A Letter Worth Reading

• A Letter Worth Reading

From my various posts, it is probably obvious by now that I'm a nationalist first and foremost. Of course, closing the economy to outsiders and outside influences is not (and cannot) be an answer, and I am by no means advocating that ridiculous step! However, I will never stop preaching my "Jamaicans First" theme (even if this applies to "lowly" exotic dancers in night clubs). As I've argued in previous posts on this forum, the issuing of work permits to non-Jamaicans has to be handled more sensitively and prudently than has been the case so far!

The following letter is, in my opinion, essential reading for every Jamaican. It is an excellent perspective!

LETTER OF THE DAY - Foreign influx seen as 'great betrayal'
    published: Wednesday | July 30, 2008

The Editor, Sir:
    Even as I continue to bemoan the declining spirit of nationalism in Jamaica, I am reading in you paper that yet another major institution is to be led by an imported official. In this case, it is a financial institution at the pinnacle of influence on the island's economy, as well as the savings and investments of the people. This might well be justified, but as in so many other instances, we are left in the dark and are unable to say whether the Government is sufficiently satisfied and supportive of the work permits that must apply.

Trusted Jamaicans
    To ask it bluntly: Is there no Jamaican able or trusted to fill this post that has been for many years successfully held by a Jamaican? If there is, then the latest step is, in fact, a leap in the wrong direction.

While on the subject, I think it necessary that there should be some public explanation as to why a national treasure - the Rockfort Mineral Bath - now under foreign control, remains closed to the public. It is customary for our people, young and old, to enjoy this facility, especially during the hot summer. This bath is highly reputed for its healing waters. It should be controlled and operated by Jamaicans; but who cares!

It is ironic that so many vital Jamaican institutions have been sold out to foreigners since the advent of a governing party that was founded on the principles of nationalism. This great betrayal has cost this country dearly. It has undermined not only our economy, but also the self-esteem, self-reliance and self-determination that are essential to self-government and political independence.

I am, etc.,
    KEN JONES alllerdyce@hotmail.com

Dem a waste time wid di Bank ting.

Every Permanent Secretary should either be a Diaspora or a Farin-White man from a top University in Farin with bout 10 years "real world" experience and no voter record in Ja.

Dat is a START...

Yuh si how quick Yard turn round..

Which financial institution di letter writer talking bout?

Scotia Bank.

you mean when they took over DB&G?

As for Rockfort Mineral Bath, it is currently owned by the TCL Group, out of T&T, parent company of Carib Cement. They have been trying to lease it but so far, no luck. No idea what the problem is why no one wants it or is able to run it profitably. Afterall, dem not buying di water from NWC!

Re: Scotia Bank

Scotia Bank.
            Correct, Willi.

The irony is that an outstanding Jamaican lady, Minna Israel, was being groomed to replace Bill Clarke. In fact, Miss Israel was such an outstanding banker that the parent company of Scotia Bank in Canada moved her across to the Bahamas to take Scotia Bank in that northern Caribbean country to another level. Minna Israel was the first woman in the Caribbean and Latin America to hold such a high position in Scotia Bank!

After her two years in the Bahamas were up, Israel returned to Jamaica, resigned from Scotia Bank and promptly joined a competing bank in a high level position.

Mistaken move on her part? Only time will tell, but if she had remained with Scotia Bank, she would almost certainly be replacing Bill Clarke as head of that institution in Jamaica.

Suh a hoofa fault ?

I am sure Scotia Bank is combing the Diaspora roster as we speak..

you mean when they took over DB&G?

As for Rockfort Mineral Bath, it is currently owned by the TCL Group, out of T&T, parent company of Carib Cement. They have been trying to lease it but so far, no luck. No idea what the problem is why no one wants it or is able to run it profitably. Afterall, dem not buying di water from NWC!
                BNS is replacing Clarke with a Canadian.

What difference does it make, really? Nuh one Canadian company? This issue is way down on my totem pole of priorities.

I say chickens coming to roost. This
                    is just great, for too long we have been using the system of slavery in Ja. The populace is under educated and kept within a certain economic class. Profits were not shared the true wealth of the island was sent off to divers places. Now wi ah suffa an wi muss suffa.

It's now up to the young ones to use their intellectual might to free the people from this inherited system of slavery. How can one expalin some one living in abject poverty in Ja, yet when they reach the states in a matter of years they work to go to school, own business, or even become leaders in varied fields (adding value to the US economy). In Ja they must wait tables or do some other menial job.

Why is it that no Jakan without a family name or history cannot own or run anything in Ja's key industries? Ja has no choice but to pen her markets to strong and savvy competition. The indusial age ended slavery, so let's see.

when you say that...do you take into account the fact that since 1989 when the government of the people took over, they had 18 years to correct whatever evil that may have befallen them from 1980 - 1989 and they failed .... miserably?

and now since last october yuh a sing this song? one has to question your credibility AND judgment if all this only became apparent after portia lose the election....as she should.

Okay my judgement and credibility is
                        flawed and in question. Answer this: They JLP will now correct all the ills and make evryone the island wealthy? Yes? Thanks.

Let me pre-empt: They (the JLP) need an equal eighteen years. Yes?

when you say that...do you take into account the fact that since 1989 when the government of the people took over, they had 18 years to correct whatever evil that may have befallen them from 1980 - 1989 and they failed .... miserably?

and now since last october yuh a sing this song? one has to question your credibility AND judgment if all this only became apparent after portia lose the election....as she should.
                          Why do you believe Jawge speaks truth here?

...and as Jawge is not correct...your reply...your response is based on a falsehood...the false premise that no Jamaican from...let's be politically correct...humble beginnings has owed or owns...or has been promoted to lead any of our established businesses, or developed and created any top business entity...and is thus false!

and pray tell how did you come to the conclusion that i was saying that no jamaican from humble beginnings was involved in establishing business? is that the only perceived evil?

and the TRUTH is i know the once noble chiron formerly sagest of all centaurs speaketh nonsesne....if is one thing YOU should know it is that fact!!!

Zas Crise, Karl! Why are your posts so confusing!!!!?????