Breaking News

To the extent that they happen to be in power when a policy established a year or two ago starts to bear fruit... I guess the sitting admin can claim responsibility.

When one looks beneath the surface however.. especially with the poor performance of the minister responsible for security.. trumpeting this as their doing is disingenuous.

It would be akin to claiming that the Manley airport improvement when done.. is the new admin's doing.. it both is and is not.[/QUOTE]

Not the same.

The UK police have been here for years and what was the result?

They clearly have been given a mandate and been pushed to make that change. It has been one of the planks of this admin and they clearly placed a high priority on it. Repeatedly mentioned.

Willi et al, So because they have arrested one cop, the policies are working? just asking. I'll be even happier if the charges stick; I'm assuming the police have done a proper investigation.

I hope things are improving, regardless of who wants to take credit overtly or not, but more power to the govt. of the day if this is the beginning of a new trend.

Peter 50 police in 8 months when previous years sometime not even one?

Is the crime situation the responsiblity of the new Govt ?

At least wi know what brand corn fi throw...

You are getting waaaay too predictable.. your flimsy disguise is falling off..

Mi nuh know WHO yuh was trying to fool.

dont matter what P want to take the credit... we need to get rid of the stench in the protective services. Incidently isnt bungles prof nuts big brother?

To the extent that they happen to be in power when a policy established a year or two ago starts to bear fruit... I guess the sitting admin can claim responsibility.

When one looks beneath the surface however.. especially with the poor performance of the minister responsible for security.. trumpeting this as their doing is disingenuous.

It would be akin to claiming that the Manley airport improvement when done.. is the new admin's doing.. it both is and is not.
                Not the same.

They clearly have been given a mandate and been pushed to make that change. It has been one of the planks of this admin and they clearly placed a high priority on it. Repeatedly mentioned.[/quote]

50 policemen charged in 8 months.. and this admin is what? 9 months old?

How long did it take to design this anti-corruption policy, advertise for and hire leadership, set up the unit and provision it with staff, train that staff, set operational procedures, acquire equipment... then...how long after that do you think it takes to detect, investigate and develop 50 cases of corrupt cops.. to the point where they can be presented to the DPP in a form amenable to prosecution..

This whole project process was largely achieved in the last 9 months.. correct?

The JLP can be credited with not derailing but encouraging a policy put in place and operational some time ago which is now bearing fruit while they are early in their term of office.. kudos to the GOJ and the responsible police personnel... Derrick Smith.. take a bow!

You guys need to understand the concept of project lead time, which in a country like Jamaica.. is often measured in years.. before any output results.

At least wi know what brand corn fi throw...

You are getting waaaay too predictable.. your flimsy disguise is falling off..

Mi nuh know WHO yuh was trying to fool.
                  What does the World Health Organization have to do with this? This is a security matter... stay on point.

Not the same.

They clearly have been given a mandate and been pushed to make that change. It has been one of the planks of this admin and they clearly placed a high priority on it. Repeatedly mentioned.

50 policemen charged in 8 months.. and this admin is what? 9 months old?

How long did it take to design this anti-corruption policy, advertise for and hire leadership, set up the unit and provision it with staff, train that staff, set operational procedures, acquire equipment... then...how long after that do you think it takes to detect, investigate and develop 50 cases of corrupt cops.. to the point where they can be presented to the DPP in a form amenable to prosecution..

This whole project process was largely achieved in the last 9 months.. correct?

The JLP can be credited with not derailing but encouraging a policy put in place and operational some time ago which is now bearing fruit while they are early in their term of office.. kudos to the GOJ and the responsible police personnel... Derrick Smith.. take a bow!

You guys need to understand the concept of project lead time, which in a country like Jamaica.. is often measured in years.. before any output results.
                    No Don1, there are those who will look for any reason not to give credit. Based on this article, how in God's name any objective person would want to credit the incompetent PNP for this?

