• I remember making a post similar to this on a Sunday three

years ago, almost to the day.

New Orleans is close to my heart, I have both friends and family there and have been there many times before and after Katrina. It has never been the same since Katrina but at least it still existed. I fear if the worst happens with Gustav it will no longer be a habitable city.

Even as I try to lend a helping hand to those who have been affected in Jamaica, I also hope that this storm does not leave New Orleans in ruins again.

years ago, almost to the day.

New Orleans is close to my heart, I have both friends and family there and have been there many times before and after Katrina. It has never been the same since Katrina but at least it still existed. I fear if the worst happens with Gustav it will no longer be a habitable city.

Even as I try to lend a helping hand to those who have been affected in Jamaica, I also hope that this storm does not leave New Orleans in ruins again.
    Disagree!
    If she is leveled - Aside: (...or levelled both are correct! - You tell me, is it any wonder why this language has so many of us as poor speller? Too many damn 'double ways right words' and words that convey the same meaning, e.g. 'tit-bit' and 'tid-bit' - Hi gamma! ...and use of word forgetaboutit e.g. advise and advice...) she shall rise bigger and better!

My high school geography told me that it was not wise to build in a river delta. The great city of Alexandria in Egypt, built on the edge of the Nile delta, has seen its fair share of problems because of that.

New Orleans might just be the right name for that city. It might be built anew every 5 years!

My high school geography told me that it was not wise to build in a river delta. The great city of Alexandria in Egypt, built on the edge of the Nile delta, has seen its fair share of problems because of that.

New Orleans might just be the right name for that city. It might be built anew every 5 years!
        New Orleans - Consider its geography...i.e. its strategic importance (to the US economy) - ...and the current technology...a leveling and one good rebuilding may be all it needs.

To have a chance at that some areas have to be relocated and returned to nature permanently, and I can tell you that some people will have to lose thier house 2 or 3 more times before they get the message that they should not live where they live. You can't even get them to raise thier house to rhatid.

I know humans are by nature creatures of habit but they really take it to the ridiculous level down there. One experience with spending a night on the roof of a house 90% under water would be more than enough for me.

The city itself is worth saving though. Its a one-of-a-kind place.

That's what I am considering, its geography, in a delta!

Houston is pretty close by and has a rahtid port, so not sure if we need New Orleans.

To have a chance at that some areas have to be relocated and returned to nature permanently, and I can tell you that some people will have to lose thier house 2 or 3 more times before they get the message that they should not live where they live. You can't even get them to raise thier house to rhatid.

I know humans are by nature creatures of habit but they really take it to the ridiculous level down there. One experience with spending a night on the roof of a house 90% under water would be more than enough for me.

The city itself is worth saving though. Its a one-of-a-kind place.
              Yuh seit!
              btw - Spoke with a brother of mine about 2 hours ago and he was on Route 10 in Louisiana (coming from Texas...heading towards Florida). Said all trafic he saw was...bumper to bumper going in the opposite direction (going West) and he was having a 'sailing along' in peaceful surroundings. He should be in Ft Preice, Florida by 2.00pm tomorrow.