California nonsense debunked

• California nonsense debunked

Maudib quote: California is a Global leader in Solar technology and policy.

They do not lag behind the 'leading Europeans'.

Clean up your argument.

Despite California's natural advantage of abundant sunshine and the presence of great technology and engineering... it trails Germany in solar energy.

Why?? Better and sustained commitment to alternative energy solutions... ie superior energy policy.

Maudib .. Facts are good... misinformed bluster... pathetic.

Suggest you get out more and open your eyes to the world beyond Silicon Valley.

Cloudy Germany a Powerhouse in Solar Energy

By Craig Whitlock
    Washington Post Foreign Service
    Saturday, May 5, 2007; Page A01
    ESPENHAIN, Germany -- When it opened here in 2004 on a reclaimed mining dump, the Geosol solar plant was the biggest of its kind in the world. It is so clean and green that it produces zero emissions and so easy to operate that it has only three regular workers: plant manager Hans-Joerg Koch and his two security guards, sheepdogs Pushkin and Adi.
    The plant is part of a building boom that has made gloomy-skied Germany the unlikely global leader in solar-generated electricity. Last year, about half of the world's solar electricity was produced in the country. Of the 20 biggest photovoltaic plants, 15 are in Germany, even though it has only half as many sunny days as countries such as Portugal.

Buy This Photo

Hans-Joerg Koch manages the Espenhain plant and its 33,500 solar panels. (By Craig Whitlock -- The Washington Post)

Special Report

The reason is not a breakthrough in the economics or technology of solar power but a law adopted in 2000. It requires the country's huge old-line utility companies to subsidize the solar upstarts by buying their electricity at marked-up rates that make it easy for the newcomers to turn a profit. Their cleanly created power enters the utilities' grids for sale to consumers.
    The law was part of a broader measure adopted by the German government to boost production of renewable energy sources, including wind power and biofuels. As the world's sixth-biggest producer of carbon-dioxide emissions, Germany is trying to slash its output of greenhouse gases and wants renewable sources to supply a quarter of its energy needs by 2020.
    Since the Geosol plant was built, it has been eclipsed in size by six other German solar plants, including the new world's-largest, the Solarpark Gut Erlasee in Bavaria, which has more than double the capacity. Last month, construction began on yet another monster solar plant on an old military base in Brandis, about 12 miles north of Espenhain. Once completed, it will generate 40 megawatts, or enough to power about 10,000 homes.
    German officials readily acknowledged that they are embracing solar technology not just for its environmental benefits. German firms that manufacture photovoltaic panels and other components have prospered under the new energy act and now employ 40,000 people. An additional 15,000 people work for companies in the solar-thermal business, which make heating systems for homes and businesses.
    Matthias Machnik, an undersecretary for the German ministry of the environment, said the country can't hope to compete in the long term with perpetually sunny ones in generating solar power. But it hopes to expand its exports of solar technology and become the leader in that field as well.
    "Unless climate change accelerates, we only have a certain amount of available hours of sunshine," Machnik said in an interview. "For us, of course we will use solar power, but it is more important to secure the know-how for research and development."
    Last year, German exports accounted for 15 percent of worldwide sales of solar panels and other photovoltaic equipment, according to industry officials. German companies hope to double their share of the global market, which amounted to $9.5 billion last year and is growing by about 20 percent annually, said Carsten Koernig, managing director of the German Solar Industry Association, a trade and lobbying group.
    "It's been very important to create the necessary market in Germany," Koernig said. "We not only want to master the German market, but to conquer the world market as well."
    For now, the technology remains expensive and barely registers as a fraction of total energy production -- less than 0.5 percent. The government hopes to increase that figure to 3 percent by 2020.
    Industry supporters, however, say there are other factors that favor solar production in the long term.

more http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn...050402466.html
    Last edited by Don1; August 12, 2008, 04:04 PM.

Maybe it is your poor use of the English Language:

Lag

To fail to keep up a pace; straggle
    To proceed or develop with comparative slowness

"According to a solar overview from JP Morgan, the U.S. market will reach 1.6 gigawatts in 2011, compared with a market of 1.35 gigawatts in Germany in 2012. The research firm also expects Greece, South Korea and Italy to grow quickly"

"According to the chart, which Calisolar CEO Roy Johnson included in a presentation at Intersolar this week, South Korea will be the third-largest market at 957 megawatts. And even separated out from its country, California alone could be counted as the fourth-largest market, as it is expected to reach 920 megawatts.

