There comes a time people need to face

• There comes a time people need to face

the music. THE BEST Reggae Band out there is none other than the Heritage. To this day I'm ****************ed after spending mi money guh a sumfest last year they got treated like a freaking amateur band. Affi lift mi hat to the reggae writers, singer and musicians, they're still doing their thing. The problem is the Disc Jockeys on the radio and sound systems that somehow seems afraid to be different.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERrs5D7shAE

Its all about marketing and promotion and now with the internet in place these bands can tell their own stories without the disc jockies and radio stations who are so far gone into the pay for play that its not funny

Funny how everyone else seems to enjoy our real reggae bands except us and you are right Morgan Heritage do put on a show.

They just need the right story and presentation to cross them over to the American public as they already have the songs and the performance to go with it

BTW Lazie we rate American performers in Jamaica sometimes over our own as they can come to our shows, curse and act any what way and we low them but when its our own then its another story

Is Lazie yuh addressing?!? Him and HL don't tink anyting good can come from Jamaica.

Suh di above mentioned song come from where?

Affi lift mi hat to the reggae writers, singer and musicians, they're still doing their thing. The problem is the Disc Jockeys on the radio and sound systems that somehow seems afraid to be different.
          Is it my imagination, or is Lazie beginning to sound like Historian?! Could I be, by some chance dreaming?

(Pinches self)

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
            Its all about marketing and promotion and now with the internet in place these bands can tell their own stories without the disc jockies and radio stations who are so far gone into the pay for play that its not funny

Funny how everyone else seems to enjoy our real reggae bands except us and you are right Morgan Heritage do put on a show.

BTW Lazie we rate American performers in Jamaica sometimes over our own as they can come to our shows, curse and act any what way and we low them but when its our own then its another story
            Yes, it’s all about marketing and promotion, something Buju Banton seems to at last be learning with his video for “Driva”!! The packaging of the artist, an integral part of marketing and promotion, is extremely important, otherwise his/her success will be limited to fringe audiences such as Caribbean people living in the USA!

I’m always surprised to see this topic of “marketing and promotion” (something so many Jamaicans tend to use without apparently understanding the crucial meaning), especially when the immense success of people like Sean Paul and Shaggy is attributed to stupid theories about their “whitish, middle class looks”! Rubbish!! And I’ve seen nonsense argument presented on that semi-literate music forum, Reggaedancehall.com.

Nothing whatsoever is wrong with the dead-serious dreadlocked look, as Bob Marley, Burning Spear, Culture, Peter Tosh and many others showed us! However, what worked perfectly in the radical, struggle-for-freedom world of the 1970s is not necessarily going to work equally as well in the twenty-first century!

Have you seen the transformation that Jah Bami, the Trinidadian deejay/program host on the Caribbean music channel Tempo, has undergone? That was originally MTV “packaging” for you (during the days when MTV owned Tempo).

What I’m saying here is that promotion in AMERICA (not liberal Europe and certainly not Africa) works best when artists are made “media friendly”!! When artists can appeal to their listeners and viewers, not with a ferocious frown, but with a smile and articulation! That is a great part of marketing and promotion in today's music industry!

I completely agree with this statement, “Funny how everyone else seems to enjoy our real reggae bands except us and you are right Morgan Heritage do put on a show.” Excellent point!

You addressed the following to Lazie (“we rate American performers in Jamaica sometimes over our own as they can come to our shows, curse and act any what way and we low them but when its our own then its another story”) but I’ll add my two cents. In certain Caribbean countries where principles still play a role in society, artists, regardless of where they are from, are dealt with when they curse on stage! People like DMX found that out the hard way in the eastern Caribbean, and Super Cat was lucky in Trinidad!

The point is, the law is the law, and whatever rule stands for Jamaican artists should also stand for the foreign artist too!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              Is it my imagination, or is Lazie beginning to sound like Historian?! Could I be, by some chance dreaming?

(Pinches self)
              We keep it real Historian.

...moisah...still dandy shandy... ~~groan~~

Morgan's Heritage gets and sounds better everytime I hear them.

That's the beauty of (reggae) music that is 'orchestrated'. Some of it becomes classic. It transcends time in its listening appeal.

Let me hurriedly korreck: Morgan Heritage (no 's).... awa my subject verb agreement....

On second thought, i should just leave it be--so I can hook the two fries who constantly attach themselves to my post bait or no bait