• St Ann is the poorest parish - Portland, St Thomas trail

published: Sunday | August 3, 2008

Gareth Manning, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Cummings

DESPITE CASHING in on tourism dollars from its Ocho Rios resort hub, St Ann appears steeped in poverty, ranked as the poorest parish based on the consumption trend of its population.
    According to the Planning Institute of Jamaica's (PIOJ) recently launched Jamaica poverty map, about 14 of the island's poorest communities are in the garden parish. The map is based on the 2001 population census which captures, among other data, people's ability to consume goods and services.

Portland, another parish with a significant number of resort enterprises, places second after St Ann on the poverty map, followed closely by St Thomas, St James and Trelawny. St James is home to the island's Second City, Montego Bay, which is considered the tourism Mecca of Jamaica.

Uneven distribution
    Economist Errol Gregory argues that the results of the poverty survey could be indicating there is an uneven distribution of the earnings from the tourism sector throughout the parishes. He reasons that the growth in the all-inclusive hotel business might be impinging on the distribution of economic benefits, as visitors are not encouraged to leave the hotels. As a result, local businesses do not benefit as they should from the industry.
    Over the years, some craft vendors in resort towns have protested against the meagre share of the visitor market they receive, claiming this is partly due to competition from the all-inclusive resorts.

Gregory adds that tourism as a main business may have helped to urbanise St Ann and St James and improve the access to water and other amenities, but the income workers earn might be affecting their consumption habits. At the lower end of the labour force in the tourist industry, he explains, income is generally low, with many workers depending on gratuities to shore up their wages.

Weak linkages
    Reasoning on similar grounds as Gregory, Kim-Marie Spence of the University of the West Indies-based Caribbean Policy and Research Institute (CaPRI) points to weak linkages between tourism and other industries.

"Yes, people are investing, but the informality of a significant portion of the economy doesn't allow the investment, particularly in tourism, to create the local linkages that it could," she tells The Sunday Gleaner.
    "People are informal (business operators), so they can't consistently deliver the kind of quality in the kinds of quantities that these guys (investors) want," she adds, hence unemployment and marginal employment are issues in these areas.

Mayor not convinced
    Mayor of St Ann's Bay Ivan Anderson is not convinced, though, that his parishioners are among the island's poorest. He says that while unemployment was high a few years ago, jobs are now being driven by new investments in the parish under the ongoing tourism-expansion project on the north coast.

"I don't see it. I can't say that people's consumption is dropping because there is so much happening. Employment has increased," he states, although he was unable to give estimates on the rate of unemployment in the parish.

Joe Hylton, president of Hospitality and Technology Professionals, says while he has no idea why St James or St Ann would show up such low consumption trends in the PIOJ survey, he believes all-inclusive hotels are blocking the economic distribution line. He reasons that some restaurants are not earning as much as they could because of the competition posed by the all-inclusive hotels.

"For the majority of the all-inclusive guests, they are going to make sure that they have their three meals per day," he says. "The restaurants have seen better days in the '80s and '70s.

Impact of resorts
    President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, Wayne Cummings, says while it is true that all-inclusive hotels have eaten into the income of some businesses, especially restaurants, this must be viewed in the context of the total economic impact of the resorts on the island's resort industry.

"Your average rate per room is far greater in the all-inclusive; it employs more persons of ratio to room ... So, you would have better occupancies and hopefully, better income," he reasons.
    He adds that the number of things bought from the local industry to be utilised at the all-inclusive properties also helps to distribute the benefits.

Tourism performance '07
    Tourism earned US$1.9 billion.
    Hospitality enterprises contributed 7.2 per cent to GDP.
    Total visitor arrivals contracted by 4.5 per cent.
    Cruise-passenger arrivals fell by 11.8 per cent.
    gareth.manning@gleanerjm.com

Wow!!! I would never have believed that the North coast parishes would fall into this category. St Ann, Portland and St James -the tourist mecca- would seemingly share the spoils of all the money earned from goods & services in the island's tourist industry.