It’s got roughly half the population of Germany
    "

"The US too had a banner year, you may recall. EPI sums it up:

For the third year running, the US led the world with new wind power installations.
    In the fourth quarter of 2007 alone, the US figures exceeded those for all of 2006.
    The US is now on track to overtake Germany, the world’s long-time leader in installed wind power capacity, by the end of 2009."

I am having a bit of trouble reconciling lagging while you gain on someone in front of you.. maybe you can explain.

Maybe it is your poor use of the English Language:

Lag

To fail to keep up a pace; straggle
      To proceed or develop with comparative slowness

"According to a solar overview from JP Morgan, the U.S. market will reach 1.6 gigawatts in 2011, compared with a market of 1.35 gigawatts in Germany in 2012. The research firm also expects Greece, South Korea and Italy to grow quickly"

"According to the chart, which Calisolar CEO Roy Johnson included in a presentation at Intersolar this week, South Korea will be the third-largest market at 957 megawatts. And even separated out from its country, California alone could be counted as the fourth-largest market, as it is expected to reach 920 megawatts.

It’s got roughly half the population of Germany"

"The US too had a banner year, you may recall. EPI sums it up:

For the third year running, the US led the world with new wind power installations.
      In the fourth quarter of 2007 alone, the US figures exceeded those for all of 2006.
      The US is now on track to overtake Germany, the world’s long-time leader in installed wind power capacity, by the end of 2009."

I am having a bit of trouble reconciling lagging while you gain on someone in front of you.. maybe you can explain.

You are really pathetic.... grasping at non-existent straws to try to prove the nonsense you spout. Very Clintonian of you!!

You present data that shows US output in solar and wind power trails Germany currently... then spin that to mean the US is NOT lagging

this is 2003 data for rough comparisons of economies
      Rank Country PPP total PPP/capita Population ($ billions) ($) (million) European Union 10,84028,600 379 1. USA 10,400 37,600 290 2. China (mainland) 5,700 4,400 1,287 3. Japan 3,550 28,000 127 4. India 2,660 2,540 1,049 5. Germany 2,180 26,600 82 6. France 1,540 25,700 60 7. Britain 1,520 25,300 60 8. Italy 1,440 25,000 57 9. Russia 1,350 9,300 144 10. Brazil 1,340 7,600 182

The US has 3.5X the population of Germany... and Germany produces far MORE solar energy currently.... that means ..THE US IS LAGGING, FAILING TO KEEP UP THE PACE, STRAGGLING
      Germany currently produces about half of the solar energy in THE ENTIRE WORLD.... get real fella.

Your data projects that by 2011 the US will produce more solar energy than Germany... even then the US will be behind on a per capita basis! They are lagging now and in the forseeable future but are starting to wake up to the reality of being behind.

The same analysis goes for the wind energy market.... with its much larger economy and population.. THE US is LAGGING Germany did this guy Maudib ever study economics? does he know how to compare economies or markets? my God this is pathetic!!

Nice try..

You missed the part where California has 1/2 the population of Germany.. do the math..

Everywhere yuh tun.. macka juk yuh !

LOL !!

Wind to blow yuh wheh..

"Texas is already the largest producer of wind power, with 5,300 installed megawatts — more than double the installed capacity of California, the next closest state. And Texas is fast expanding its capacity.

“This project will almost put Texas ahead of Germany in installed wind,” said Greg Wortham, executive director of the West Texas Wind Energy Consortium."

Texas is 1/4 the population of Germany...

Lagging...

LOL !! WHOEEE !!
        Last edited by Muadib; August 12, 2008, 06:36 PM.

Nice try..

You missed the part where California has 1/2 the population of Germany.. do the math..

Everywhere yuh tun.. macka juk yuh !

LOL !!

my God you really are thick! In 3-4 years California will rival Germany on a per capita basis for solar production?

What about TODAY.. are they ahead, on par or lagging?

Answer.. behind AKA lagging.

That's pretty basic but you have difficulty with facts.

We are dealing with TODAY not projections into the uncertain future. get real and admit that you are on the wrong track... it's really no shame.

