American takes 'Dancehall Queen' title

• American takes 'Dancehall Queen' title

Twenty-three-year-old Michelle Young, of Boston in the United States, created history yesterday morning at the Pier One Complex, in Montego Bay, when she became the first American to win the coveted Red Label Wine International Dancehall Queen title.

"I have never been this happy in my entire life," said the diminutive Young, as tears of joy rolled down her cheeks. "I am going to cherish this moment for the rest of my life - I am on top of the world."

By virtue of becoming the 11th winner of the annual contest, the charismatic Young, relegated fellow American, 24-year-old Moika Stapley, of Los Angeles and 22-year-old Japanese Nami Crissy Kerisu, into second and third places respectively.

Young also walked away with over $500,000 in cash and prizes.
    "I am extremely pleased with the way things went tonight, the fans came out in their thousands and it was an incident-free event," said businessman Brian 'Big Head' Martin, the promoter of the event.
    "I want to congratulate the 31 contestants and the fans for making this year one of the best ever."

Latest dance moves
    In addition to the top three places, which saw all three contestants getting trophies and gift packages, two other awards were handed out. The acrobatic Tavia Morris, one of the crowd favourites won the Best Costume Award while Young, who dazzled with her mastery of all the latest dance moves, took the Best Dancer Award.

Although Young was velvet smooth in all the various segments, initially it looked as though Morris would upstage her. The athletic Morris had the crowd in awe at one stage as she climbed one of the pylons supporting the stage and ended up dancing inside the roof, between the stage lights and decorations.

Unlike in previous years, the show flowed smoothly with very few glitches from the action started at 11:30 p.m. until shortly after 4:00 a.m. when Young was crowned against the backdrop of the pulsating beat of Beenie Man and Chevelle Franklin's hit, Dancehall Queen.

Bonus entertainment
    In between the various segments, which first saw a top 15 and then a top 5, the patrons were treated to bonus entertainment courtesy of several guest dancers, including the popular Marvin.
    The deejays on the Pure Playazz Sound System also served up delightful entertainment, unleashing a barrage of dub plates, pre-releases and dancehall classics.

Prior to the final segment, patrons were treated to a fabulous fashion show featuring some of the latest fashion from Big Head Clothing Store.
    Giveaways form an integral part of the rich atmosphere of excitement, which was spearheaded by renowned entertainment personality Jerry D. The giveaways included sex toys and adult videos from First Choice Video and condoms from Slam Condoms. Two lucky patrons also won a Blackberry and a component set courtesy of the promoter.

Throughout the contest, patrons were treated to high quality dancing as most of the contestants had properly choreographed dance routines. Some even came with their own dub-plates, which made generous mention of their names and the various dances they were doing.
    When the top 5 was announced and Morris, who lit up the last segment with her roof climbing and suggestive gyration, was not included, it left little doubt that the title would go to Young, who captured the audience early and never let them go.

The announcement that she was the queen was greeted with loud cheers.

Wait ... suh wha wrong wid the Jamaican dancers dem? American come first and second and a Japanese come 3rd?

Mi did tink say a yaad was the dance factory? Historian, now yuh see why patrons to certain venue prefer the DR dancers dem?

hmmmmph....why would americans and japanese want to enter this jamaican contest?

ummm cause dem better? Who won it last year? And the year before? As fi World Clash ... German and Japanese sounds have won it .... and if the Englishman David Rodigan head tek him .... well, need I say more.

nope...it seems that there is quite an interest in jamaican culture from near and far.....

Its more than an interest Gamma, now they're doing it better than us. Did you hear what Rodigan did with the so called Immortal StoneLove 2 years ago? Dem suppose to drop the Immortal label by now. Sentinal from Germany, not to mention Mighty Crown from Japan. Dem tekking ovah.

No fuss .. some Jamaicans look at dancehall as if its the worst thing to happen to us.

What the heck is going on? There needs to be an investigation from the DPP!

Wait ... suh wha wrong wid the Jamaican dancers dem? American come first and second and a Japanese come 3rd?

Mi did tink say a yaad was the dance factory? Historian, now yuh see why patrons to certain venue prefer the DR dancers dem?
                I understand your point fully, Lazie (LOL). Truth is, I also respect the principle of right of choice for the consumer.

My argument had been over the practice of women from the island of Hispaniola coming to Jamaica and taking away jobs that could be satisfactorily filled by Jamaican women. I mean, exotic dancing is not something that one would want one's daughter to have as a job, but the fact is that it means a salary and thus puts bread on the table of poor Jamaican women and children.

i'm just saying WHY de interest?...das all.

No fuss .. some Jamaicans look at dancehall as if its the worst thing to happen to us.
                    Lazie, this is a surprisingly simplistic and disappointing statement coming from you, and I promise you that I will respond more fully at an opportune time. I may not get a chance to respond today or tomorrow, but I promise you that I will respond.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      Lazie, this is a surprisingly simplistic and disappointing statement coming from you, and I promise you that I will respond more fully at an opportune time. I may not get a chance to respond today or tomorrow, but I promise you that I will respond.
                      Wait ... dat one touched you Historian? heh heh .... the truth is I was throwing words at KArl ... but I will await yuh response.

Actually, Lazie, and this might surprise you, but the topic of dancehall is probably the only topic I have ever seen you post on this forum with which I have disagreed! And I'm not saying this casually, as I'm not like that.

I share your views fully on most matters you raise, but I will never ever change in my fervent view that the sooner we get rid of this dancehall phenomenon (sent from Hell?) out of Jamaica, the sooner our great nation can once again settle down to the business of development. Our development was interrupted a few decades ago, and the time for re-starting has been long past!

I believe this to the very core of my soul, hence my passionate dislike for what dancehall has evolved into in the wider cultural and socio-economic sphere! I am a reggae and jazz fanatic, and I've done things in the reggae music industry. But believe me, dancehall has done very little that's good for Jamaica, including the so-called "fame" (the less said about that, the better).

Gamma, as I said, it is more than an interest. Check out the Italian version of Dancehall Queen. http://www.bigupmagazin.de/web/party...-contest-2006/

Yuhseeit!

We need to make it an all-Jamaican affair. Ban di fariners!

Sheeeet!