Lights out on gay party
Men dressed as fairies, some in sexy dresses and high-heel shoes were what [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]police [COLOR=blue! important]officers[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] saw when they went to close down a party on Hopefield Avenue in St Andrew on Saturday.
The Matilda's Corner [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]police[/COLOR][/COLOR] say that on the weekend, they locked off a gay party after receiving complaints of disturbance by residents.
After arriving at the party, the police say they seized a sound system and charged one person for breaches of the Noise Abatement Act. The man is expected to face the court next week.
"The people, there are very wild. Di man dem all dress up like fairy," one officer from the Matilda's Corner Police Station said.
Letter of complaint
THE WEEKEND STAR first heard about the parties after a resident wrote a letter complaining about the activities.
In a descriptive letter titled 'Gays Galang bad at Club', one resident wrote;
" ... This is what I discovered in my community several weekends nights ... These gays are 'out, bad and mad'. This they demonstrated at their newly formed gay club located in the heart of Kingston on Hopefield Avenue near Liguanea, where cross-dressers and thugs danced up a storm to the latest dancehall tunes, such as Wine Pon Di Edge, Back It Up, and interestingly, Me Know Me [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Baby[/COLOR][/COLOR] Father. The club, shocking to me, operates every Friday and some Saturday nights. Known as 'Club Boyz, men aging from 18-and over, majority in attendance, are very effeminate."
The letter went on to describe the attire of the 'fancy men'. "... Those not wearing the skirts and blouses, preferred by the cross-dressers, have on female garb, multiple piercing, high heels with female pencil-foot jeans, artificial breasts, butt pads, and of course, [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]wigs[/COLOR][/COLOR]."
According to the writer, he learnt of the activities after he was awakened by the noise from one of the parties. Upon investigating, he said he saw thugs drinking 'juice', smoking and watching the cross-dressers with no facial hair, [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]nails[/COLOR][/COLOR] well manicured and hair "a galang bad on the dance floor".
"I could not believe my eyes ..." he wrote.
The officers with whom the WEEKEND STAR spoke also confirmed seeing most of what was described in the letter.
They say no permits would be granted despite several attempts to get other permits for more of the weekly parties. "In order to get a permit, they would have to apply 10 days before, so obviously it is not possible for any permit to be granted for the party to be held every week ... They will not be granted permission," one officer explained.
Men dressed as fairies, some in sexy dresses and high-heel shoes were what [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]police [COLOR=blue! important]officers[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] saw when they went to close down a party on Hopefield Avenue in St Andrew on Saturday.
The Matilda's Corner [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]police[/COLOR][/COLOR] say that on the weekend, they locked off a gay party after receiving complaints of disturbance by residents.
After arriving at the party, the police say they seized a sound system and charged one person for breaches of the Noise Abatement Act. The man is expected to face the court next week.
"The people, there are very wild. Di man dem all dress up like fairy," one officer from the Matilda's Corner Police Station said.
Letter of complaint
THE WEEKEND STAR first heard about the parties after a resident wrote a letter complaining about the activities.
In a descriptive letter titled 'Gays Galang bad at Club', one resident wrote;
" ... This is what I discovered in my community several weekends nights ... These gays are 'out, bad and mad'. This they demonstrated at their newly formed gay club located in the heart of Kingston on Hopefield Avenue near Liguanea, where cross-dressers and thugs danced up a storm to the latest dancehall tunes, such as Wine Pon Di Edge, Back It Up, and interestingly, Me Know Me [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Baby[/COLOR][/COLOR] Father. The club, shocking to me, operates every Friday and some Saturday nights. Known as 'Club Boyz, men aging from 18-and over, majority in attendance, are very effeminate."
The letter went on to describe the attire of the 'fancy men'. "... Those not wearing the skirts and blouses, preferred by the cross-dressers, have on female garb, multiple piercing, high heels with female pencil-foot jeans, artificial breasts, butt pads, and of course, [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]wigs[/COLOR][/COLOR]."
Cross-dressers
According to the writer, he learnt of the activities after he was awakened by the noise from one of the parties. Upon investigating, he said he saw thugs drinking 'juice', smoking and watching the cross-dressers with no facial hair, [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]nails[/COLOR][/COLOR] well manicured and hair "a galang bad on the dance floor".
"I could not believe my eyes ..." he wrote.
The officers with whom the WEEKEND STAR spoke also confirmed seeing most of what was described in the letter.
They say no permits would be granted despite several attempts to get other permits for more of the weekly parties. "In order to get a permit, they would have to apply 10 days before, so obviously it is not possible for any permit to be granted for the party to be held every week ... They will not be granted permission," one officer explained.