Maybe, as it was alluded to, the disparate distribution of the tourist dollar is due to the type of hotels - all-inclusive - which negates the visitors' needs to walk the streets and purchase wares etc. But this too is as a result of the way we treat our visitors: we tend to be aggressive, coercing them at times to buy things. To boot, crime & violence on our streets also force the tourists to stay inside the confines of the all-inclusive properties.

My wife just returned from a 14-day trip to Europe where she visited Italy, Greece and Turkey. She (along with her aunt and cousin) was able to walk the thoroughfares and shop at leisure without being forced, pulled or pushed. Compare that with a 7-day trip they had last July on the North coast (St Ann & Trelawny to be exact), and their experience was frightening to say the least.

St Thomas is another story. Without looking at the statistics, I would have guessed that this was the poorest parish in Jamaica, followed by St Mary and Clarendon. But the figures don't lie, do they!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I don't care what this say St.Mary and Portland is much poorer than St.Ann. Just drive from Port Maria to Hope Bay pon the north coast and you stop a few places and you can see for yourself. The only reason why them nuh poorer is because they are within driving distance of Kingston and many people make that move or go to Ochi.

St. Thomas is also in the mix too. St.James and St.Ann can't be the poorest and amongst the richest at the same time. More effort have to be made to resdistribute the wealth at the same time.

Expenditure that is been count, Did they figure self reliance in it? If a man plant a banana tree or get it from their neigbour, how is that counted? If someone save their money as oppose to spending it how is that measured?

Is remmittance count in this? This is very unreliable as there is no gurantee it will be flowing next month.

Serious talk that Sass. I think they have to come up with better ways of measuring the poverty index. I just can't see St Ann at the top, nor can I see St James at # 4.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
          Wow!!! I would never have believed that the North coast parishes would fall into this category. St Ann, Portland and St James -the tourist mecca- would seemingly share the spoils of all the money earned from goods & services in the island's tourist industry.
          i am surprised you find it difficult to believe after all the discussions we've had on the impact of all-inclusives on local economies over the years... i am not surprised...

But this too is as a result of the way we treat our visitors: we tend to be aggressive, coercing them at times to buy things. To boot, crime & violence on our streets also force the tourists to stay inside the confines of the all-inclusive properties.
          dont fall into the trap of blaming the victims... the vendors have become aggresive because there are too many of them depending on a diminished market available to them...

a couple months ago i was in ocho rios... i watched five ships over a three day period dock at rooms / jamaica grand hotel... it was ridiculous, the amount of tourist that actually made it off the beach and ventured into the city...

when i went into the craft and souvenir market, the vendors were very DESPERATE for business... an occasional tourist might stop in and it was like sharks feeding on a kill... although the vendors were courteous, each one made it difficult for any shopper to leave... it was painful... all signs of desperation...

St. Ann is big folks. Is not Ochi alone in St. Ann.

No Baddaz, I'm serious that it's shocking to me about St Ann. I missed the discussions on the forum re St Ann, as these were probably times when chores did not permit me to visit with my usuaul regularity. Yet, when one looks at St Mary, St Thomas & Clarendon ...especially St Thomas with an absence of tourist dollars.. it's hard to believe that St Ann falls below these three parishes on the poverty index.

It is not just Ochie that is big in Tourism. From Discovery Bay to the St.Mary border is big plus you have bauxite as a foriegn export earner. Up inna the hills of Brown Town is a big farming community as well . I just can't see it. I live in Runaway Bay for a year and a half and I don't see that poverity as in other areas.

I would want them to check the unemployment rate in places like Annotto Bay and Port Maria and then talk to me about these findings.

La Vegas should be in Shambles.. 24 Hour Hotels and Casinos AND Shows.. all designed to keep you inside the hotels.

I don't know why you jokers keep pushing the same garbage.

All-Inclusives CANNOT weaken the economy of St. Ann or Mobay. The All-inclusive success is a sympton of a problem.. they are NOT the problem.

The question you must ask is WHY are All-Inclusives thriving and OTHER forms of accomodation and entertainment NOT..

Unnuh evah tek a walk on the streets of Mobay and Ochi ?