelligence. Thats why when Yuttie makes a post like how are Americans going to view someone who shoots and eats moose, he is underestimating how many people who can identify with that lifestyle are out there, and unlike many of the registered the Dems, they vote!

This race is looking like a photo finish to me.

The media and the democrats set the bar too low for this woman.

All she really had to do is show up but she gave a good speech.
                    Exactly!

But thats what happens when you automatically assume small town gun-loving people don't have any sense.

And not a soul got shot!
                      We need to slow down and get it right. We need to think through 'things'. We do not need either the Dems or the Republicans to 'tell us what to think'. We need to think for ourselves.

Firstly, last night, Palin beat back the Democratic machine and other such as X who term her an airhead. There was nothing 'airheadish' about her speech and delivery of that speech last night.

Secondly, did she go too far with her attacks on Obama?
                      Certainly as far as how it translates in wooing enough voters to help John McCain the next president of the USA we'll get an insight into form the polls and the November election results.

Next, did her speech provide a complete answer on the question of whether or not she is qualified to be president?

No!
                      She will be examined and many voters will make a decision on that over the coming weeks. Let us face facts the majority of Republicans will vote for her...matters not what she proves. Similarly the majority Democrats will vote Obama regardless of what he has been proving. It is the voters who 'swing' that both parties must sway to there side that is, in a true sense, where the battle is joined.

Next - The Dems have started as I suppose politicians and political machines must...started with half-truths...i.e. lies. No less a person than the Dems VP Biden claimed that nowhere in her speech was any mention made of the economy. Well if what Biden means is simply that the words "the economy" were not mentioned he is right. At the very least I cannot remember hearing Sarah Palin use those words. But, is that what Biden really said? Was that what he wanted to convey? ...that Palin never used the words "the economy'? Ofcourse not! Well what would Biden term the reference to her work on oil and gas and her pointed reference to the USA "...being depended on foreign oil"...and "we must make us energy independent"?

What has Biden said on his campaign trail on his own behalf...and on his defense of Obama on this matter of "availability of our oil supply"?

I'll tell you what Biden has been saying - Dependence on foreign oil is bad for our economy! There is potential for great harm to us! The development of our own oil resources will provide great numbers of jobs...good jobs for our people. He said more...much more.

...and what did Palin say about that? - A carbon copy of what Biden said...and just a little bit more - She has actually worked on pumping into our economy that increasing of exploitation of our oil and NATURAL GAS resources. She has been championing greater exploitation of our oil reserves.

She as put her stamp on the "largest" - her word - dollar number development in moving towards spurring us away from "foreign oil dependence" to USA dependence on increased use of the cleaner fuel source of natural gas. She did not stop there...as has Biden, as has Obama and as has John McCain she wants exploitation of other energy resources - Wind! Geo-thermal, Bio-fuel. ...but she also is more hawkish on Nuclear than Obama and his surrogates.

Biden wants us to believe she said nothing on the economy? ...when she spoke about energy? Where in 'economy' does Biden think 'energy' does not fall? Where in 'economy' does Biden think costs in gas, fuels that drives manufacturing plants, keep us 'cmfortable' in our homes - light, heat, run our home appliances, etc...does not play a part? The cost of energy is in everything! It is a very, very important part of our economy...and Biden wants us to think reducing dependence on foreign supply and pricing...reducing costs while producing great jobs has nothing to do with the economy? Give me a f*&^%$g break!

Biden and Obama tout their energy policy as a huge part of their economy plan...but Biden now says to us...and many of the Dems surrogates repeat the same...last night and this morning...are claiming when Palin puts that forward it has nothing to do with the economy...her economic plans? They cannot have it two ways...they cannot continue to take voters for fools. If it is right for them to tout it as part of their economic plan...it must be right for every other person and that includes Palin.

--------------

That experience vs experience debate the media and Obama surrogates had raging for the last several days...???

Palin sure threw her light on that subject. It is not merely a debate on Palin's experience. Openning up the questioning on Palin immediately causes the listeners to say - OoooooKay! ...and how does Obama's stack up besides her's? ...and the answer is?

--------

Substance free speech?
                      Not when she answered so many questions! ...and raised so many others! ...and expounded on her bio, family, reducing government waste (of tax payers money...our money!), rooting out corruption, getting government to work for the people, energy policy among others!

Rousing?
                      Yes! ...and that may have led some to miss the substance! ...or is it some are disposed to leaning on way and thus had tuned out any positives but were wired to possible negatives?

--------------

That laughing at Obama's experience as a community organiser being great background experience for the presidency...was, I think over the top. Sure it is a topic to put before the American people...but "the how" was a bit harsh/jarring. The context will not be discussed by Obama and his surrogates...but it is fair game. She used Obama's "talking behind the back" put down of those who "cling to their religon and their guns". Fair is fair, she should be hit on these "community organiser" comments...and she has already started to take hits on it.
                      Last edited by Karl; September 4, 2008, 10:06 AM.

yuh going offa di liverpool posts right?

it's not over it will be close and i still expect obama to win. "words" are what was used last night. there was nothing of substance! Rick Davis (the white sheep of the family) is quoted as saying this election is not about issues but rather about personalities....wha dat tell yuh?

the GOP is weak on issues so look for the fighting words rhetoric.

hillary clinton can further show her commitment to the cause right here. remember the republicans got to hear the dems first and get a chance not only to respond but try to pick at whatever shortfalls there might have been in the dems presentation.

i leave by saying this.......obama is a VERY intelligent man, but he is also shrewd and he knows what he is up against moreso than the GOP does.

vote mccain/palin.....NOW!!!!

If y'all think that cheerleading is effective, then hey, knock yourselves out. They are effective if all you want are words to respond - YAY!!!

Portia can deliver effective speeches too, but I bet you'd never find HL characterising them as such.

I'm sick of "effective" speeches. Sick of Portia's, sick of Palin's, sick of Mayor McKenzie's!
                            Last edited by Mosiah; September 4, 2008, 10:13 AM.

hey...let's face it...yuh just SICK ..... boss, sir!