JCF announces one-year plan to reduce police corruption

Saturday, March 01, 2008

Leslie Watt (left), Deputy Commandant in charge of Hurman Resources Management at the Island Special Constablary Force (ISCF), speaks to former public defender, Howard Hamilton (right), and Assistant Commissioner of Police Justin Felice, who is in charge of the Anti-Corruption Branch, yesterday during an anti-corruption seminar at Harman Barracks in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
                    THE Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCE) now has a one-year plan aimed at deterring corrupt cops in the force and ultimately reducing the incidences of corruption.
                    Assistant Commissioner of Police Justin Felice, who is in charge of the Anti-Corruption Branch, said yesterday that the plan was signed off on by Commissioner of Police Hardley Lewin in December.
                    "This is one-year anti-corruption policy agreed on by the Commissioner of Police from the 17th of December. (Which gov't was in charge on Dec. 17th?) The major theme in the plan is to increase the fear of detection in the first year for members of the police service," he said, adding that the JDF hopes to concentrate on prevention in the future. "We are going to be moving from a reactive type of organisation to a proactive type of organisation."
                    ACP Felice, who was addressing police officers during an anti-corruption seminar at Harman Barracks in Kingston, said his department will also be looking at integrity testing, where officers will be deliberately tempted by undercover police officers. At the same time, he said other elements of the anti-corruption plan to be executed during this year would include the implementation of policies such as the reporting wrong doing policy, the commissioner's confidence policy and the vetting policy. He also pointed out that the plan will also have to look at amnesty and immunity implications.
                    "We have set up a steering group with other members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force and members of the Police Services Commission and the Police Complains Oversight Agency who are also helping me drive the this plan forward because I can't do it on my own," he said. "We are also going to try to set up an independent advisory group that will be made of members of the community and other (human rights) organisation like Jamaicans for Justice that need to come together and give us feed back on how things are working, how thing are changing and we need to be measured by our peers outside of the police force.
                    Meanwhile, ACP Felice said a review looking at a reform of the police forced that was commissioned by the People's National Party led government last year will be ready by the end of March.
                    "Last week they (officials) were here and they worked all week looking at what is the change required for the Jamaican Constabulary Force.the modernisation programme of significant reform and change programme," he said. " I think that will be quite a wide sweeping set of recommendations that will take some driving forward for the organisations because we all know change is required, change is needed and hopefully these people are going to come up with some very good strategic direction for the future."
                    The police force has long complained about under staffing and unacceptable wages, but during the seminar, ACP Felice said while he sided with the cops over the call for more pay, he was not of the view that the force needed more manpower. Instead, he recommended adequately equipping the existing force to carry out their duties efficiently.

No Don1, there are those who will look for any reason not to give credit. Based on this article, how in God's name any objective person would want to credit the incompetent PNP for this?

JCF announces one-year plan to reduce police corruption

Saturday, March 01, 2008

Leslie Watt (left), Deputy Commandant in charge of Hurman Resources Management at the Island Special Constablary Force (ISCF), speaks to former public defender, Howard Hamilton (right), and Assistant Commissioner of Police Justin Felice, who is in charge of the Anti-Corruption Branch, yesterday during an anti-corruption seminar at Harman Barracks in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
                      THE Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCE) now has a one-year plan aimed at deterring corrupt cops in the force and ultimately reducing the incidences of corruption.
                      Assistant Commissioner of Police Justin Felice, who is in charge of the Anti-Corruption Branch, said yesterday that the plan was signed off on by Commissioner of Police Hardley Lewin in December.
                      "This is one-year anti-corruption policy agreed on by the Commissioner of Police from the 17th of December. (Which gov't was in charge on Dec. 17th?) The major theme in the plan is to increase the fear of detection in the first year for members of the police service," he said, adding that the JDF hopes to concentrate on prevention in the future. "We are going to be moving from a reactive type of organisation to a proactive type of organisation."
                      ACP Felice, who was addressing police officers during an anti-corruption seminar at Harman Barracks in Kingston, said his department will also be looking at integrity testing, where officers will be deliberately tempted by undercover police officers. At the same time, he said other elements of the anti-corruption plan to be executed during this year would include the implementation of policies such as the reporting wrong doing policy, the commissioner's confidence policy and the vetting policy. He also pointed out that the plan will also have to look at amnesty and immunity implications.
                      "We have set up a steering group with other members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force and members of the Police Services Commission and the Police Complains Oversight Agency who are also helping me drive the this plan forward because I can't do it on my own," he said. "We are also going to try to set up an independent advisory group that will be made of members of the community and other (human rights) organisation like Jamaicans for Justice that need to come together and give us feed back on how things are working, how thing are changing and we need to be measured by our peers outside of the police force.
                      Meanwhile, ACP Felice said a review looking at a reform of the police forced that was commissioned by the People's National Party led government last year will be ready by the end of March.
                      "Last week they (officials) were here and they worked all week looking at what is the change required for the Jamaican Constabulary Force.the modernisation programme of significant reform and change programme," he said. " I think that will be quite a wide sweeping set of recommendations that will take some driving forward for the organisations because we all know change is required, change is needed and hopefully these people are going to come up with some very good strategic direction for the future."
                      The police force has long complained about under staffing and unacceptable wages, but during the seminar, ACP Felice said while he sided with the cops over the call for more pay, he was not of the view that the force needed more manpower. Instead, he recommended adequately equipping the existing force to carry out their duties efficiently.
                      Nice article boss.

