Wow! Not only pro-life but pro-babies galore!

Actually, if I was the father of a family of 5 including a sick infant and a knocked-up teenager, I can promise you I would not be on the road in a travelling job unless there was absolutely no other way to support my family.

Its not about having a sick child or even a pregnant daughter because as you rightly say that can happen to just about any family. I just think that to take a job like VP of the United States with those kinds of family challenges seems like mixed-up priorities to me, thats all.

If Michelle Obama had the same family challenges and was as involved in the campaign as she is now, I would see it the same way.

What makes it more striking in this case is that the so-called conservative traditionalists like to pretend that they somehow are more family oriented than people who have more liberal views on abortion, sex, etc and once again we see that they are just as capable of screwing (pardon the pun) up as anyone else.
    Last edited by Karl; September 1, 2008, 05:13 PM.

more importantly...yuh have sup'm against pum pum shorts?

michelle obama not really on the ticket, is she?

Nothing against pum pum shorts , against the mindset of certain women of that age with kids , going to republicans dances or conventions .

It just doesnt look good.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Actually, if I was the father of a family of 5 including a sick infant and a knocked-up teenager, I can promise you I would not be on the road in a travelling job unless there was absolutely no other way to support my family.

Its not about having a sick child or even a pregnant daughter because as you rightly say that can happen to just about any family. I just think that to take a job like VP of the United States with those kinds of family challenges seems like mixed-up priorities to me, thats all.
            Cannot knock you on that!
            if it were my wife with such an opportunity. I would support "FULL 100"! I would be home with the kids.

If Michelle Obama had the same family challenges and was as involved in the campaign as she is now, I would see it the same way.
            Cannot buy this!
            So Michelle does not currently have a sick child and a pregnant child... and that suddenly makes it right in your mind for her to be given a pass...

...and the lady with a sick child and a pregnant teenager is to be punished...to be denied her place in the sun for that?

What makes it more striking in this case is that the so-called conservative traditionalists like to pretend that they somehow are more family oriented than people who have more liberal views on abortion, sex, etc and once again we see that they are just as capable of screwing (pardon the pun) up as anyone else.
            Have to agree that the Republicans, when it comes to these moral issues that have to do with sex and the consequences of sex shoot us a 'bill of goods'...political crap...lying crap...see: Clinton's impeachment - the late Henry Hyde, Barr (the ass trying to be president on some obscure ticket), Newt Gringrich, etc.

...but the Democrates also have some forming the fool - see: John Edwards (what was his luke-warm support for Clinton saying?) and others.

...your last sentence on
            ...just as capable of screwing (pardon the pun) up as anyone else.
            draws a wry smile. Politicians - Isn't it refreshing to see the current French president's attitude? - the world over always treat us (voters) as fools and attempt to lead us down the road of 'plain not real life foolsihness'...and usually get large sections of the population passionately repeating ...and it appears believing the nonsense!

Look at our present political campaign - "Drilling is nonsense as it will take 10 years to affect the price at the pump!" "It is a gimic!" shouts Obama! ...and there is a great shout of "Yes it is!"!

So the question is not asked - How long will it take to develop and make available at cheaper prices - each of the other alternate fuel sources?
            What costs are associated with switching to alternate fuel sources?
            Not just switching the methods of running the machines and converting manufacturing and production plants and bringing the 'turn over'/switch to these new sources of energy on stream...but through to costs on individuals lives! ...and how that affects 'time-table' to complete such a switch?

Then there is the ramifications of the answers on who is Obama? ...who is this guy who is suggesting 'drilling is nonsense'...a straight lie! ...and drilling will not affect the price at the pumps until 10 years after drilling starts? ...another straight lie!

Forget those questions it is - "Yes we can"!

Do not get me wrong - I am voting for Obama...but do not expect me to not smile wryly on/about his nonsense about being "A different type of politics!"!

"air head" "cheerleader"....why yuh repeat yuhself?!!
              Airhead??? Try BIMBO!

