Senator Identifies New Technological Aids to Assist in Crime

• Senator Identifies New Technological Aids to Assist in Crime

Minister of State in the Ministry of National Security, Senator Arthur Williams, has identified several new technological aids that could be effectively employed in the fight against crime.

Making his contribution to the 2008/09 State of the Nation Debate in the Senate on July 25, Senator Williams noted that one such technology, the Vehicle Digital Video Recorder, which is a small unit mounted on the dashboard of a police vehicle and which records several hours of footage, "will be useful for public order and public control and could, very often, be the independent evidence in the usually conflicting police and civilian versions of how events take place."

The Senator also mentioned the relatively new pistol camera, which is a small digital video camera which is attached to any pistol and can tape up to 60 minutes of footage, which he said could "be of tremendous value to us here in Jamaica."

"The laser targeting system of the pistol camera can be pre-set to turn on when the weapon is drawn. It is therefore an effective way to document police shootings. This can be a deterrent to the wanton use of firearms by policemen, as well as providing protection to those policemen who justifiably use their firearms against citizens," he said.

He noted that both these technologies are relatively inexpensive and can be valuable to the country, "given what we experience so often, with the conflicting versions of events in every civilian/police confrontation."

Turning to other aids in the fight against crime, he said the new Traffic Ticketing System and Demerit Points System, to come on stream in April of next year, will be an additional aid to the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) in fighting crime, "because it will greatly enhance the ability of the JCF to manage the provisions of the Road Traffic Act and will therefore permit the JCF to stem the movement of unlawful elements across the country, because one of the factors that facilitates the activities of the criminal gunmen, is the ease of movement across Jamaica."

Senator Williams pointed out that the current traffic ticketing system was not functioning, and has fallen into disrepute for a number of reasons, including the fact that there is no synchronization of ticket data at the five data processing centres with the system at the Police National Computer Centre; the inability to match tickets issued to payment data and Court decisions; and the largely non-existent management of the demerit points system.

"The new traffic ticketing system has identified the significant procedures involved in the management of both the traffic ticketing and demerit points systems, the integration of procedures, the identification of relationships and the sharing of data with all the departments involved in the process," he said.

On the issue of heavily tinted motor vehicles, which he said facilitated the easy movement of criminals, especially during the daytime, Senator Williams said that "the JCF agrees that the present situation of motor vehicles bearing excessively dark window tints, assist the criminals in their movement. They also agree that prohibiting them would greatly assist them in their routine checking of motor vehicles on our roads."
    Mr. Williams said he expects opposition from some persons to any attempt to regulate the tinting of motor vehicles.

"But, the threat to our nation's security is so critical, that I believe that rules ought to be developed governing the tinting of motor vehicles, and I propose to place this matter on the agenda of the National Security Council, for consideration by them," Senator Williams said.

"In several jurisdictions across the world, such excessively dark window tints are prohibited, because the basic rule is that police officers must be able to identify passengers in a vehicle," the Senator pointed out.
    The State Minister said that regulating the tinting of motor vehicles, "is one simple but effective thing that we can do to assist law enforcement in our country."

Oh yeah, yet the basic is still being
    ignored: ALL law enforcement officers should carry a radio. camera on guns, please give them radios (or walkie talkie for those who nuh know wha mi ah talk bout).

Can we stop talking about these things?

Yuh know the camera on gun is not practical. Who
        will reapir these cameras? How will the info be down loaded into a database (by a civilian entity?) What's the turn around time for repair and reissue? I see taxpayers spending huge sums to another foreign company,
        because local technical expertise is lacking.

Issue radios to all and see if command and control isn't improved. Then again in Ja we are not into practical things. Theory is our forte.

mi nah say nothing

Then again in Ja we are not into practical things. Theory is our forte.
            So right, Jawge! We will murder people wid dat!

Senator Williams Calls on Jamaicans to Help in the Fight Against Crime

Minister of State in the Ministry of National Security, Senator Arthur Williams, has urged all law-abiding citizens to get involved in the fight against crime and violence in the country.

"Many initiatives have been developed for the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) and the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) to deal with the scourge of crime and violence, and they have had varying degrees of success. But the job of fighting crime cannot only be that of the police and the army.I submit that all Jamaicans must play a part in that fight," Senator Williams said, during his contribution to the State of the Nation Debate in the Senate on July 25.

The State Minister said that the vision of any Government in respect of national security, must be to establish a safe and secure environment, in which citizens can be free from the fear of criminals, an environment which upholds the fulfilment of human rights and dignity for all persons and a society where all citizens can enjoy a better quality of life, in safety and security. He noted, however, that this vision had long been compromised.
              "Not only has the level of violent crime increased over time, but the pattern has changed, and a higher degree of organization and co-ordination has emerged. The country has been experiencing extremely high murder rates and a continuous growth in the number of violent incidents. We have developed a culture of violence and a devaluation of human life and disrespect for law and order. Over the decades, police-community relations have broken down and an unhealthy mutual distrust prevails," Senator Williams argued.

He encouraged Jamaicans to seek to understand and "buy into" the concept of community policing, which was recently launched by the JCF.
              Mr. Williams pointed out that community policing is both a philosophy and an organizational strategy that promotes a partnership between people and the police. "It is based on the premise that both the police and the community must work together to identify, prioritise and solve contemporary problems, such as crime, drugs, the fear of crime, social and physical disorder and overall neighbourhood decay, with the goal of improving the overall quality of life in the community," the Senator informed.