LOL !!!

Your poor grasp of the english language is your biggest downfall.

Behind <> Lagging

I have you trying to equate the word "lag" with the word "behind"

You poor fellow.

LOL !!!

Your poor grasp of the english language is your biggest downfall.

Behind <> Lagging

I have you trying to equate the word "lag" with the word "behind"

You poor fellow.

So one can lag and not be behind? One can lag and be on par or even.. gasp... ahead?

funny stuff.. give me more.. please!

Hmmm.. this is fascinating.

Based on the definition of the word, once can certainly be ahead and lag.

Lag
                To proceed or develop with comparative slowness;
                To cause to hang back or fall behind;

That is how one can fall behind from a position of being in front.. by lagging.

Are you retarded ?

This is hilarious.. take a breather and think very carefully.. you are clearly lost.

aaahhh bwoy

[COLOR=darkred]
                  Originally posted by Maudib;[/COLOR
                  Based on the definition of the word, once can certainly be ahead and lag.

Lag
                  To proceed or develop with comparative slowness;
                  To cause to hang back or fall behind;

So I guess Germany is developing with "comparative slowness" since it produces half the world's solar energy.

Germany is "hanging back" and "falling behind" the US when with less than a third of the US population it outproduces the US not just in absolute terms in solar and wind power but on a per capita basis its production is multiples of the US.

That is how one can fall behind from a position of being in front.. by lagging.

The discussion of who is leading the world does not revolve around future prospects and plans which in this business is a very uncertain exercise.

It is not about what may obtain in 2012 or 2022.. it is about NOW... and Germany by any measure.. absolute production or per capita output of both solar and wind energy is clearly ahead... ie the US lags Germany... period.

Are you retarded ?

I am not but I have serious doubts about you. Did you have a lobotomy recently? Some blunt trauma to your cranium? Perhaps some psychological affliction.. Californimania??

This is hilarious.. take a breather and think very carefully.. you are clearly lost.

I would certainly be lost in trying to make sense of your renewable garbage.
                  You turn energy to waste more efficiently than anyone I have come across.

Anyway, my quota for for tolerating jackasses is exhausted ... I'll leave you to inflict your stream of effluent on some other thread.

ef eida one a unnuh laugh and roll one more time...mi a guh call the menatlhelath board 'pon unnuh!!!

one man should NOT laugh and roll suh much in one thread.......

ef eida one a unnuh laugh and roll one more time...mi a guh call the menatlhelath board 'pon unnuh!!!

one man should NOT laugh and roll suh much in one thread.......

er.. sorry.. but couldn't help it.

that does it!!!! whey mi did put dat numba deh fi bellevue again ......

Yes.. well unfortunately for you there are experts that are able to analyze activities occuring in different regions of the World in the area of Renewable Energy. Based on this analysis, which includes policy change, investments and implementations they are able to make predictions on who will be the leaders in certain areas. They are also able to determine who is 'lagging'.

China and the USA are not going to 'lag' passed Germany.. you just have to trust me on that one. Their CURRENT superior rate of deployment and investments is what is used to determine shift in Global profile..

The moral of the story is when you are engaging in discussion in areas not familiar to you, be very careful about your terminology.. even though it may suit your stance, there is no point when it is easily debunked.

I am as always glad to be of service.

given the dubious profile of Don1, I think that emoticon is quite appropriate.

It should be referred to as the 'Madman Roll'

Yes.. well unfortunately for you there are experts that are able to analyze activities occuring in different regions of the World in the area of Renewable Energy. Based on this analysis, which includes policy change, investments and implementations they are able to make predictions on who will be the leaders in certain areas. They are also able to determine who is 'lagging'.

China and the USA are not going to 'lag' passed Germany.. you just have to trust me on that one. Their CURRENT superior rate of deployment and investments is what is used to determine shift in Global profile..

The moral of the story is when you are engaging in discussion in areas not familiar to you, be very careful about your terminology.. even though it may suit your stance, there is no point when it is easily debunked.

I am as always glad to be of service.
                              Now China is a global leader in alternative energy?? LOL!!!

China and the USA... lagging past Germany!! You have placed the US in good company... the world's two biggest polluters.

that's rich.

try reading my original posted article again.. you probably won't understand it.. but try.