• Jamaica missing out on gay billions, says J'can scholar

Tuesday, August 05, 2008

Jamaica is losing billions of dollars by ignoring the lucrative gay tourism market, said United Kingdom-based Jamaican scholar, Dr Donna Chambers, sister of dub poet, Mutabaruka.

Tourism stakeholders, the lecturer declared, must determine if they could continue to ignore this market estimated at US$65 billion, or five per cent of the annual US$1.3 trillion global tourism market.

"Can Jamaica afford not to market itself to lucrative gay travel in an increasingly competitive global tourism market?" Chambers, a lecturer in Tourism at the University of Surrey, asked in a speech at the 2008 ACS Crossroads seminar last week at the University of the West Indies, Mona.

She said that Jamaica could earn a sizeable percentage of the market based on its comparative advantage in tourism. But she cautioned that first a "sanctioned gay space", must be established, otherwise "it cannot happen".

Two years ago, a transsexual porn star berated a risque hotel chain for cancelling its planned party in Jamaica.

"I thought it would be great, unique, and something that would be profitable (since it has never been done before)," the porn star blogged on an online forum. "It really makes me angry, but it's their loss. ENTIRELY."

Chambers noted that gay travel brochures warned about the risk of visiting countries such as Jamaica and claimed that this "anti-gay perception was not confined to homosexuals but fed into heterosexual minds as well".

"And that image will impact not only on the gays attracted but on the straight visitors attracted, particularly as the gay lobby comes down more and more powerfully," she charged.

Chambers further asked: "To what extent can Jamaica say it embraces global tourism and at the same time exclude an important and lucrative niche market? [Also] can the economic imperative precipitate cultural change?"

Will Mutabaruka comment?
    Why the focus isn't on weed but on prostitution, gambling and homo..?
    Blessed

These wackos are wacked in the head they dont have a clue, Lazie why are you promoting a Homo agenda ?

Ben used to be carrying the flag HIGH & HARD , but boss yuh a challenge de man inna im territority.

The question is if we court the Gays billions how much billions in the heterosexaul market do we loose?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

These wackos are wacked in the head they dont have a clue, Lazie why are you promoting a Homo agenda ?

Ben used to be carrying the flag HIGH & HARD , but boss yuh a challenge de man inna im territority.

The question is if we court the Gays billions how much billions in the heterosexaul market do we loose?
        If I post an article about Liverfool ... does that mean I'm promoting their agenda?

Your post is entirely devoid of Critical Thought...

Astounding level of ignorance.. fear is the mind killer...

if we court the gays billions how much billions in the heterosexaul market do we loose?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

TDowl

if we court the gays billions how much billions in the heterosexaul market do we loose?
              Test Testing

Why would courting gays translate to losing heterosexual market ???

Why would courting homosexuals translate to increased billions ?

I can act the idiot too ?

Well, we can examine the experience in places that have a "relaxed" attitude to gay tourism: This is purely anecdotal on my part but Toronto just had a parade with over 1 million people on the streets; it is also home to a big gay pride parade annually..I don't think that affected the decision of the hundreds of thousands of visitors to go there...
                    New Orleans carnival is pretty "relaxed" where gay paraders are concerned... I don't know that they are adversely affected.

Now I don't know the answers but concluding that being receptive to "gay tourism" will negatively impact heterosexual tourism is pretty much conjecture.

Why would courting homosexuals translate to increased billions ?

I can act the idiot too ?
                      ..ACT??!!!

You are talking states or enviroments with a liberal culture, how about the biblegate any gay parades there ?

Or any african or middle eastern country any there ? how many billions would it put there ? or how many would it loose ?

We speak as if a reaction wouldnt occur ? positive or negative cash flow must be looked at based on both sexual groups , can they co exist and in what kind of enviroment?

The liberal cities of course , the conservative one ? We need to be realistic with Jamaica , we do have conservatives living there too you know .

I have the same reaction to much of your posts , but like you i keep it to myself.

So you're saying that tourists coming to Jamaica are conservative only? you seem to be mixing up the attitude of the Jamaican majority (and I don't even know that that is in fact their attitude) and that of visitors to the island.

Low him PR .. him need fi visit one of the Hedonism resorts.