Sass, here comes another one

• Sass, here comes another one

Indian, that is; right out of your neck of the woods. Nice story highly, and as a Farmah I just had to appreciate the industriousness of one so young. Mi did tink dem seh young people nuh like farming!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/html/20080809t230000-0500_138880_obs_reaping_the_fruits_of_hard_work_.a sp
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Reaping the fruits of hard work
    2008 Young Champion Farmer shares his love for his professionBY TYRONE S REID Sunday Observer staff reporter reidt@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, August 10, 2008

VIJAY Smith never intended to pursue a full-time career in agriculture. But he always knew he was destined to enter a 'field' where he would work on his own terms.
    That's why, upon completing studies at St Mary High School in 1997, when he saw an opportunity to get into the agricultural sector part-time by joining his stepfather's animal-rearing business, he jumped at it.
    2008 Young Champion Farmer Vijay Smith and his nine-year-old son Vijay Jr pose with some of his trophies and plaques won over the years.
    "[My stepfather] used to raise cows and goats, so after leaving school, I just decided I would join him in that kind of work for a while. I never saw myself going to college and then leaving to go and work for people. That's not me," said Smith, who looks more like a no-nonsense businessman than a field-ploughing farmer.
    A few years later when the animal-rearing endeavour failed, Smith decided to strike out on his own. With the help and good wishes of his family, he entered the world of ground provisions - planting papayas, pumpkin and pepper to earn a living. It's been more than 10 years since that leap of faith, and today Smith is 'reaping' the benefits of hard work and dedication.
    Not only was he named the 2008 Young Champion Farmer for St Mary (a prize he has been awarded five times in the past), at the Denbigh Agricultural and Industrial Show in Clarendon last weekend, Smith topped the competition to emerge the 2008 All-Island Young Champion Farmer, an award he has also won on previous occasions for his superb 70-acre farm in Agualta Vale, St Mary (leased from Jamaica Producers Limited). Among his other awards are several plaques from the Jamaica Agricultural Society (JAS) and other agriculture-based organisations.
    The 31-year-old Smith will readily tell you that he still faces numerous hurdles, but in times like these he makes time to reflect on his journey and bask in the glow of his success, paired with the never-ending struggles that almost all Jamaican farmers encounter year-round.
    "To tell you the truth, I never planned to be in agriculture this long, but growing up, it was a way for me to stay out of trouble, and back then, there was not a lot of competition," he said. "For me, it was a 'like' back then; now it's definitely a 'love'. I have so much invested in this farm that even if I wanted to, I couldn't just decide to get up and leave it."
    Farm employee Desmond takes a bag of peppers to a truck for delivery later in the day. (Photos: Lionel Rookwood)
    Smith's farm, which employs nearly 20 farm-hands (the majority from Highgate in the parish) boasts splendidly organised and well-kept rows and columns of pumpkins, colourful peppers in full bloom and sky-reaching papaya trees. The farm, which lies close to the Wag Water River basin, also benefits from drip irrigation and plastic mulching.
    "Right now, we sell and deliver peppers to the Walkerswood factory and other processors. And we also sell to local vendors to travel to various markets," Smith told the Sunday Observer.
    On reflection, the young farmer cites the extensive multi-million-dollar damage to his crops in his past years and ever-increasing fertiliser prices as factors that made him consider giving up in the past.
    "Last year in particular, the extensive damage this farm experienced during the hurricane season cost me a whole lot of money. So I used to think that I would come out of it, but I think I am getting back braver now. There are a lot of problems facing farmers in St Mary, but I am grateful that praedial larceny is not a major issue for me," said Smith, who receives never-ending support and encouragement from his parents, owners of a thriving business elsewhere in the parish.
    "What most of us farmers have to deal with, though, are the exorbitant prices of fertiliser and other chemicals to properly care for the crops," he said. "What is happening is that the prices of the fertilisers are going up while the price of the produce stays the same. There is no balance. And the salaries for my workers keep going up too," he added, pointing out that to provide fertiliser for five acres of papaya costs him upwards of $300,000.
    But Smith said he refuses to lose hope and looks forward to more successful years in the industry. In fact, he is getting ready to plant some sorrel, one of the crops he and his workers want to test on the farm.
    "It can be really rough in this industry, and with all the changes taking place and the annual hurricane season, it seems we will always have major setbacks and have to go back to the drawing board," said Smith, now a father of two. "But I have to just keep strong. Right now I'm also planning to plant back some 20 acres of papaya, expand on the pepper fields and find some more markets."
    He endorsed the recent calls made by Governor-General Sir Kenneth Hall and Agriculture Minister Chris Tufton for more young Jamaicans to enter farming as the country continues to grapple with the challenge of food security.
    "There might be young people out there who want to enter the industry but they are not getting the support and encouragement they need," said Smith. "A whole heap more needs to be done by the Government to recruit the youngsters and make the sector better for hard-working farmers. I consider myself successful, but I think I deserve some assistance too. But the help of my parents put me where I am today, so I hope to continue. Maybe one day I will be satisfied."
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Yeah man good to see.

Since them Close Grays Inn inna the early 80s most of the land have been still lay vacant. Banana Company have a piece but nuff land still left, some of it is been captured.

We need more youth like this a St.Mary who can lead development and growth.