Golding misses the boat

All those people expressing their opinion on their priorities is normal and nothing to get exercised about.

It is up to the government to prioritize its spending.. and with respect to this windfall.. they have chosen infrastructure over people.
    You seem to agree with this.. that's your right. I have a different opinion and I don't need any politician's or pundit's advice to shape it.

As to the money allocated for social intervention... that's like putting a band aid on a severed arm... just lip service to say that something is being done.

It all goes to one question.. what is Jamaica's biggest problem? Some say crime others say unemployment.
    To me these are symptoms of the real problem... fractured social relations... between individuals, communities, political parties and social classes... the only real answer is massively upgraded education at all levels and investment in the poor to unleash their economic potential... the PAYOFF will be greater than any infrastructure investment.

This is why I believe in social contracts and not crime plans.

"You seem to agree with this.. that's your right. I have a different opinion and I don't need any politician's or pundit's advice to shape it"

I would have preferred if the police were given all the needed resources first and foremost. But, I don't act like I know it all, so I have no problem taking a step back and take a look again.

This isn't a perfect world boss. People gonna want more, just like how you want more than 600 million for social intervention. Everybody isn't going to be pleased with a decision. As you stated, its up to the gov't to "prioritize its spending". Getting a food processing plant going would provide needed employment.
    Last edited by Lazie; July 31, 2008, 03:13 PM.

this is not a political tit for tat discussion

this is a technical question on developmental STRATEGY and priorities.

bringing in party politics is distracting and unhelpful.
      You get party politics out of that? The fact is those in charge then kept insisting the money didn't exist. Suh how come the money is found for various projects and now people crying for more?

i'm not interested in people crying or being critical.. whether its Dr Davies as you mentioned or any other politician... that's party politics/tactics to me.. not my concern.

whoever is in power and whatever they say on the political hustings... my strategic choice for development is the same.. lead with education and secondly invest in people.

my point here is strategic development.. not whether individual projects are funded.

I happen to think the strategy is wrong.

"You seem to agree with this.. that's your right. I have a different opinion and I don't need any politician's or pundit's advice to shape it"

I would have preferred if the police were given all thats needed resources first and foremost. But, I don't act like I know it all, so I have no problem taking a step back and take a look again.

This isn't a perfect world boss. People gonna want more, just like how you want more than 600 million for social intervention. Everybody isn't going to be pleased with a decision. As you stated, its up to the gov't to "prioritize its spending". Getting a food processing plant going would provide needed employment.
          that's ok.. we can disagree.

but i'm not talking about individual projects like food processing plants.. i'm talking about strategy.

if you feel that a policing strategy is the ultimate priority now... I can understand why but still disagree.
          since we produce criminals at a faster rate than they can be killed or captured... that's a losing strategy to me. I prefer the patient approach of prevention... through building social capital.

crime plans are a joke in my opinion.

Don1, give me a better idea of what you would be looking for in this kind of social contract. A commitment to build/improve schools? new public housing? new social services in the depressed communities?

Something on the level of the Great Society that President Johnson laid out in the US in the 60s?

All I have to say is that I am so gobsmacked at the number of Ph.D's Jamaica has in leadership position.

The Ph.D degree is the requirement for career as a researcher or a university professorship.

I am not saying that the Ph.D trained individual does not make good successful business leaders. I know many that does.........

Just that Jamaica appear to have more Ph.D's/cm2 than any country I know. Yet the quality of the leadership and decision making abilities of this group is not impressive.

we also have the most churches per square mile wid a rum bar in front'n every church!

a very spiritual country

I am speaking of a long term development strategy.. funded by this windfall... it's apples and oranges.
                    Did you say "long term"?!?!

bad wud ah yaad? and on the forum?

apologies.

by the way I notice I'm now a five star general.

does RBZSC start paying me now... or can I at least get a uniform?

Your uniform has already been sent. By mail.

email

seit! wah yuh 'fraid-a?
                            More churches per square mile...
                            seit deh? easy!

We have tried that first approach for many years... it's called trickle down economics. Our public sector is inefficient and our private sector is corrupt and selfish.... trickle down has been a failure (no.. a disaster!) and should be discarded or substantially modified.... Golding has a chance to make a change with this petro windfall and has passed on it apparently.

Answer: build a social contract around common goals and strategies to build social capital... then invest intelligently in people.

Go back to Mosiah's question above!

Answer: 'Both'...marching lock step in time! There was and has never been the need to do 'one' then 'the other'!

Your uniform has already been sent. By mail.

email

great! good ting yahoo have unlimited capacity now.