He said community policing would require a "force-wide" commitment, and that the JCF must create and develop, by intensive training, a new breed of police officers who would act as a direct link between the police and the people in the community.

"Community policing, because it is a partnership between the people in the community and the police, is going to require also, a commitment from members of the community. They have to work with the police to address crime and public safety issues in the community, of which they are a part," the State Minister stressed.

"It is a relationship that is going to require the police to treat citizens with respect, and that the people treat the police with respect also. It can no longer be that people in the community are 'informers'. Instead, it must be about people in the community telling what they know, in order to make their community safe," he added.

Govt. Receives $1.5 Million From Canada Under MLAT

The Government has received approximately $1.5 million from its Canadian counterpart as part of the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty (MLAT) between both countries, which facilitates co-operation in the fight against criminal activities.

The funds are part proceeds from the forfeited account of an incarcerated Canadian drug dealer, who was involved in the trafficking of narcotics from Jamaica to Canada.

Minister of National Security, Colonel Trevor MacMillan, who received the cheque from Canadian High Commissioner to Jamaica, Denis Kingsley, during a brief handing over ceremony at the Ministry's New Kingston offices today (July 29), said that the funds would be invested in local police counter narcotics operations. Describing the MLAT as "alive and well", the Minister said both countries were committed to "keeping criminal activities out of their space."

"There is no question that the criminal underworld is determined, sophisticated, and ruthless. Our intelligence tells us that the tentacles of organized crime extend far and wide, and require our joint efforts to immobilize those international criminals," he stated.

Col. MacMillan informed that locally, emphasis was being placed on strengthening border patrols, but acknowledged awareness of the more sophisticated activities in which criminals were involved.
                "I know that in Canada, like Jamaica, financial fraud is a growing concern (and) includes stealing credit cards and personal identities, marketing illegal pyramid schemes, manipulating stocks, fraudulent telemarketing, and mortgage crimes. We are told that identity theft is widespread in Canada. We have to guard ourselves against it in Jamaica (because) it has happened in Jamaica," the Minister said.

The Minister stressed the importance of agreements such as MLAT in the "globalized environment", which he pointed out, was being utilized by a growing number of jurisprudences, and mandated signatory countries to participate in efforts to solve the criminal activities affecting those states. "I can declare that Jamaica stands ready in the fight against all types of organized crime," Senator MacMillan asserted.

Mr. Kingsley, for his part, said the presentation represented Canada's trust in Jamaica's capacity to fight crime, noting improvements in the Jamaica Constabulary Force's (JCF) capabilities, which he said has been strengthened. He also pledged the Canadian government's commitment to continuing the collaborative efforts at fighting crime in both countries.

"This is a sign that things are going very well between the two countries. It's a sign of collaboration, it's a sign of our desire to try and fight something that is international. Jamaica is fighting well with us, and we appreciate the opportunity to work with you. We hope that it will continue, and we know that it will continue. Somewhere down the line, we will be the winners of this process," Mr. Kingsley said.

The Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty, which was signed in 1999, has seen Jamaica receiving in excess of $2 million from collaborative initiatives undertaken with Canada to counter criminal activities affecting both countries, among other benefits.

Genuis, community policing is
                  way of legitimizing garrisons. Law enforcement officers should be able to operate in any part of ja period! Until we can attain such civility; we will continue to sail into Somalia's arms.

Genuis, community policing is
                    way of legitimizing garrisons. Law enforcement officers should be able to operate in any part of ja period! Until we can attain such civility; we will continue to sail into Somalia's arms.
                    Welcome back JAwge. The comedy was surely missed. By the way, yuh understand the concept of community policing?

Clearly, he doesn't. I wonder what else might be failing the youth?

Yuh know the camera on gun is not practical. Who
                        will reapir these cameras? How will the info be down loaded into a database (by a civilian entity?) What's the turn around time for repair and reissue? I see taxpayers spending huge sums to another foreign company,
                        because local technical expertise is lacking.

Issue radios to all and see if command and control isn't improved. Then again in Ja we are not into practical things. Theory is our forte.
                        Jawge: With today's internet technology, the use of digital video in police work is not that difficult at all. I have a former coworker who now works with a company here in Kansas City who do these survillance cameras that are sold to the Department of Homeland Security, the police force and security firms.

I think if the use of the technology can help abate the level of crime and the senseless killing of people in Jamaica, then we should not worry about who will fix cameras. Every Jamaican life lost if more valuable than what it costs to fix a camera.

Anyway Jawgie, these cameras also network to the internet and provide real-time digital video feed to a command center and other officers who may not be at the scene of the crime also have access to the feed in real-time. Check this link from this company to get a better idea.

http://www.digitalallyinc.com/live-streaming-video.html
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla, please tell me you jest. Are you suggesting that a nation's crime
                          scene (very sensitive material) be pushed over the net in real time?

Then it comes back in court later. You are not serious.

Tilla we are not talking about survillance cameras. we are talking cameras mounted on the guns of police officers.

Police have a rat a overrun dem station and you a talk bout real time digital feed?

All that takes is some rat bait BT, Simple suppen that.

So because some stations are overrun with rats you think they cannot have the technology to have real time video footage from a police command center? Can you imagine how this would better help police to coordinate their efforts?
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran