<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>When other people set our agenda</SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Barbara Gloudon
Friday, October 27, 2006
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>NOW THAT WE are all Trafigura-ed out, let's see where we stand in the world today. Where to start? How about Sunshine Legislation, challenging our freedoms to fulfil not sporting but business interests or the Cayman Islands situation wherein a number of our fellow citizens will be relieved shortly of the opportunity to make a living there?<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=80 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Barbara Gloudon</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Their work permits will be revoked as the Cayman authorities move to "cleanse the stables" not only of our people, but nationals of other countries as well, it is said. On the cricket field, the so-called Sunset Legislation is telling us what and what we cannot do in our own country, for the duration of the matches played in the name of the World Cup Cricket. This is one more irritant which I for one really don't need.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I would like to believe that when our Caricom leaders happily agreed to host the 2007 World Cup in the region, they did not know all the petty, irritating restrictions which were to be imposed upon us. If they did and kept it from us, then they shouldn't be surprised if it reinforces distrust of all things political.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Who would've imagined stricture against lunch baskets taken into cricket grounds? What are the ICC and the WI Cricket Board afraid of - the smell of hot roti and patty? Ice tinkling in a glass of rum punch? We've also been warned that patriotic flags will not be permitted into the grounds. Now, how should we show our enthusiasm, please? All this cant about the possibilities of bringing down civilisation as we know it (my interpretation) with a small flagpole, is a load of old LBW.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Next thing we will hear that there will be ban on buxom West Indian beauties, baring their assets, according to current fashion.
And while they're at it, will there be marshals touring the stands to curtail singing and jump-up, deeming such actions as too spirited for the hallowed atmosphere of a cricket ground? A wha dis?<P class=StoryText align=justify>I really can't see how any of this could be taken seriously when international cricketers are gallivanting around the field in ensembles of shocking pink, flaming red, turgid turquoise and yowling yellow, like chorines in a Broadway musical. Get a life!
As to the strictures about lunch baskets, I want to see who is going to stop a 300-pound West Indian at the gate to confiscate the pans of rice and peas, fry chicken, roti, curry goat - all the good stuff which is at the very heart of our gastronomic well-being. Dem a joke fe true!<P class=StoryText align=justify>THE CAYMAN GOVERNMENT'S stated intention to send home Jamaicans, who, it is said, have run afoul of CI work permit regulations, is no laughing matter, however. News reports say that before the year is out, many of our people who have lived and worked in the Cayman Islands for up to seven years in some instances, will have to leave. If they're lucky, their status might be reviewed and they might, just might, get the chance to go back there to work again.<P class=StoryText align=justify>This is bad news for the dependents of people who maintained their families on remittances from the land where the CI dollar is stronger than the US'. This is further bad news for our already-burdened social well-being as more pressure will be put on an environment where jobs are woefully scarce. Already, t
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Barbara Gloudon
Friday, October 27, 2006
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>NOW THAT WE are all Trafigura-ed out, let's see where we stand in the world today. Where to start? How about Sunshine Legislation, challenging our freedoms to fulfil not sporting but business interests or the Cayman Islands situation wherein a number of our fellow citizens will be relieved shortly of the opportunity to make a living there?<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=80 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Barbara Gloudon</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Their work permits will be revoked as the Cayman authorities move to "cleanse the stables" not only of our people, but nationals of other countries as well, it is said. On the cricket field, the so-called Sunset Legislation is telling us what and what we cannot do in our own country, for the duration of the matches played in the name of the World Cup Cricket. This is one more irritant which I for one really don't need.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I would like to believe that when our Caricom leaders happily agreed to host the 2007 World Cup in the region, they did not know all the petty, irritating restrictions which were to be imposed upon us. If they did and kept it from us, then they shouldn't be surprised if it reinforces distrust of all things political.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Who would've imagined stricture against lunch baskets taken into cricket grounds? What are the ICC and the WI Cricket Board afraid of - the smell of hot roti and patty? Ice tinkling in a glass of rum punch? We've also been warned that patriotic flags will not be permitted into the grounds. Now, how should we show our enthusiasm, please? All this cant about the possibilities of bringing down civilisation as we know it (my interpretation) with a small flagpole, is a load of old LBW.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Next thing we will hear that there will be ban on buxom West Indian beauties, baring their assets, according to current fashion.
And while they're at it, will there be marshals touring the stands to curtail singing and jump-up, deeming such actions as too spirited for the hallowed atmosphere of a cricket ground? A wha dis?<P class=StoryText align=justify>I really can't see how any of this could be taken seriously when international cricketers are gallivanting around the field in ensembles of shocking pink, flaming red, turgid turquoise and yowling yellow, like chorines in a Broadway musical. Get a life!
As to the strictures about lunch baskets, I want to see who is going to stop a 300-pound West Indian at the gate to confiscate the pans of rice and peas, fry chicken, roti, curry goat - all the good stuff which is at the very heart of our gastronomic well-being. Dem a joke fe true!<P class=StoryText align=justify>THE CAYMAN GOVERNMENT'S stated intention to send home Jamaicans, who, it is said, have run afoul of CI work permit regulations, is no laughing matter, however. News reports say that before the year is out, many of our people who have lived and worked in the Cayman Islands for up to seven years in some instances, will have to leave. If they're lucky, their status might be reviewed and they might, just might, get the chance to go back there to work again.<P class=StoryText align=justify>This is bad news for the dependents of people who maintained their families on remittances from the land where the CI dollar is stronger than the US'. This is further bad news for our already-burdened social well-being as more pressure will be put on an environment where jobs are woefully scarce. Already, t