Karl, you better look for a house fe Bolt in Miami..

We are talking about things on two different level.

Yes he need all the security he can and he also need an escape route, somewhere to go where he is not even recognised.

When I worked at Halfmoon Hotel a lot of guests came there under different names, real international stars to get away. Yes he is going to be mobbed everywhere he goes but it won't just because a people who only want a smalls from him but others too.

Security is a must and some a that night life have to be private parties from now on. I don't know if he has to run because people a beg a smalls. You still have some big super star still living in Ja.

supah stars like who...Ninja Man. Vybes Cartel., mavado...

Mi just a laff at di whole a unnu. Keep unnu yankee mentality to unnu self. How much time ah must tell unu dat?!? Mi nat even a say anymore.

He has all that, and they are not American!

Jamaicans nuh frighten fi nuhbody. Bolt can and will return to stadium east without a problem. Stop thinking like a yank! I keep telling unnu!
            Going to Stadium East will not be a problem for Bolt. We are used to having famous people in our midst...it is no big thing.

--- btw - The writer needs to remember that Bolt was already 'top-drawer', it was just 'the larger rest of the World' had not yet caught on!

No, Karl. According to our Forumites he will have to relocate to the USA where people don't recognize track stars. Yet they do because Bolt was all the talk at the barber shop yesterday.

Well, which is it, dammit?

No, Karl. According to our Forumites he will have to relocate to the USA where people don't recognize track stars. Yet they do because Bolt was all the talk at the barber shop yesterday.

Well, which is it, dammit?
                Have you forgotten that...what was it? Only yesterday?....that you had some persons talking nonsense about a Jamaican not being able to provide TOP OF THE WORLD management for "product Bolt" and Usian Bolt the person?

The irony is that nonsense was said even as we watched Bolt's management TEAM take him from an exciting prospect to TOP OF THE WORLD athlete!

I remember Herb McKenley and myself having a conversation on Sports Call (remember that RJR Sports Program)...and Herb saying, the following is not verbatim - that there was no way talent could be discovered and refined to become world beaters. I got the clear inference that 'Herb Mac', who I think had returned to JA not too long before, excluded himself. I responded to 'Herb Mac' with due deference as I pointed out that what he was saying was flying in the face of strides we were making in turning out 'coaches' from the teachers colleges.

Just think of it...the teachers - Ahem? Champs tells a part of the story. - in all disciplines pass on 'knowledge' (take this 'knowledge' as it relates to all disciplines, not just 'track' and or the academics)...and motivate their charges to move to heights greater than the teachers have achieved or in many cases even can hope to achieve. Each succeeding generation of teachers become better equiped to 'drive us forward'. The knowledge base improves. The methods of delivery by the teachers to their charges...constantly improve. We may from time to time, and discipline to discipline... have problems with what we see as acceptable pace of improvement...but onward and upward we move...FORWARD!

What man can do, man can do!
                ...and Jamaicans prove that each and every day. We need to stop the foolishness of self-hate. We need to accept us for what we are, a people for whom nothing is impossible! It is merely chosing the right person or persons among us for 'the right job-fit'.
                Last edited by Karl; August 25, 2008, 09:48 AM.

We need to stop the foolishness of self-hate.
                  For me, it's not self-hate. Jamaicans who talk like that are not really Jamaicans. They are just hayting. Tiyad a dem and, in the words of our PM, wish they would just tek whey demself.

Not so long ago Sade lived in Mobay. Wife of Errol Flynn still live in Portland, Raplh Lauren, Lennox Lewis, and Shaggy etc spend a lot of time at Round Hill outside Mobay. Johnny Cash upon death had a house in Montego Bay. Chris Blackwell of Island Records pretty much retire there.

You can't get nuh bigger than those.

Yeah Jamaicans not really in the hero worship business.

The thing I wonder about with Bolt though is the security because if you can always be found at a particular place all the time you are an easy target. I am sure there will be some changes there.

We have simply never had a star like this since Bob and it was a different country then, different world really. Even so Bob still got shot.

I saw a documentary where people used to gather at Bob Marley's gate in Kingston waiting to be fed. This became a daily thing. And Bob--out of the goodnness of his heart used to provide food for them.

To borrow your quote Islandman: "it was a different country then, different world really. Even so......"

Yuh don't have a clue. Lissen di PM and tek why yuhself.

Ooops! You did that already, several years ago. Mah baahd!

I was frankly disappointed in the PM with his choice of words...

Not very statesmanlike and dignified in my opinion.

Mostly JLIJ would relate and find it appropriate.

and that's all that matters.

Bolt probably will be more protected than the average Jakan even without a security detail.
                                As to money, Michael Lee Chin and a few others do not have the sort of headaches one would imagine.
                                Someone should explain to Bolt that, now more than ever, he has to toe the line, or his lucrative endorsements deals will crumble, just like Michael Vick's, that is the danger.

Blessed