Please note that I believe that responsibility for these recent successes should be shared with multiple parties as it has taken a long and difficult campaign to get the JCF to the point where such statements are remotely believable and cops brought up on such charges actually happen! .. I don't believe this has been a 9 month solution... as I indicated in my project timeline previously.

I believe the current admin as they have pursued and encouraged the fairly recent policy rightly shares in the responsibility for its success.

with respek.
                      Last edited by Don1; August 1, 2008, 02:19 PM.

It would be akin to claiming that the Manley airport improvement when done.. is the new admin's doing.. it both is and is not.
                        Not the same.

Willi: You know better that to make assumptions and then speak later....using the assumptions as the basis for making definitive statements and additional claims....these new claims all leading from those assumptions... suddenly get you to the end-point of truth!

Cho, man!

They clearly...
                        They clearly? ...and they were not clearly given a mandate before?
                        Cho, man!

Leave that to Lazie, Maudib, Comment, Sass and the JLPites crew...and Jawge (Sorry, Jawge! ...but-ta..a-suh!) from the PNPites crew!

Willi: You know better that to make assumptions and then speak later....using the assumptions as the basis for making definitive statements and additional claims....these new claims all leading from those assumptions... suddenly get you to the end-point of truth!

Cho, man!

They clearly? ...and they were not clearly given a mandate before?
                          Cho, man!

Leave that to Lazie, Maudib, Comment, Sass and the JLPites crew...and Jawge (Sorry, Jawge! ...but-ta..a-suh!) from the PNPites crew!
                          The last time I checked the clown tag team round here was you and Jawge ... suh how yuh a gwaan like a Jawge alone now?

The problem fi you KArl is people like you cannot afford to see this gov't succeed. Surprised I said it ... refer to your numerous posts bout 18 months.

The fact is the PM, both MONS and the new commish have spoken out about corruption. A plan was put into place earlier this year .. suh try spin reality as much as unuh want ... bout "given mandate before".

If this years murder rate turns out to be the new record high ... who you, Mosiah and Don1 gonna give credit fi it?

The last time I checked the clown tag team round here was you and Jawge ... suh how yuh a gwaan like a Jawge alone now?

The problem fi you KArl is people like you cannot afford to see this gov't succeed. Surprised I said it ... refer to your numerous posts bout 18 months.

The fact is the PM, both MONS and the new commish have spoken out about corruption. A plan was put into place earlier this year .. suh try spin reality as much as unuh want ... bout "given mandate before".

If this years murder rate turns out to be the new record high ... who you, Mosiah and Don1 gonna give credit fi it?

...not yet 18 months!

...now if only that silly Peter Philips will just sit

If this years murder rate turns out to be the new record high ... who you, Mosiah and Don1 gonna give credit fi it?[/QUOTE]

The PNP of course!!

I only speak for myself