Former Finance Minister supports Portia

• Former Finance Minister supports Portia

Former Finance Minister Dr. Omar Davies threw his support behind People's National Party President Portia Simpson Miller on Sunday night for the upcoming presidential election.

Mrs. Simpson Miller is being challenged by Vice President Dr. Peter Phillips in the poll set for September.

Speaking at the PNP's South West Clarendon Constituency Conference in Four Paths Dr. Davies poured scorn on criticisms from some quarters that Mrs. Simpson Miller was unschooled in some aspects of governance.

"Nobody can handle everything in a government...Bruce Golding's downfall is going to come about because if you ask him about water, if you ask him about road he is the expert, if you ask him about sugar, he is the expert. There is no one who can handle everything," said Dr. Davies.

Dr. Davies also insisted that Mrs. Simpson Miller was in touch with the issues that affect most people.

"My problem is, and this is the reason she not only beat me but all other contenders, is that she is sensitive about the real issues affecting people. My problem is that I have to see the numbers first and in November when I saw the numbers I called her and said ‘Sister P, you're right the price increases are affecting people," he continued.

Meanwhile in addressing the crowd Mrs. Simpson Miller appealed to her supporters not to engage in mud slinging.

She begged her supporters not to do anything that will damage the 70 year old party.

Meanwhile Former President of the PNP-YO and Opposition Senator, Basil Waite, has also thrown his support behind Mrs. Simpson Miller.

Mr. Waite says he will be taking a leave of absence from his duties at the Secretariat of the PNP to avoid any perceptions of a conflict of interest.

Speaking at Sunday night's South West Clarendon Constituency Conference in Four Paths, the former PNPYO president also bemoaned the party's inability to obtain adequate financing during last year's General Election Campaign.

He questioned the renewed vigour in financing since the start of the presidential campaign.

"A few weeks ago there was a news story about the PNP and a bounced cheque, so how can they find all of these millions to be running a campaign where were those millions when the PNP needed it? When I check the facts I can say in my mind there is no doubt that there is some other reason why they would want to remove the Comrade Leader," said Mr. Waite.

She endorsed the economic plans of Dr. Davies, I guess after this he can do no wrong in her eyes.
    What should be of importance to Portia is why she lost the election, I believe it has to do with not making the changes that would suggest a fresh start.
    AS to the section of the article you highlighted, the PM being the one with a crime plan as opposed to HIS commissioner comes to mind.

Blessed

"And the blind shall lead the blind...and both will fall in a pit".

I may offend some; (and i'll start by saying I am not an expert on Jamaican politics)--but Omar Davis is not good at finance...

AS to the section of the article you highlighted, the PM being the one with a crime plan as opposed to HIS commissioner comes to mind.

Blessed
        Are you for real Rockman? The measures announced by the PM can be taken by the commish just suh?

Well those measures by the PM obviously can't be taken just suh, or it would have been implemented.The very same efforts(The PM's) would have been needed if it(the crime plan) was initiated by the Commissioner.
          It probably would've helped if the PM was seen as supporting the crime(fighting)strategy of his commissioner..,ergo increasing the chances of it being implemented.
          Perhaps a common ground, Bruce plan isn't the "typical" one, there is no getting around the constitutional issues, arrogating that right?

Blessed

Well those measures by the PM obviously can't be taken just suh, or it would have been implemented.The very same efforts(The PM's) would have been needed if it(the crime plan) was initiated by the Commissioner.
            It probably would've helped if the PM was seen as supporting the crime(fighting)strategy of his commissioner..,ergo increasing the chances of it being implemented.
            Perhaps a common ground, Bruce plan isn't the "typical" one, there is no getting around the constitutional issues, arrogating that right?

Blessed
            Again .. Rockman ..are you for real? Suh yuh get the impression the PM isn't seen as supporting the commissioner's strategy? Please ... explain. Mek mi get a drink.

Portia is the Expert on Poor People.. she has had a lot of experience in it 'managing' her constituency...

This is surreal.. keep the people poor and ignorant and anything is possible..

No drinking, impairing an already impaired judgment? ).
                I would've have had a more favourable view towards Bruce if the situation was one in which he was backing his commissioner(the despotic plans by his commissioner) as opposed to being the creator of those despotic plans.

Blessed

One could argue that what the PM did was policy changes and not strategy. The Commish is in charge of strategy and the PM policies.

I am sure you don't want the PM to interfere with police work although it was a norm in the past. The good thing is the PSC hire the police chief not on a political basis.

No drinking, impairing an already impaired judgment? ).
                    I would've have had a more favourable view towards Bruce if the situation was one in which he was backing his commissioner(the despotic plans by his commissioner) as opposed to being the creator of those despotic plans.

Blessed
                    .. and you come to the conclusion the PM isn't backing the commish based on what? We can address the "despotic" claims after yuh can clear the air. We all know that knocking the PM mek one popular wid the nuts on the forum ... but yuh need fi keep it real.

Strategy is really swallowed by policy; it is a part of the whole.
                      It is still a constitutional issue, and as such, renders Ja without a viable crime fighting stategy.

Blessed

Rocky that is your defination, not everybody's.

"We all know that knocking the PM mek one popular wid the nuts on the forum ... but yuh need fi keep it real."
                          Doan duh dat again, or I will be forced to revise my opinion of you.Facts only!

The so-called important question that asked is really irrelevant, yuh even alluded to it being one only the PM could do.

Blessed

Of what assasin?

Blessed

"We all know that knocking the PM mek one popular wid the nuts on the forum ... but yuh need fi keep it real."
                              Doan duh dat again, or I will be forced to revise my opinion of you.Facts only!

The so-called important question that asked is really irrelevant, yuh even alluded to it being one only the PM could do.

Blessed

... but yuh playing dandy shandy. Mi a ask yuh how yuh conclude the PM isn't supporting the commish's strategy and yuh move from side to side. Answer the question nuh?