• D-DAY - Walker to swing axe at customs cheats

D-DAY - Walker to swing axe at customs cheats
    published: Wednesday | August 27, 2008

Walker ... accuses citizens of being just as guilty as offending customs officials in perpetuating corruption. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer

What should be done to clean up corruption in the customs industry? E-mail recommendations to columns@gleanerjm.com.

Pullquote:

September 1 D-Day

September 1 will mark three months since I have been at the Customs Department. We have had two demonstrations so far, or maybe I should say I have had two demonstrations. There's never a dull moment at Customs. Someone once said, be careful what you pray for because you might just get it. Well, I got what I prayed for - a challenging job.

Because of the nature of our economy, our natural resource mix and probably our proximity to the United States, we import a great deal of all we consume and the inputs of the precious little we manufacture. This means that the Customs Department is a very important cog in our national wheel and, therefore, can cause great frustration or great support for the hopes and aspirations of those who depend on imports.

Walker must mek sure he has armed body guards 24-7.

Karl ... whats up with the latest move? Post the entire article nuh? Then put the link at the bottom in case someone nuh trust yuh! Suppose I don't want to be redirected to another site?

US Custom Officers are armed 24/7. Jamaican Custom Officers are Constables under the law and do have the power of arrest but they are not armed.

If we want serious enforcement then the officer must be able to carry a government firearm 24/7 and excercise his fulle rights as a police officer.

Copyright laws, Lazie. In fact, we advise that we all follow suit and refrain from posting whole articles from the Gleaner and the Newsletter on the forum.

Suh citing the source of the article is still an infringement?

that is no infringent.

If the source author and published date is there.

who dem a guh arrest? jaywalkers?

I believe they want traffic.

Post the URL in the article then. If one want to go there ... fine.

That's the trouble. IF one wants to go there. It's their article. It should not be a matter of IF. They have that right.

they have the right but we also have the right fi cut and paste and cite it.

They do the same thing.

no, we don't.

Have they advised you to ensure that the article posted here on the forum is linked to their site?

They have advised us to stop posting their articles on our site.