Non-Jamaican Recording Artists!

I am a big , big Temptations fan. I only started listening to them seriously in the 90s, but the Classic 5 of David Ruffin, Eddie Kendricks Melvin Franklin, Otis Williams and Paul Williams were one of the best acts to come out of Motown.

Wish i could have seen them live, I was looking at some of thier performances on Youtube recently and thier choreography was flawless!
    Do you have BETJ? On Friday nights at 8:00 pm there is Club J concerts. Last Friday night was the Temptations .. I certainly did enjoy it.

Mi feel seh Historian X out those when him seh non-jamaican artists...

Unless yuh feel there is some non-jamaica artists worth mentioning in dem deh category...
      Maudib, thank you for pointing this fact out to the poster!

One would have thought that with a subject line, "Non-Jamaican Recording..." and with an enlarged headline, "Foreign...", Hortical would have realized that I was intentionally concentrating on foreign recording artists!!

Of course I'm fully aware of dancehall recording artists like Papa San, Lt. Stitchie, Goddy Goddy, and all the rest!! Hortical still fails to understand that I know a great deal about Jamaican music of every genre, including mento!!

I will be posting a Jamaican Favorite Recording Artists soon.

I am a big , big Temptations fan. I only started listening to them seriously in the 90s, but the Classic 5 of David Ruffin, Eddie Kendricks Melvin Franklin, Otis Williams and Paul Williams were one of the best acts to come out of Motown.

Wish i could have seen them live, I was looking at some of thier performances on Youtube recently and thier choreography was flawless!
        Islandman, I'm glad you listed the names of the original Temptations. This has to be the most tragic recording group I've ever heard about in my life, bar none!!! (Even more tragic than the 1970s R&B group, "Heatwave"!!)

Reading the very enthusiastic and certainly interesting responses from forumites, I'm glad I started this thread! The posted lists have brought back much memories for me, in addition to making me realize how many great artists I left out of my original list.

Do you have BETJ? On Friday nights at 8:00 pm there is Club J concerts. Last Friday night was the Temptations .. I certainly did enjoy it.
          Lazie, I still think that you treat R&B singer Sunshine Anderson a bit unfairly (LOL). I used to read your comments on that young lady, and thought that you were being just a bit too harsh with her.

She is not the greatest singer, in my opinion, but she is at the same time not bad.

Add The blind boys from Alabama on your gospel short list. they are my favorite.

What? No Blues genre?

* John Leee Hooker
            *BB King
            *Stevie ray Vaughn
            *Howlin Wolf
            *charles Brown
            *Robert Cray
            * Buddy Guy

For cajun...beau jacque and buckwheat zydeco (girl watcher, damballah, tighten up....)

LOL

Yuh karrek.

Tunks

Clapton and cocker!

Isn't that everybody? Who do you really like?

Mi Lion!!! How could you forget the 5th Dimension!!! Plus Sergio Mendez, Shirley Horn, Santana, Celia Cruz, Afro-Cuban All Stars and Norah Jones.

Right now, I am listening to an XRCD (recorded in Hi-Def) called Black Orpheus from Japan (3 Blind Mice label).

Blowing my mind! I also have Sarah Vaughn (How long has this been going on?) in hi-def as well Calamus (The splendour of Al Andalus). I wanted the Guitar classics a few years back, but the site www.a4audo.com was out and never replenished. Hi-def is a tremendous difference. These are recorded with 4 times the microphones and mixed to perfection. Cloeset thing to live.

I helps that I just got a new brute amplifier (100w x2 into 8 ohms) (French design called Advance Acoustics) for a great marked down price. Speakers came alive with them (Oskar Heil Syrinx).

Music can be sweet iyah.

Did anyone say The Temptations? didn't read all posts.

Jazz-.. The Crusaders/ Joe Sample