Jamaican drug lord in US court

• Jamaican drug lord in US court

Alleged drug kingpin Norris "Deedo" Nembhard and co-accused Robroy "Spy" Williams who were extradited three weeks ago, appeared in a US Court on Wednesday.

Both were arraigned before US Magistrate Elizabeth Jenkins.
    Nembhard, Williams and three other co-accused, Glenford Williams, Vivian Dalley and Police Corporal Herbert Henry, appeared a US Court in Florida on July 14.
    The Jamaicans who have been described as major players in the drug trade were indicted by a federal grand jury in March 2004.
    On June 1, 2004, US President George Bush designated Nembhard as a foreign narcotics kingpin.

They were extradited on July 11, after the local Appeal Court rejected their appeal.
    If convicted the men face life imprisonment and a fine of four million US dollars.

Shouldn't steps be taken by our gov't to seize the assets of convicted drug dealers?

What if they don't pay the fine?

This appears to be an act of betrayal on the part of Jamaica's justice system.

Dat's all dem good for? If we have to wait for the US courts to convict them, then I think the US should get the spoils. How trifling of us to be henkering under the table waiting for the crumbs to fall.

We should have tried Deedo ourselves.

Dat's all dem good for? If we have to wait for the US courts to convict them, then I think the US should get the spoils. How trifling of us to be henkering under the table waiting for the crumbs to fall.

We should have tried Deedo ourselves.
          I don't know bout the others ... but I know bout this one. Since yaad cyaan convict him ... mek the USA dweet den at least until our Justice System improve.

Shouldn't steps be taken by our gov't to seize the assets of convicted drug dealers?
            Definitely steps should be taken, and one is forced to again lament the laid-back way in which certain important decisions have been made over the years.

On another note, although increasingly we find that alleged drug lords are ending up in the USA to be tried, this, in the final analysis, is merely an example of the metaphorical band-aid-over-the-wound approach. I say this because although we're seeing increasing numbers of leading drug players in the Caribbean transported to the USA for trial (Roger Kahn from Guyana, Samuel "Ninety" Knowles from the Bahamas, etc.), their positions are soon filled by others in their societies. And so the cycle goes on.

(By the way, this pessimistic statement is in no way a criticicism of the importance of extraditing alleged drug lords, as they are a scourge in the Caribbean and so need to be eradicated one way or the other. Anybody who still harbours doubts about this should read Sir Ronald Saunders' latest perspective on the effects of the drug trade on Caribbean societies.)

You may have a point because not sure if any govt. is concerned about our farce of a justice system.

But don't tell dem bout dem ra ss doh! See how quick dem waan lock yuh up fi dat!