i know and i agree ... perhaps that is the point i should have made ..... it was a good speech
Time for the Obama campaign to move on.
gamma, i watched her speech last nite... i think it was the best speech she has ever given... if she had delivered a couple speeches like that during her campaign, the outcome of the democrat primary could have been different...
i agree with you that she could have been more direct with obama leadership capabilities...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
lol... i was about to ask you to define 'that'... i saw where you addressed it below... islandman, its us you are dealing with here... there should not be any apprehension on your part...
it comes down to race... those who are hiding behind this 'hillary' mask are racists... they don't believe any black should lead the country... that is plain as day... no pussyfooting here...they are still caught up in 'its a white country' and all the privilges, real or imagined that supposedly comes with their perception... they see it as the last bastion of leadership and are reluctant to surrender that position...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
sure its a sisterhood thing as well as a racist thing... the sisterhood thing is easier to let go because they will follow their leader and vote their interest... there is no hope of that happening to the racists... they will vote for color, despite the fact that its not in their best interest...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Gamma View Postvery good speech. she did what she had to do for the party...no favours for barack...
bill's speech is the one i am interested in....
Weh yuh cum fram, boss?
Question: iffen her kauls har han-serd a who a-guh get di vote dem...an a-guh tun Pre-si-dent a di good ole USA?
No favours for Barack?
A joke yuh a mek!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Gamma View Postmost of hilary's diehard supporters are women (and karl) and the support is more emotional than anything else....the policy issues are negligible. they bonded with hilary as a woman and that emotional attachment is not easy to let go of....
So BARACK OBAMA it is!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
look like yuh still wasn't certain until hillary and bill made it official over the last 3 days....
welcome aboard sah...wi mi stan up an' gi yuh a seat as mi elder, albeit a wayward elder....
Originally posted by Gamma View Postlook like yuh still wasn't certain until hillary and bill made it official over the last 3 days....
welcome aboard sah...wi mi stan up an' gi yuh a seat as mi elder, albeit a wayward elder...."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Islandman View PostMy guess is (not necessarily in that order) :
1) They loved Bill
2) She isn't Obama and all that comes with that
3) She had a good chance of winning
Karl, maybe you can help us with this?
Hillary would have won against McCain 'hands down'...it would not be close in the polls now....and if Obama had chosen her as his Veep, he would be leading by 'a mile' now!
...still...it is not impossible that by November...with Hillary and Bill 'flat out' on the trail...Obama pulls off a landslide.
I think the big stumbling block is just race. Nothing else but race!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."