Karl, I am not giving Michelle a pass and I don't have a problem with a woman with children running for VP or president.

I am saying that for someone who claims to run on a "traditional" family values platform her decision to not be with her family during this very difficult phase is a bit strange to put it mildly. I didn't get the impression her husband was a stay-at-home father either. Isn't he some sort of fisherman?

As you know I am not an Obama-maniac either, but he is right on enough of the important issues to get my support.

Karl have you read any of Obamas books? I would suggest "Dreams of my Father" if nothing else. Its not as much about his father and family as the title suggests. After reading that I could not help but feel excited at the possibility of a US President who had such a hands-on understanding of the rest of the world. Clinton and Carter understand it to an extent but they have never lived it like Obama has and never will.

Originally posted by Islandman
                  Is what happen to my post? Karl hijack it?

Anyway Karl, I am not giving Michelle a pass and I don't have a problem with a woman with children running for VP or president. I am saying that someone who claims to run on a "traditional" family values platform (such as no education about sex in schools) her decision to not be with her family during this very difficult phase is a bit strange to put it mildly. I didn't get the impression her husband was a stay-at-home father either.

Abstinence only programs indeed. Maybe if her daughter had learnt something about condoms in school....anyway me gone.
                  I made a mistake and hit 'edit' instead of 'quote' and messed up. I went back adn tried to correct it. Kindly check and let me know if anything is not right. btw - You could also go in and correct any of my errors that I may have overlooked.

I tried to re-post my response. ...both your original post format and my response/post format looked A-OK to me. I hope I got the formats right.

Sorry boss!

karl...why don't you just vote republican and done!!!??? baxide man!

suh who is being punished the several young children while she is running or her for not running because her children need her? either way it is her call and the voting public will have to assess it through their own eyes and with their own values.

Karl, I am not giving Michelle a pass and I don't have a problem with a woman with children running for VP or president.

I am saying that for someone who claims to run on a "traditional" family values platform her decision to not be with her family during this very difficult phase is a bit strange to put it mildly. I didn't get the impression her husband was a stay-at-home father either. Isn't he some sort of fisherman?

As you know I am not an Obama-maniac either, but he is right on enough of the important issues to get my support.

Karl have you read any of Obamas books? I would suggest "Dreams of my Father" if nothing else. Its not as much about his father and family as the title suggests. After reading that I could not help but feel excited at the possibility of a US President who had such a hands-on understanding of the rest of the world. Clinton and Carter understand it to an extent but they have never lived it like Obama has and never will.
                      I have in my house two of his books...courtesy of my wife. I have not read either...but I certainly listen and have to listen to my wife on them.

...and like you I think Obama has many of my thoughts on 'things'. Besides I am wary of the Republicans...and just hate the past 'bill of goods' they sold the American people...

...and Bush's war?
                      Huh!

Obama it is, in November!

karl 'fraid fi read it because it might change him mind and him nuh want to change it.....

karl...why don't you just vote republican and done!!!??? baxide man!

suh who is being punished the several young children while she is running or her for not running because her children need her? either way it is her call and the voting public will have to assess it through their own eyes and with their own values.

...so who gains when she runs...her children doesn't?
                          Your wife works...right?
                          Well?
                          The children gain or they don't? They stand to gain...more as time goes on or they don't?

You cannot have it two ways!
                          Either the woman must stay in the house or she must have the right to work!
                          Mek up yuh mine?!

---------------

...or you think you should decide...not the woman and her family...for the woman how much time she should spend working and how much in the home?

running for vice president is NOTHING like my job or my wife's job. she must decide for herself but she MUST understand is CONSERVATIVES shi trying to win over.

anyway...is years now i trying to keep my wife barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen...an' shi not having it!!!

running for vice president is NOTHING like my job or my wife's job. she must decide for herself but she MUST understand is CONSERVATIVES shi trying to win over.

anyway...is years now i trying to keep my wife barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen...an' shi not having it!!!
                              A wah duh yuh tideh?

I thought I was cruel.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.