American takes 'Dancehall Queen' title

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    Actually, Lazie, and this might surprise you, but the topic of dancehall is probably the only topic I have ever seen you post on this forum with which I have disagreed! And I'm not saying this casually, as I'm not like that.

I share your views fully on most matters you raise, but I will never ever change in my fervent view that the sooner we get rid of this dancehall phenomenon (sent from Hell?) out of Jamaica, the sooner our great nation can once again settle down to the business of development. Our development was interrupted a few decades ago, and the time for re-starting has been long past!

I believe this to the very core of my soul, hence my passionate dislike for what dancehall has evolved into in the wider cultural and socio-economic sphere! I am a reggae and jazz fanatic, and I've done things in the reggae music industry. But believe me, dancehall has done very little that's good for Jamaica, including the so-called "fame" (the less said about that, the better).
    Wow ... as of today .. Karl get demoted. For the record, I don't expect everybody to agree with me on everything I say .. so it guh .. but the respect still exist.

Now ..dancehall from hell? Strange ... suh reggae music is hell then? Because in my limited knowledge of the music, dancehall came about because of reggae. Sean Paul, Shaggy, Buju, Beenie Man T.O.K. and Junior Gong's music (is it okay to call it music) is internationally known. Check out Cham at a show in Germany. A coulda wha suh? If yuh want put it pon mute just watch the crowd.

I recall listening to Real Business last year when it was brought up how alot of overseas artistes at MIDEM wanted to work with our local artistes and producers and yes, it included those categorised in the dancehall segment.

Wasn't it the same way people turned up their noses against rap? Then after Rappers Delight rocked the world people started paying attention. Now Rap/ Hip Hop is a multibillion dollar business. Wonder how many of those that turned up their noses are now making money off hip hop today?

If Beenie Man can owe that much in taxes, how much the entire dancehall segment raking in as revenue? The other day in star I read where local producers are contacted by the Japanese for them just to build a riddim? Are the Japnese crazy?

Yes there are alot of garbage that comes out, but how do you explain why the Japanese, Italians, Germans etc are so fascinated with it? Explain to me why the Ed Lover Show on Power 105 in NY uses a Don Corleon riddim for his entertainment news? Explain to me why alot of the Reggaeton artistes are using our dancehall riddims with minor modifications if any to do their music? I think we have something.

Alot of the DJs (I prefer to call dem MCs) need to sit down and put better lyrical content together before recording. Fine .... but understand that Dancehall will nerver die!!! Get rid of it outa yaad others will gladly accept it.

Yes, but what the purists are saying is, not because it becomes a a multi-million dollar bizniz makes it good or worthy of being considered a legitimate art form.

Or something like that.

Question.. has dancehall at any point in its history been something 'positive' and worthy of airplay/propogation ?

Me teacher! Me!

Yes
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No they aint. It's just that it generates more interest worldwide if a foreigner wins these contests, so why not? Stone Love is no way a clash sound anymore, Mighty Crown is managed by Irish and Chin who are behind the World Clashes.
              Last edited by Bricktop; July 29, 2008, 04:44 PM.

lazie...yuh preaching to the choir.....i am merely making my point that this likkle country wid its patois has such a following...that's all......apart from crime we have contributed much to world culture...patois will soon be added to that!!

Yes, but what the purists are saying is, not because it becomes a a multi-million dollar bizniz makes it good or worthy of being considered a legitimate art form.

Or something like that.
                  How many of the purist said that when reggae, rnb, rock n roll etc were in their baby stage?

Actually, Lazie, and this might surprise you, but the topic of dancehall is probably the only topic I have ever seen you post on this forum with which I have disagreed! And I'm not saying this casually, as I'm not like that.

I share your views fully on most matters you raise, but I will never ever change in my fervent view that the sooner we get rid of this dancehall phenomenon (sent from Hell?) out of Jamaica, the sooner our great nation can once again settle down to the business of development. Our development was interrupted a few decades ago, and the time for re-starting has been long past!

I believe this to the very core of my soul, hence my passionate dislike for what dancehall has evolved into in the wider cultural and socio-economic sphere! I am a reggae and jazz fanatic, and I've done things in the reggae music industry. But believe me, dancehall has done very little that's good for Jamaica, including the so-called "fame" (the less said about that, the better).
                    Kiss teet

Does it have to be "positive"?

I share your views fully on most matters you raise, but I will never ever change in my fervent view that the sooner we get rid of this dancehall phenomenon (sent from Hell?) out of Jamaica, the sooner our great nation can once again settle down to the business of development.
                        I remember several years ago, David Keane of Church on the Rock and Grace Singers (?) described reggae music as "devil music". He equated the heavy drum and bass as an example of some devil-worship music.

Not too long ago, I went to an album launch for Prodigal Son held right there at Church on the Rock. David Keane himself was there to introduce Prodigal and his hardcore dancehall album.

How times have changed!

Yes

Is it apropo to put a Question sign behind a statement

Or because one begin with Question...When is it appropriate to define, what is considered a question or a statement. Please bear in mind that I am not from a "good school" just lowly Manchester High...... Or rather...Question...Has Maudib develop some sort of decline in "intelligent quotient" or a small case of apraxia in his acute intellectual mannerisms.
                            "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Yes
                              Oh I see. Have you ever watched an R rated movie for enjoyment?

Not surprised, Yard change, man a dance wid man and woman wid woman. No more cool and deadly wid yuh girl inna a kornah, total madness!

Blessed