Lazie, Bloomberg wants wind turbines in NYC...

• Lazie, Bloomberg wants wind turbines in NYC...

I hope he gets help from Denmark...
    Bloomberg wants to tap wind for power in NYC

Putting windmills on city bridges and rooftops is part of the ambitious plan

Giant wind turbines are powered by strong prevailing winds near Palm Springs, Calif. A government report released earlier this year concludes that wind energy could generate 20 percent of the electricity produced in the U.S. by 2030.

NEW YORK - New York's Mayor Michael Bloomberg has proposed putting windmills on city bridges and rooftops as part of an ambitious push for renewable energy.
    Bloomberg outlined his plan Tuesday night at a Las Vegas conference on alternative energy.
    "In New York, we don't think of alternative power as something that we just import from other parts of the nation," he said.
    Last edited by HL; August 20, 2008, 06:41 PM.

How can the rooftops and bridge supports withstand the added stress?

That's an engineering question Bruce.

But New York is almost as windy as Chicago.

Ever walked through those 'hi-rise'...it's like a wind tunnel

Better believe it...the cold air that blows between buildings in big cities mek yuh fingers numb during the winter.

Check this new building in Dubai.
        http://www.bahrainwtc.com/
        Last edited by Hortical; August 20, 2008, 08:52 PM.

I worked in the Red Cross building at 57th and Amsterdam for many years...

I can tell you some stories about the bitter fright cold wind walking down 57th. Sometime you have to walk backwards for some relief.

glad those days are over.

Mayor Bloomberg is a forward thinker!!!

Heard it on the news the other night. Bloomberg is a thinking man! Lets see how much support he will get.

Mosiah will tell you that this is America. That good forward thinking ideas get the necessary support!!